We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Liked SpringHill Suites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
853 reviews
476 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Liked SpringHill Suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

First time in this brand of Marriott and liked it a lot. Covered and open parking. Nice open lobby with friendly receptionists. Good size room with large corner sofa, tables and work desk. Microwave, fridge, hairdryer and iron in room. Separate toilet and bathroom which we like. Comfortable bed, good shower. Breakfast was also very good and was only missing chopped fresh fruit which would have been nice. Breakfast was a bit hectic as hotel seemed busy but not a big deal. Staff were on top of keeping everything topped up. They share a shuttle to the metro with the Courtyard a few hundred yards away. We also walked to the Courtyard for a light dinner which was very convenient. Only problem we had, which is nothing to do with the hotel, is that our GPS had the hotel preloaded with the correct address but it tried to take us to the other side of the railway lines! Luckily we knew roughly where it was so we ignored it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for letting us knows about your experience! We strive to provide excellent service with a clean, comfortable room combined with a great breakfast and convenient location. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    175
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
217
92
20
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were pleased from check in to check out! CJ and Vessa were both welcoming and helpful in getting our rooms. Far more impressive was the cleanliness and comfort of the room. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandma2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

A nice one night stay for the husband and me. We got there after 10pm and had a little trouble finding parking, but the front desk helped us out. I enjoyed the late night coffee/tea service available in the lobby area. Our room was super clean and comfortable with all of the amenities we could ask for in a quick overnight stay. Bed was great and we enjoyed the layout of the hotel room at Springhill. The only weird thing we noticed is a slight fireplace smell throughout our floor and a little bit in the room as well. It wasn't a huge deal, but not sure where that smell comes from.

Breakfast was great! Lots of room in the breakfast area and we liked the choices of food and beverages. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Simply said: Free parking, free WiFi, Free breakfast, free shuttle to Metro Station, Clean, Accommodating staff, four or five treadmills in exercise area.

Having been to DC, and paying for the amenities, it is well worth the 20 minute metro ride. Spring Hill Suites, was a quiet and safe place to rest. Breakfast normal fare, but was surprised that on Saturday they served Canadian bacon, and on Sunday sausage.

We might even stay here when flying somewhere, as you can leave your car..hop on the Metro and be at Regan International in 10 minutes..

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are delighted to read your review, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We needed a place to stay for two nights and Springhill had a nice online offer. We got a good, clean family room with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, tv and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast was a bit carb and sugar loaded but all in all far better than in many other hotels. 24 hr coffee bar in the lobby definitely a plus. Helpful staff at front desk! Location is a bit far from the downtown Alexandria area, so you would need a car to get there! But all in all recommendable!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for letting us knows about your experience! We strive to provide excellent service with a clean, comfortable rooms combined with a great breakfast and convenient location. The hotel is located 0.7 miles from the Eisenhower Metro Station and 3.0 miles from Alexandria Old Town. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This SpringHill Suites is great! The building is stylish and brand new but it is NOWHERE near Old Town. Don't let the name fool you. This hotel is owned by the same people that run the nearby Courtyard. There is parking under the building however, the sign on the road next to the hotel that said "Subject to Flooding" was a bit unnerving as there was a creek next to the property. The lobby is on the second floor. There is an elevator at the main entrance. You can also take a separate elevator from the parking area to your floor if you have a room key. However, if you take the stairs down to the parking level, the exit door can stick hard. I literally had to body slam the door to get it to open as the lock was sticking hard. This could be very dangerous during a fire or other emergency. At check in the front desk staff was folding towels on the desk (which is NOT the job of the front desk for ANY hotel) quite unprofessional. We were given a room which was facing the interstate. We could not hear any cars speeding by. The room was very bright and spacious. I appreciated the microfridge. The toilet is separate from the shower area. The elevators are slow especially if you have to get to the parking level because only one goes there. If you get in the wrong one, you might have to wait for the other on the first floor or take the stairs. The staff at this hotel are great. There is a free shuttle to the nearby metro which will take you to the airport or downtown DC. The property was very clean. The breakfast was good for SpringHill. As always, I loved the ChupaChups. Also, I tried to pay for my stay with a Marriott Gift Card but this front desk didn't have a clue on how to accept it. I would probably stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hippo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.

The hotel is conveniently located .7 miles from the Eisenhower Metro station southwest of Old Town, Alexandria. Our complimentary shuttle service can quickly transport our guests to the Eisenhower Metro Station and Old Town is a short five minute metro ride away to the King Street Station. There is a free trolley service that runs up and down King Street as well.

Hope this information will help for your next visit to the area. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I needed a reasonable place to stay for a couple of nights for a funeral. We prefer Marriott and Hilton overall. I was a little skeptical given the really good rate for the area. We stayed in a king bed room and were not disappointed. The room layout was modern and just made sense. There was a separate sleeping and seating area with a desk in between. There was a large walk-in shower with a separate toilet bathroom. The hotel staff was very nice. Our only criticism would be the free breakfast was not up to par with what I have experienced in other Marriott's. With that being said, we will stay here again if the rate remains steady.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deedleann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast. Our complementary hot breakfast is popular. We offer scrambled eggs, rotating breakfast meat, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, english muffins, waffles, coffee, juice, oatmeal and a variety of cereals.

We are glad that you and an amazing time with us and that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing