We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amost perfect...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amost perfect...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for a basketball tournament held in DC. The hotel was very clean and spacious. The breakfast was good. There were two issues that put a blemish on things. One was the lack of shuttles to the metro and other destinations. At one point we waited for almost an hour. The other issue was poor air conditioning. Our room was in the mid 80's the first night. The staff, especially CJ, was wonderful. They changed rooms for us and responded expertly and kindly to all of our concerns. Our friends had issues with a noisy running toilet but maintenance attempted to fix it a couple of times. Overall, the customer service was superb and the staff was outstanding. This overshadowed the few issues we had with the premises.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Ina. M.,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so happy to rear that you had a wonderful service experience while you we with us. At the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town, we strive to provide best in class service and I am so happy that we were able to provide that to you.

Please allow me to apologize that you and your friends experienced some maintenance issues. However, I am glad that the issues were resolved prior to your departure.

I hope that you will come and visit us should your travels return you to the Alexandria area in the future.

Best Regards,

Danielle M. Hood
General Manager
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Alexandria Old Town South West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    175
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
218
92
20
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, AL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Our family arrived at night. It was very nice to park under the building and enjoy covered parking. It was also a safe part of town and we saw many joggers outside.

The staff was friendly. Rooms super clean and new. Breakfast was good except for the eggs that appeared to be powdered. They also had a nice patio where we could eat our breakfast outside.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Often we take time to write complaints but fail to complement good service. The service was exceptional. The staff went out the way to accommodate our youth basketball team. The rooms were clean. The hotel was in great proximity to everything. I have never stayed at a hotel where the service was so great. While I don't know everyone name. Thank you CJ and Lorraine. See you next year!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredon, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a great night sleep here! It was great for a family traveling with 3 teens and 1 child, especially with the toilet & 2 sinks not in the same room as the shower. The man at the front desk was very pleasant. The breakfast was good, the only downfall was that the line was extremely long!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level Contributor
172 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's proximity to local attractions was perfect and having the metro close by, with transportation to it provided by the hotel was a bonus. Free on site parking was another added bonus. Sadly, there was no on site bar/restaurant, so you have to either purchase beer/wine from the convenience store in the lobby. The breakfast was okay and allows for a quick bite without an additional expense, but the area can become overly congested with people waiting for food. Having outdoor seating during warmer weather is a bonus and eliminates over crowding. The rooms were clean, spacious, and having a separate bathroom and toilet added privacy and additional convenience. I would suggest a hand towel rack be installed as there's currently nowhere to place one for hand drying. I can't say there's a better side of the hotel to stay one, but the odd numbered side faces the metro and the sound of the trains can be a bit annoying. The local is a little hard to access from the highway even with a GPS, so pay keen attention when approaching the hotel. The staff was welcoming and friendly, greeting you each time you were in the lobby. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would use it again for future trips to the area.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms face the street and metro and the even numbers face the highway. There really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Caroline,


Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our location.

I am so pleased that you thought the room pleasant. As you noticed out complimentary breakfast can be challenging as it is very popular. We have recently opened up an alternative seating area on busy days to supplement the existing seating that has really helped alleviate the wait times. Thanks for the suggestions. We take all into consideration.

Please come and see us again soon.

Best Regards,

Danielle Marie Hood
General Manager
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Alexandria Old Town South West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent 3 nights in the SpringHill Suites in Alexandria, VA, last week and had a wonderful
stay. The hotel was very reasonably priced, clean, the staff friendly and the complimentary
breakfast and shuttle to the Metro made it an outstanding value.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do face the Metro station which didn't bother me but did my husband who is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a recent trip to DC. Great location for people traveling to DC. It was close enough to see everything but away enough to get away from it as well. Very nice hotel. Love that they have a separate sink/toilet and sink/shower. Gives you extra space. Also hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to area restaurants ad well as subway. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you have a wonderful stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing