We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
sugar land
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super nice.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband thinks this was an old office building converted to a hotel. In any event, this was a nice and clean hotel. Stayed only one night with a family of 5.
- Super L shaped sectional in the "living" space of the room.
- Loved the separate toilet and shower areas - both with sinks
- Cool sliding glass/window on desk . My kids enjoyed taking drive through orders with it.

I did have an issue with the pull out sofa. When I went to make the bed, there were only flat sheets and a blanket for it (no pillow or fitted sheet) so I called down to the front desk to request the needed items. Forty-five minutes later, they still hadn't brought them, so I went down to request a fitted sheet, a pillow and an extra blanket. When I told the employee at the front desk (who sounded like the one I spoke with on the phone ), he asked me if I was sure there was no fitted sheet then I overheard him talking another employee saying "That's what she said." Why would I lie about not having a fitted sheet and why would I want an extra one??? The guy came back with a fitted and flat sheet and a pillow- still missing the blanket. But I was tired and just took them and left.
Breakfast - I read other people's comments about the eggs, so I avoided them. My husband said they were just cooked really well - as in scrambled hard, not fluffy. Food selection was standard, nothing outstanding.
They do offer free shuttle to the metro, but I couldn't figure out if you got a ride there how would you get back? It was about a mile and a half away. We had a car, so it was moot.
All in all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlandmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    184
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
223
98
20
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is very clean and has a nice contemporary feel to it. For this trip, we utilized the shuttle service to take us to the Eisenhower metro and pick us up at a nearby restaurant, and it was very convenient and quick (not more than a 10 minute wait either way.) The staff is very accommodating (a special shout out to CJ who helped us with an issue with the AC in our room-thank you!!) This is our go-to hotel for visits to the area, which is quite often as our daughter lives in Alexandria. Even though there are other hotels nearer to where she lives, we prefer to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear S.M.,


Thank you for your business and thank you for taking the time to write a review of the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town South West. I am so happy to hear that we are your "go-to" hotel when in the Alexandria area.

Thank you for the compliment for C.J. he is most certainly one of our very best and we will be sure to recognize him.

Take care and please come again soon.

Best Regards,

Danielle M. Hood
General Manager

SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town South West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a quick weekend into DC. We parked at the hotel and took the shuttle to the metro station (nearest one is the Eisenhower stop-yellow line). The front desk clerk erroneously told me that the Eisenhower station did not have the machines which sells the SmarTrip cards so the shuttle took us close to the King St metro which did have the machines. On our way back, we got off at the Eisenhower stop and saw that they did have the machines.

We got a king suite room. Our teenage girls didn't like the fact that they had to sleep in the pull out sofa but other than that, the room was nice. There's a separate toilet room w/ sink and then the shower & sink room. The shower was a nice large shower w/ glass door. Only complaint was that there wasn't enough hooks to hang up your towels. A towel rack would have been nice to hang up your face towels and bath towels to reuse the next day. The AC worked a little too well - we were cold even though we turned the temperature up to 79 then 81 degrees! Maybe there was something else we had to manipulate besides the wall thermostat?

The breakfast selection was good but the set up was not. There was only one toaster for everybody that wanted to toast their waffles/bagels/bread. Every time I looked, there was a line at least 8 persons deep. The other table was set up w/ oatmeal, fruit, cereal and muffins - that line went a little faster. There was lots of seating inside & out but if there are tour buses staying overnight - seats may be hard to find! They did have a sign saying you can use one of the meeting rooms though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safety_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.

I apologize for the misinformation on the Metro. In the recent past you could only add fare to a Smart trip card or purchase a paper-fare card at the Eisenhower location. Therefore, the addition of the Smart Trip Machines at Eisenhower must be a recent development. Thank you so very much for the updated information.

With regards to the buffet, we are happy to report that we will be adding a toaster to alleviate the line in that area. Please come back and check out the changes.

We hope to serve you again in the future so please come back for a visit.

Best Regards,

Danielle Marie Hood
General Manager

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Alexandria Old Town South-West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis Missouri
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

You can't beat this hotel for the price and proximity to the metro. This hotel looks pretty new. Loved the contemporary style, underground parking, comfortable beds and staff. The breakfast area is crowded and if you love scrambled eggs- DO NOT EAT THE EGGS- they are made from something that's supposed to resemble eggs. But if you like NUTELLA - you will be very happy- get in the line for the toast and you will find the NUTELLA - right next to the bagels- yummy! We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank julesmom97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Julesmom,


Thank you for the review of our location. I am glad that you had a good stay with us. I have some great news regarding our buffet. We have just recently changed our egg preparation to great reviews. Therefore, please come back and try us out again in the future.

It would be our pleasure to serve you in the future should your travels return you to our area.

Best Regards,

Danielle Marie Hood
General Manager

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Town South-West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon Hill, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Been here the day after New Years 2014 with a couple getaway and me and my boyfriend loved it. The rooms are extremely modern, we ordered food and it came quickly! Very convenient and the shuttle to and from the movies up the street was great! Love every moment! Me and my boyfriend are returning this weekend for his birthday weekend! The staff is very friendly, completely at your service and housekeeping cleans up phenomenally.

Room Tip: Ask for sound-proof room on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taalibah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Taaliabh,


Wow thank you for the wonderful review of the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town South- West. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our close proximity to the movies etc.

I hope that you will come back soon. If so please stop in and say hello so that I may put a face with a name.


Best Regards,

Danielle Marie Hood
General Manager
Alexandria Old Town SouthWest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for a basketball tournament held in DC. The hotel was very clean and spacious. The breakfast was good. There were two issues that put a blemish on things. One was the lack of shuttles to the metro and other destinations. At one point we waited for almost an hour. The other issue was poor air conditioning. Our room was in the mid 80's the first night. The staff, especially CJ, was wonderful. They changed rooms for us and responded expertly and kindly to all of our concerns. Our friends had issues with a noisy running toilet but maintenance attempted to fix it a couple of times. Overall, the customer service was superb and the staff was outstanding. This overshadowed the few issues we had with the premises.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Ina. M.,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so happy to rear that you had a wonderful service experience while you we with us. At the SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town, we strive to provide best in class service and I am so happy that we were able to provide that to you.

Please allow me to apologize that you and your friends experienced some maintenance issues. However, I am glad that the issues were resolved prior to your departure.

I hope that you will come and visit us should your travels return you to the Alexandria area in the future.

Best Regards,

Danielle M. Hood
General Manager
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Alexandria Old Town South West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, AL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Our family arrived at night. It was very nice to park under the building and enjoy covered parking. It was also a safe part of town and we saw many joggers outside.

The staff was friendly. Rooms super clean and new. Breakfast was good except for the eggs that appeared to be powdered. They also had a nice patio where we could eat our breakfast outside.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing