We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable beds and good breakfast for a reasonable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a great night sleep here! It was great for a family traveling with 3 teens and 1 child, especially with the toilet & 2 sinks not in the same room as the shower. The man at the front desk was very pleasant. The breakfast was good, the only downfall was that the line was extremely long!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's proximity to local attractions was perfect and having the metro close by, with transportation to it provided by the hotel was a bonus. Free on site parking was another added bonus. Sadly, there was no on site bar/restaurant, so you have to either purchase beer/wine from the convenience store in the lobby. The breakfast was okay and allows for a quick bite without an additional expense, but the area can become overly congested with people waiting for food. Having outdoor seating during warmer weather is a bonus and eliminates over crowding. The rooms were clean, spacious, and having a separate bathroom and toilet added privacy and additional convenience. I would suggest a hand towel rack be installed as there's currently nowhere to place one for hand drying. I can't say there's a better side of the hotel to stay one, but the odd numbered side faces the metro and the sound of the trains can be a bit annoying. The local is a little hard to access from the highway even with a GPS, so pay keen attention when approaching the hotel. The staff was welcoming and friendly, greeting you each time you were in the lobby. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would use it again for future trips to the area.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms face the street and metro and the even numbers face the highway. There really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Caroline,


Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our location.

I am so pleased that you thought the room pleasant. As you noticed out complimentary breakfast can be challenging as it is very popular. We have recently opened up an alternative seating area on busy days to supplement the existing seating that has really helped alleviate the wait times. Thanks for the suggestions. We take all into consideration.

Please come and see us again soon.

Best Regards,

Danielle Marie Hood
General Manager
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Alexandria Old Town South West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent 3 nights in the SpringHill Suites in Alexandria, VA, last week and had a wonderful
stay. The hotel was very reasonably priced, clean, the staff friendly and the complimentary
breakfast and shuttle to the Metro made it an outstanding value.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do face the Metro station which didn't bother me but did my husband who is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a recent trip to DC. Great location for people traveling to DC. It was close enough to see everything but away enough to get away from it as well. Very nice hotel. Love that they have a separate sink/toilet and sink/shower. Gives you extra space. Also hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to area restaurants ad well as subway. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you have a wonderful stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was new, clean, conveniently located (about 3 miles from the action on King St), and the workers at the hotel, right down to the maid service, were super friendly. They offered a shuttle to the Metro station (Eisenhower-yellow line) which helped us access DC without having to drive. Free breakfast was typical... unspectacular, but sufficient. No lounge (in case you like to have a night cap), but they sold beer and snacks and you were allowed to lounge in the lobby area if you so desired. Overall, a pleasant experience and we would use them again. One complaint would be that the hotel is difficult to locate at first (due to sign ordinances in Old Town). I would suggest using your GPS at least at the beginning of your stay. In case you have children, I noticed that there was a water park right down the road (may be a nice option on a hot summer day).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rich178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this Springhill Suites in the past, and returned. That should say something.

It's got a strange layout. It's first floor is up some stairs. The check-in was quick. We got to our room quickly. We stayed there four days, and enjoyed it.

The location is not within walking distance of Old Town, but there is a shuttle to take you there. If you need to go to the Metro, there is a Metro stop about .75 mile from the hotel. There is a large pay parking area, and some meters. It's actually not a bad walk.

Each room has a small microwave and a frig.

The workout room was pretty decent. However, there is no pool. There is a water park less than a mile away, but there is no hotel pool.

My only complaint is that whoever painted the lines for parking must have been painting them for motorcycles. The spaces are very narrow.

Will we stay again? Yes. It's a good hotel.

Room Tip: There isn't a scenic view unless you enjoy looking at the Metro trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian_of_Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

The hotel is conveniently located .7 miles from the Eisenhower Metro station which is located across from the Hoffman Center. Here you can find seven different restaurant options and a movie theater. Our complimentary shuttle service can quickly transport our guests upon request daily until 10:45PM. Hope this information will help for your next visit to the area. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here a week while my husband had business in the area. Had a king suite with fold out which worked well for our teen daughter. Free breakfast was good, lots of toppings for oatmeal was nice. Free wifi worked great the whole time. Enjoyed having free Wall Street Journal and USA Today as well. Free parking was much appreciated.
Staff was very friendly, especially Peter Gomez who checked us in the first night. He was helpful and knowledgeable about restaurants and area transportation. He was genuine and engaging. Seemed to enjoy his job and took plenty of time to make sure we had all our questions answered. He set the tone for our whole stay.
Free shuttle to metro was very helpful. Tip- if you are going to use Metro buy a plastic SmarTrip card instead of paper. It costs $2 but each trip on Metro using a paper card has a $1 surcharge. You can buy a SmarTrip card at machines in the station.
We took the Metro into DC several days easily and took in the monuments and memorials. Of special interest was the Newseum, an incredible news media related museum. Kids are free all summer and we spent a whole day there. A LOT to see and do.
We also discovered a fun cheese and wine restaurant called Cheesetique in Del Ray, a charming neighborhood in Alexandria. They have all kinds of cheese and wine, plus killer grilled cheese, etc. try the special one on cranberry walnut bread. It was amazing!
The only down side of this hotel was that the air conditioner in our room blew cold air right on one side of the bed. Inconvenient but not a big deal.
Overall this hotel offered us a great value for our time in Alexandria. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I am very glad that you and an amazing time with us and that we were able to make your stay a memorable one! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 54 in Alexandria
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £68 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing