We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is really unobtrusive and a bit hard to find but it's awfully convenient to a lot of things, especially if you're doing stuff in Alexandria. The rooms are very comfortable and the weekend price is very good. You'll have a hard time finding anything more reasonable. Only drawback is the lack of a pool. The breakfast is above average. It's not the great buffet that's advertised but it's certainly better than the normal fare. It's really pretty quiet most of the time, and the area feels very safe. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We are pleased that you experience this first hand and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night. There was plenty of free parking, and there was a nice elevator that took you from the main floor to the hotel lobby. The hotel is clean, fresh and very modern. Check-in was a breeze and took less than three minutes. We were given a room on the first floor which was nicely decorated. I enjoyed the amenities, layout and amount of space. The bed and pillows were super comfortable, and the shower was great. As for some of the negatives...there is a "business center," which is essentially two computers on a wall-mounted table in the hallway with a printer in the middle. We needed to print something relatively important, and the printer was low on ink. Right next to the computers is a small area with hot water and coffee dispensers, including plenty of sugar and creamer, cups, napkins and straws. We saw a large group getting coffee late in the evening, and when I went to grab some myself, all of the dispensers were empty. I also decided to grab some snacks from the small convenience store near the reception desk. After placing the items I wished to purchase on the counter, the woman behind the desk proceeded to check my items, then handed me a bag to place them in. Basic customer service calls for you to do that for me. Breakfast the following morning was decent, but nothing spectacular. There were breads, muffins and small hot items to choose from. We didn't use the gym during our stay, but I peeked in the room and found all of the standard exercise equipment and weights in what seemed to be good working order. It was very clean and had plenty of water and fresh towels. The hotel itself is awesome, but there are some improvements needed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrvlLover80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We appreciate the time you have taken out of your vacation to share your feedback with us.

All your comments are very important to us and we can assure you that measures have been taken in order to avoid the issues mentioned in your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced and for not being able to exceed your expectations so far. Our main goal is to create memorable experiences for our guests and we do hope that at the end of your stay this is reached.

Please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Management Team for anything you may need, it would be a pleasure for us to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed Thu 10/3-Mon 10/7. This is a Wonderful place to stay. We were in town to visit grandkids and to explore bike trails. Breakfast buffets of scrambled eggs, ham or sausage, salsa, oatmeal, cereals, hard boiled eggs, pastries, breads, juice meant ease of eating 'paleo'. Muffins on Saturday & Sunday were mass produced and plastic sealed versus ones on Fri & Mon in paper cups, seemingly locally produced. The room had outlets for all 3 computer chargers, both cell phone chargers and CPAP machine (for sleep apnea) and had outlets left over! As others mentioned, A/C was overwhelming until fan control was switched to 'Auto' from 'On'. It would be nice if there were more hooks for hanging wet clothes and towels and if there were a soap dish in the bathroom

Room Tip: North side rooms face Metro rail yard with squeals on turns and 'clacks' over joints. South...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BilleJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations. Yours in Hospitality – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I came to the D.C. area for the birth of a new grandson. We were at the Springfield Suites for 11 days and the service was great. Our location was a short drive to my son's home and there were plenty of good eating establishments nearby. You can use their shuttle to get to the metro stations and some of the local eating places. Plenty of FREE parking both inside and outside. Breakfast was very good and the staff was great. It's nice to come to the desk and be greeted by your own name. Quite impressive!!

Room Tip: The garage is easier to use if you drive a smaller vehicle. SUV's get a little tight inside. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town SW, for your first visit to the Alexandria area. I am thrilled that it was a success! Also, thank you for pointing out our great services! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, etc. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Free shuttle to the Metro and free parking are a BIG plus. Breakfast was typical. Overall, an excellent stay. Only drawback, no pool. With temperatures in the high 80's, that would have been nice.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank visamastermichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town SW, for your first visit to the Alexandria area. I am thrilled that it was a success! Also, thank you for pointing out our great services! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great customer service here. Very friendly, very accommodating. Also had a shuttle that took us down the street a few blocks to an area that has a choice of 3-4 good eating places and a movie theatre. Great location. Rooms very exceptionally clean and well laid out. Air conditioning very slightly on the noisy side, but not enough to prevent sleeping. Covered and uncovered free parking definitely a plus in this expensive city. Breakfast buffet as expected, and plenty of seating for a crowd.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 nite Sept 18. Visiting Washington DC and stayed at this hotel south of the Capital. Excellent location, just west of the Old Town. Breakfast was quite good...no issues and free coffee all day. 5 mins by free shuttle to Metro Station. Hotel had indoor/outdoor parking. The only thing lacking was a pool and hot tub. Previous reviewer excellent. Would definitely recommend for all

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BT-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £64 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing