We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit in George Washington's pew!”

Alexandria's Christ Church
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$127.50*
and up
Virginia Day Trip and DC After Dark Combo
Ranked #5 of 88 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sit in George Washington's pew!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We visited Christ Church on Saturday, August 9. I wish I had the name of the docent for that day so I could give him credit here. He did a great job answering our many questions and offered some tips for visiting other local sites. The church itself is serene and elegant inside, and it is a very active Episcopal parish. Only a block or two off King Street.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    55
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Historic Church”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The church is full of history. Robert E. Lee and Washington attended. Presidents such as FDR, Coolidge, and Carter have visited. Churchill visited with FDR and Eleanor Roosevelt. The church grounds are small but picturesque with very old gravestones.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank patagoniac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My son and gave been here twice in past few months. This time we got a little tour and it was very quick but informative. My son liked sitting in George Washington's family pew and the cemetery is Interesting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 5025emy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Bit of History”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You do not want to miss this church - it is old, historic and very interesting. The grounds are well maintained and the church has been well preserved

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkleyBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the visit.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had not read about Christ's Church prior to our visit to Alexandria. Thanks to Trip Advisor, I looked for attractions nearby and stumbled on to this historical church.
Our guide, Harley, was a wealth of information about church history and Alexandria. A true ambassador.
It was fun to sit George Washington's pew, and to learn about the other important people that worshiped in the same pew.
Don't miss Christ's Church!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexandria's Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Alexandria's Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing