We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SpringHill Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$140
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$113
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
US$224
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
US$141
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$82
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,996)
Filter reviews
1,996 results
Traveller rating
967
683
227
78
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
683
227
78
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetthe manager's receptiongreat locationmade to order breakfastmetro stationold townking streetfree trolleyhappy hourpretzelswhole foodsparking garagedc areamasonic templepull out coucheasy accessfree breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,367 - 1,372 of 1,996 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was so grateful for the free room they gave us for enduring all the construction noise. But the woman at the front desk was rude and made me feel guilty for getting the free room. Like it was my fault? She tried to blame me for taking the room even tho I asked for I quiet room! But thanks anyway. I do appreciate it from a company making billions off $11 water. What's writing off $200? Or having nice people at your front desk when things go wrong, and not blame the guest?

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am concerned that you were not awarded the proper response from our Front Office Staff. All of our guests and staff understand that if we cannot make your stay a pleasant one and you are not 100% satisfied, then we will do what is necessary to “Make It Right” by you. I will forward this Trip Advisor to our Front Office Manager, so she can review proper procedure and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Overall, the hotel is ok, but could be so much nicer with simple changes. Very strange setup. I couldn't find the front desk when I got there...what seems to be the main entrance is just a strange lobby with no one in it. The actually lobby is off tucked away in one corner. There are seemingly high traffic stairways to nowhere. Fitness area is very nice, but set up like a dungeon....why aren't there any windows between the pool and fitness area? Why aren't the treadmills hooked up to TV? Pool is also nice, but reminded me of a scary horror movie. Looked more like a hospital basement than a welcoming pool area. Rooms could be so much nicer with small touches. TV in the bedroom didn't work, toilet paper holder, had it worked, was a junky noisy piece of metal, corners of the rooms weren't vacuumed, key card reader only worked 1/10 swipes...small things like that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Kelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for writing this review. It appears that you may have entered from the Duke Street entrance and I understand your confusion, as this is opposite to our main entrance of Diagonal Road. We will soon be providing additional signage, which after entering on Duke Street will direct our hotel guests to the front desk and to the guest room elevators. I will forward the information about our fitness area and your room issues to the department managers for review and thank you for these comments. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is recently renovated and my guess is most of the rooms are great. My room, 151, is a very nice cellblock. No windows, no exterior light. I am in this room after being told (a) we have no room for you in spite of your reservation, and then (b) we have a room for you, but it is a smoking room, and then (c) OK, we have a nonsmoking room for you . . . but it is a cell. Why do front desk people feel a need to lie like that? Reminiscent of the Seinfeld episode where the car rental person doesn't seem to understand the meaning of "reservation." What I am trying to figure out if this is something this guy was actually trained by Hilton to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a "room with a view." Don't accept room 151.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate the type of room you reserved. Although we strive to accommodate our guests with exact reservations, at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again. Best Regards...MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wonderful staff to work with during our event. Various hotel staff checked in with us throughout the day to ask how everything was going & if we needed anything. Room were spacious and clean. Food was to excellent with wide range of choices. Polite. Friendly. Knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that your event was a success and that our hotel was your chosen venue. We hope to be able to offer you the same hospitality and accommodation next time you visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I've stayed here many times. The hotel is directly across from the King street metro station making is supremely convenient to public transit. It's two metro stops from National Airport. The renovated fitness center is excellent. It has four elliptical trainers, treadmills, two bikes, weights and universal gym. There are also fitness balls. Access to the fitness center requires crossing the lobby unless you are in one of the few rooms near the fitness. You can cut through the swimming pool area during pool hours. However, the floor is generally wet. Breakfast here is the best of any Embassy Suites I've stayed at. I highly recommend the omelets and pancakes.

Room Tip: If you plan to use the fitness center, ask for a room near it. Those are the newest rooms thanks to a recent renovation.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you appreciate the changes to our fitness area and that you have been able to make use of the facility. Please come back and see us in 2014, when our rooms will have completed a new case goods upgrade and tub-surround. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews