We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly and Helpful”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Everyone was very helpful and friendly from the moment we walked in the door. Judging from the atmosphere, both guests and staff, many people were enjoying themselves and it was contagious-- our group had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank stephaniem425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
We wouldn’t want our guests to feel any other way about their stay with us but friendly and helpful! Thank you! From check-in to departure, we are here as a team to ensure your stay with us is relaxing, fun and enjoyable. You and your group are more than welcome here in Alexandria anytime. We anticipate your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    638
    208
    71
    36
See reviews for
856
279
45
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Three of us shared a king suite. Worked well. Bathroom outside bedroom. Easily accessible by all. Breakfast and cocktail hours were great. Location can't be beat. Steps to metro. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Evening bartenders and afternoon front desk staff were superb!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudgeMunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I’m delighted to hear that you “thoroughly enjoyed” your stay with us. We try so hard to deliver memorable experiences that guest will share with friends and family. It sounds like a few of our signature amenities and great service overall contributed to a memorable stay for you and your family. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect, with Amtrak nearby, and walking distance to many area businesses. The staff was helpful and went above and beyond from check in, dining and checkout. The food in the restaurant was very good as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank kedrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for recognizing the effort each and every team member at the Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town puts into making each and every guests stay an “above and beyond” experience. We understand a great location is just what invites you in for our great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Booked a reservation for this hotel on Expedia a few days before my arrival. I received several emails confirming my reservation.

Long story short, i got to the hotel at 11:30 pm. No reservation in the hotel system. NO rooms available at the hotel, NO ROOMS AVAILABLE ANYWHERE!

Spent 3.5 hours on the phone with Expedia. Horrible customer service. Not able to find a replacement room. While on the phone with them, i discovered that they billed me for the room! It was on my AMEX bill (on line). Really?

Hotel was walking people all evening to other hotels. They overbooked, but secured rooms in the area for those with confirmed reservations in their system.

There were others that booked with Expedia and Hotels.com that didnt get a place to stay, they were in the same boat as me.

The hotel blamed Expedia....Expedia blames the hotel. I think BOTH parties are guilty. The hotel over sold their rooms. Expedia didnt confirm the reservation, and certainly had time to do so.

THe hotel manager spoke to me the next morning, and promised to get back to me. NOTHING. Much as i expected.

I wouldn't every stay here again. I am going back next week, and returning to one of the Kimpton Properties in the area that i usually select. As a second choice, there are many wonderful Hyatt properties in the DC area. I wont return here!

Room Tip: Book another hotel? Thats all i can suggest. Really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
It sounds like your stay with us wasn’t really a stay at all. On behalf of me and our travel partner I apologize that we failed to meet your lodging needs. You have provided valuable feedback to us that we well use to ensure we accommodate every guest; reservation confirmed or not. I also recognize that you do have many choices when you travel. I ask that you reach out to me personally upon your next trip and allow me to demonstrate to you the award-winning service we are known for. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Spending a week in the DC area on vacation (and a little work) and found that this location is great because of the close proximity to the King Street Metro Station which is located just across the street from the hotel. Breakfast in the atrium was good and of course included with the room. Arrived during the first real hot spell (95 degrees) and room was a little warm but cooled off later in the evening to be comfortable. Refrigerator in the room was not working or just could not keep up with the heat and the fact it is inside a cabinet but hotel supplied a standalone refrigerator quickly. Parking is good and conveniently located under the hotel at $28.00 a day. All in all a good stay and would come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFriedlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
And to think it wasn’t even the first day of summer yet! Thank you for letting us know what we did well and what we can improve upon to ensure every stay with us is a great experience. I am pleased to hear that we handled you requests in a timely and resolute fashion. Great location is nice but it is great service that will make you want to return. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Great stay for our vacation to DC. This hotel was perfect. The staff were all hospitable and accomadating. Our room was a good size for our family of 6. Had 2 queen beds and a full sized sofa pullout. The room also had a table and 4 chairs. The beds were in a separate room that could be completely closed if needed. The room was also very clean and housekeeping even did some general picking up of our stuff when they took care of the room. The breakfast was fantastic. Made to order omelets, pancakes and eggs along with other standards, easily saved our family $60/day on just breakfast. The hotel is also in a nice area that we felt very comfortable walking in. The parking garage was directly beneath the hotel and the metro station was directly across the street. A 20 minute ride to the National Mall. It would be difficult to have topped this stay in the DC area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LakelandAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
This sounds like a stay that had something in it for the entire family! Thank you for allowing us to provide ample room for your family to relax, a location of convenience to experience our nation’s history and to prepare your morning favorites with our signature made-to-order breakfast every morning. It is our hope that through excellent accommodations, friendly service and inclusive amenities that we provide business travelers and families like yours a place that feels like home away from home. We hope your travels bring you our way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Great location very close to Old Town and the Metro into DC. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast buffet was great and the afternoon drinks are nice. All in all this was a nice and comfortable place to stay. I would return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank elisemarie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,394 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,246 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing