We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My family all loved the hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
K-W
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My family all loved the hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable 3-night stay at the SpringHill Suites near the Old Town - the room was a decent size, beds were comfortable, liked the partially-split room arrangement with the desk area and the separate toilet/shower areas were terrific for the four of us to split up to get ready in the mornings.

Breakfast was of a good variety and we always had more than enough to eat. No, it's not gourmet, but it's certainly more decent than your average two-star 'continental' breakfast that you'd find at most Days Inns, Comfort Inns, etc. My only wish would be to have a little more variety from day to day such as scrambled eggs one day, something different (i.e. French toast) the next day. Not much to complain about, really.

For what I paid for our room, we got far more than what we expected. The biggest issue was that the hotel wasn't easy to find at first - the SpringHill Suites sign is at the back, only visible from the road if you were coming from the west on Eisenhower, but if you were coming from the east, it would have been easy to miss it and keep going on the road. I would strongly suggest for the hotel to get a more visible sign by the road or at least slap the "SpringHill Suites" logo at the top of the building facing Eisenhower instead of only facing the highway. If you don't have a GPS, do be sure to get complete directions from the hotel at first because going from the Old Town to the hotel can be confusing if you're going from Duke St. to Eisenhower as there's a bunch of turns (including a very abrupt turn right off the thruway that you won't see until the very last moment at a pretty high rate of speed).

Definitely a hotel worth staying at and I will definitely stay there again now that I am completely familiar with how to get around the area.

Room Tip: Get detailed directions if you don't have GPS - and even with a GPS, ask for directions using th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pb630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are pleased that you experience this first hand and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    175
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
218
92
20
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and teenaged daughter stayed here this past weekend as we dropped our son off for his first year at Georgetown. We arrived late Friday evening and was checked in by a lovely young woman who provided us with take out menus. My husband and I were very comfortable on the king sized bed, but our daughter complained of feeling the springs on the sofa bed . I enjoyed coffee on the outside deck Saturday morning, however my husband wasn't happy with the eggs or Canadian bacon. We've stayed at the Springhill Suites in NJ and enjoy the bar and a small restaurant there. It would be a nice addition here. I love the layout which gave our family privacy and space. We might return for Parents Weekend in October.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel itself is pretty nice, it is close to the metro station (about 10-15 minutes walk, we did not use the shuttle bus). The rooms are quite large, the beds are comfortable. The shower and the toilet are in two separate rooms, which is fine, but why are there no locks on either is beyond me. I have stayed in the room with my family members, but it is still quite unpleasant when someone opens the door suddenly when you are in a shower or on the toilet. The pull-out sofa was somewhat uncomfortable for two, but was fine for one person. We asked for extra towels and got them without any issues. The room was clean, although the staff could do a better job and look behind the sliding doors in the toiled, and sweep or vacuum there.
The staff on reception was OK. The lady who checked us in was very, very nice - I wish I asked for her name so I could thank her here, but the rest of the staff was simply ok.
Now to the controversial breakfast. The breakfast itself was good - fresh fruit, oatmeal, eggs, on our first day we even had sliced cheese and cold cuts, but as it is a big hotel, they kept running out of things. I personally drank the last cup of green tea, and had to bring my own to breakfast the next day. One of the ladies who work in breakfast area was very quick, and tried to keep up, but she can't with two others barely moving. We did come to breakfast all three mornings we stayed in the hotel, and always got what we wanted, but sometimes had to wait for the staff to replenish the containers with food. There were no fresh fruit on the third morning, we were kinda disappointed.
Another drawback was the air conditioning at the hotel. Did they set it to sub-zero in common areas? It was very, very cold in the breakfast area and in the corridors. If they turn the AC up a couple of degrees, we may not have to worry about global warming anymore.
So if the hotel installs locks on bathroom doors and fixes the breakfast supply problem it would get five stars!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MomAndHer3Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our property. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. Our hotel was built as an upscale modern all suites property. Our bathrooms are designed with a European style in mind.

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast. Our complementary hot breakfast is popular. Our food offerings change during the weekend vs. weekday. At peak breakfast hours guests tend to arrive at the same time to dine and a wait can form. We do take extra measures and set out additional food offerings when there is high demand.

Please let us assure you that all our team shares the same vision of providing the best guest experience possible all year round. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a very nice hotel with a couple significant issues. The breakfast is a nice mixture of items, but it is horribly stocked; so much so that we eventually quit wasting time going to breakfast. The key for management is to have more people assigned to restocking the food items. The second item is housekeeping. We stayed for 7 nights, and I don't believe housekeeping was correctly done for any nights. We were always missing towels or beds were not complete, and at times there were even cleaning supplies left in the room that we would have to set outside into the hallways ourselves after our stay.
Bummer that there were so many problems because the hotel itself and the location are prime for visiting DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnnie367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our property. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast. Our complementary hot breakfast is popular. At peak breakfast hours guests tend to arrive at the same time to dine and a wait can form. We do take extra measures and set out additional food offerings when there is high demand.

Hotel cleanness is a top priority. I am terribly sorry we did not meet your expectations. Please let us assure you that all our team shares the same vision of providing the best guest experience possible all year round, so your comments have already been forwarded to concerned departments in order to rectify the points that you have described. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This almost new, roomy, spotless and well-located facility was about 20 minutes by Metro to downtown DC with a 10-15 minute walk to the metro. The staff was fabulous and the gym rivaled those in 5-star hotels. Breakfast was good, shopping, IMAX and restaurants a short walk away and just minutes to Alexandria. Best part: very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here for a night over the weekend. Room was clean and very spacious. Location is nice, free parking as well. Great bed quality, I slept very well. No argument there, however breakfast was another story. They ran out of EVERYTHING. From plastic silverware, to milk and cereal and even coffee. Eggs were crumbled like yellow blue cheese??? It seems like they are not doing well with handling a large volume of people. Maybe add more milk jugs, maybe bigger cereal dispensers. They have to work on that. I can only hope today was the only day like this. I came downstairs to grab breakfast and the place was too crowded and most things already ran out (it was 7:40). I came again at 9 to get some dry cereals because my son likes to munch on that but they were all out. My brother who stayed at the other room also experienced the same breakfast issue. I probably won't come back because of the breakfast situation. I come once a month, and normally stay at the Springhill near Fair Oaks. Residence inn Fairfax City or Springfield. They are around the same price and all relatively new.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SillygirlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our property. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast. Our complementary hot breakfast is popular. At peak breakfast hours guests tend to arrive at the same time to dine and a wait can form. We do take extra measures and set out additional food offerings when there is high demand.

Guest satisfaction is out top priority. Please let us assure you that all our team shares the same vision of providing the best guest experience possible all year round, so your comments have already been forwarded to concerned departments in order to rectify the points that you have described. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The ONLY con is that this place has no swimming pool. Otherwise, great rooms, nice furniture. Good layout, comfy beds, very clean and quiet, extra helpful staff, good WiFi reception (a must with three teens!) and nice facilities such as computer and gym etc.

The breakfast was great with scramble eggs, sausages, cereal, great OJ and bread choices, yogurt fresh fruit and great toppings for oatmeal etc.

The room had a separate pull out sofa and table to play cards/board games but there was not much space to walk around. It did have an entire walk-in closet to put all your luggage away so that was nice. Both bathroom and toilet (separate rooms) had sliding doors which could be a problem if everyone in the room is not related because there was no locking mechanism. The beds are not 'queen' more on the 'full' size but very comfy. We will definitely stay at this hotel next time we visit Washington DC. The Eisenhower station is not far and hotel runs shuttle to the station. However we chose to drive into the city because Metro was too expensive ($4.50 per person per trip, for a group of five that is close to $50 a day!!) The garages in Washington DC are available from $10 to $25 a day!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing