We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch disappointment”
Review of Pema's Restaurant

Pema's Restaurant
Ranked #310 of 754 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Cumberland, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brunch disappointment”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our party of four met at Pema's for Sunday brunch, the waffle was light, fluffy and delicious. The Italian specialities were overlooked, dry, or tasteless. The meatballs were tasteless, and the sauce was forgettable. The tilapia was dry, overlooked and had a funky flavor. The sausage link pieces were burned and tough. The roulade was relatively tasty, but also dry and overlooked. The shrimp in red sauce was okay.

Service was good, they kept the coffee cups filled, the water filled and the plates bussed. The restaurant was dark, and there was an overwhelming smell of burned garlic, it was the only thing we smelled when entering...and our clothes reeked afterward.

It was overpriced for what it was. We will not be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvmyredmiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Food was excellent. The prices were reasonable. The staff was very friendly and the service was great! Would go back in a heartbeat!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank debville99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local secret!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We found Pema's on route 1 and were happily surprised by the quality and variety of food. Service was great and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattithecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was recommended to us travelers by a man at the Mt. Vernon Grist Mill, and it did not disappoint. The atmosphere was relaxing, the temperature was not too hot and not to chilled. The food was perfectly cooked and delicious. I wanted ravioli, but did not recognize that was what "filled pasta" was. One of my family ordered it anyway and loved it.(So did I.) The linguini and clams though was also fabulous, with perfectly cooked pasta and lots of baby clams. My daughter also thought the mushroom caps were cooked perfectly.
My only complaint was that the chairs were extremely uncomfortable. After 7 hours walking around, I wanted something softer to sit against.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OSUGrad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
407 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“This was One Terrific Find, and very reasonable !”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had lunch here with our 6 YO grandson and all 3 of us enjoyed our meals. My husband had veal, the grand had a plate full of flounder, shrimp, scallops, and clams.( He ate it all ) and I had a terrific chicken breast stuffed with ham and cheese and covered in a lemon butter sauce. All had a side of spaghetti and two of us had a white sauce that was outstanding. The Salads were fresh and the bread and flavored oil were terrific. We will definitely come again when visiting DC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pema's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pema's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing