We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met Our Needs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Independence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Met Our Needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

With so many wonderful things to see in DC, we were rarely at the hotel. When we were, the breakfast was appreciated. The pool was great after a long day of sightseeing. It didn't open until 5, so forewarn your children. We are repeat visitors to this hotel due to its great location, walk to Old Town, and a Fresh Market next door.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank momof3FtWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for your patronage of our hotel. I am pleased that your stay was once again enjoyable and will look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    610
    202
    66
    30
See reviews for
792
262
42
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

When reservations were made, I asked to have my room clode to the bridal guest (if not right next to). I was 2 floors and more away from bridal party . It made it very difficult to get dressed for the wedding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 703barbarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I can appreciate your disappointment about not being close to the bridal party for this special event. It is unfortunate that we were not able to accommodate your request, but hope that this will not affect your decision to return to our hotel in the future. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean, friendly and had good sized rooms. The breakfast buffet had great options, was fully stocked and was well run. The location was quaint and has a Whole foods across the street. A great lobby to relax and enjoy a drink or play a game.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LambchopFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your stay was to your liking and that you were able to enjoy our atrium to play board games and relax. Please come back and see us soon.
Best Regards … MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Embassy Suites with our granddaughters for a week while we visited all the sites in the area - leaving right from the subway station right across the street. Our stay was WONDERFUL in ALL areas - beginning with the GREAT location to come and go from!! The hotel was clean throughout, our room was spacious with comfortable beds, and the service was AWESOME - always given with a smile and willingness to truly be accommodating!! The morning breakfast was a SUPER way to begin our day with NUMEROUS choices for all of us to savor! The ability to ask for special orders i.e. omelets and turkey sausage was way beyond typical hotel breakfast offerings. And the "Happy Hour" was a DELIGHTFUL way to end our very busy days with yummy snacks and choice of drinks! We DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to all - and if we are back in the area we will CERTAINLY be back ourselves!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to avail yourself of our amenities. I appreciate that you will recommend our hotel and will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This IS THE CLOSEST hotel to the King St. Metro. Literally across the street. Very easy commute to any of the sights in DC. You can walk or take the free trolley (stop in front of the Metro) to everything in Old Town. Made to order breakfast was delicious. Manager's reception was a welcome break for snacks and drinks after a busy day sight-seeing and before dinner. If you are planning to visit DC, this is a safe, comfortable, and FUN place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank JLE34471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I certainly am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would have to agree, that we are a fun and convenient place to stay in the DC area! Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent location across the street from the Metro and within walking distance of family-friendly restaurants (we recommend Table Talk for breakfast). The room was clean and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Avoid the restaurant in the evening if you are pressed for time. Service can be slow. Also go for the pizzas--they were hot and filling. The other entrees were hit and miss. Complimentary breakfast was good, and there was plenty of seating for our large family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank jennifercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will forward your comments to our Food and Beverage Director, so he may in turn discuss this with his staff. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stay frequently at Embassy Suites when I travel. This was the first time I stayed at this Embassy Suites. It is a good hotel, in a great location. Literally walking distance to the Metro Line, right across the street. There was only one thing different about this Embassy Suites from every other one I have stayed at. At the Manager's Reception, the only free beverages (in addition to soft drinks) were wine and two types of beer. Not a big deal at all, just very strange for Embassy Suites. Any other type of beer and all liquor was all for sale, not part of the free drinks. Never had that happen at any Embassy Suites before. But overall, the stay was great!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable and appreciate your comments. Our Alexandria VA location is the determining factor, with regards to our hotel being able to provide beer and wine and not mixed drinks for free to our guests. I hope that this will not prevent you from staying at our hotel in the future and I will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing