We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Embassy Suites does it again! A classic hotel that offers extras. I normally pack my cleaning supplies and my blanket. But, I knew I would need those items when checking into Embassy Suites. Professional reception and very fast check in as always. The lobby was beautiful and very peaceful for relaxing. The room was clean and very spacious. We enjoyed sitting in the living room watching tv as if we were home. We could visit our relatives who were staying in the hotel without sitting on their beds or invading their privacy. There is much to be said for the space of the suites. The breakfast was excellent in the morning. The cooked to order omlettes are still excellent. There are so many choices that everyone can find something to keep them full all morning. The managers reception in the evening was great as well. They had two draft beers, 5 wines and plenty of softdrinks that were complimentary. You could also purchase mixed drinks and other draft beers. I will definitely come back here to stay. We also used the FREE King St. trolley that picked us up directly across from the hotel and that took us to the restaurant of our choice and dropped us back off. It's a great location to park your car and walk or take the trolley. Whole Foods is directly across from the hotel too.

The only issue can be the parking lot. If you can't see well, you will smack a wall with your car. The spaces were very tight in between concrete walls. So, just know how to drive and that's not a problem either.

Room Tip: I thought every room was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltime05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank You for sharing your recent experience with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I'm delighted to hear that the use of a two-room suite really allowed you to spend quality time with family and relax. We always strive to provide a comfortable environment that provides something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    631
    206
    70
    35
See reviews for
840
275
44
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Holly Springs, PA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights. It was a very nice place to stay, the staff was very attentive and it seemed like a very convenient place to stay if visiting DC - the metro is literally across the street - very convenient. The breakfast and evening social hours were fantastic. The parking garage is not too bad to deal with - a little confusing to figure out and the spots are VERY, VERY tight...The room was comfortable and extremely quiet even though we were on the 2nd floor across from Metro and directly beside elevator. The rooms did seem stuffy - we had our ac turned the whole way down to 65 and it was still hot. They bathrooms don't have any fans which I think is why it seemed so humid. We opted for the $15 premium access - which meant that we had to go to the 8th floor for soda/snacks. When we got there they were out of everything we wanted - they said we could go to the front desk for anything we wanted, but all in all it seemed like a hassle for a few snacks and soda/water, so we decided not to get the premium service - just our choice. We did eat at the restaurant one evening late - around 9:30 and ordered chicken tenders/sandwiches and it took forever to get our meals and when we did they were cold. Other than that, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Our room was fairly quiet, but I always travel with a fan to block noise. If noise is of a concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reneeandsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share with us your recent experience. While overall you were "comfortable" we strive for our guests to truly relax and enjoy their time with us. While your time was not 100% enjoyable you have give us some valuable feedback to ensure we correct our misgivings and not lose sight of all the details that matter: great accommodations, premium amenities and guests who are satisfied with their stay. Please reach out to me on your return visit to Alexandria Old Town so I can personally ensure you a most gracious return and much more pleasurable experience. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

July 31 2014-August 3rd.
The hotel was well appointed in Old Alexandria. Whole foods is literally a 1 minute walk from the hotel. The metro is literally across the street which is great. Parking and check in were terrible. The hotel is on a main road and was very busy on Thursday afternoon. Some cars were partially in the street attempting to enter through the hotel lobby. No one was there to assist with luggage or direct traffic. The parking is located underneath the hotel. The area is well lit, however the parking is shared with a business complex. Be sure to park in the correct spot. Many spots were tight.
Managers reception did not have a large enough area to accommodate all who were at the hotel. The small bar area was dirty, glasses weren't cleaned well and the floor was sticky. Unfortunately for the bartender it was just her serving the drinks. She did her best. 99% of the staff at breakfast were very nice. The omelets were the worst I've had at any Embassy Suites. I did read another review that stated "It tasted like the ingredients were from a can." This is very true. The front desk staff were OK, if you asked a question you felt like a burden. The rooms could have been cleaner. The hot tub fit 4 people. The gym was very nice and spacious. The staff continued to pour chemicals in the pool over and over again without checking. My husband noticed a signed and initialed paper that verified the pool was inspected. The date and time was for when the kids were in the pool. So this was not true. All in all if you are not concerned with breakfast, hospitality, and the hot tub this hotel will be OK. The experience was not horrible, it's just that we will not be staying here again.
FYI- Do not add the extra $15 a night for the 8th floor. My friend did, it was two vending machines with chips, candies and soda.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
It sounds like we did not meet OR exceed your expectations with your recent stay and for that I do apologize. We have a "Make It Right" pledge that we share with each and every guest and I sincerely hope that at any time if there was anything we could have done to make your stay much more enjoyable that you brought it to the attention of any member of our staff. I understand this was a very busy time for your stay with a very large convention in town. I can only hope your experience would have been as great as others who have stayed with us during your stay as well as in the past. We appreciate your feedback and as I share it with my leadership team here at the property we will look for ways to definitely improve. Should you return to the area for another visit I encourage you to share with us any and all ways we can show you the best of what we are made of. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial Heights, VA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I've passed by this hotel many times on my way to Crystal City, but finally found a government rate for one night stay. I came in on Amtrak, so it was convenient to walk the short distance to the hotel and use the Metro later. Most posters have very positive comments, and I concur. Aidan, at the bar, poured perfect beer and the margherita pizza was very good. Service and cleanliness were top-notch. My only complaint was difficulty in finding the fitness room, they could use some additional signage. Use a parking garage elevator and go down to Guest Suites 1, the lowest level. Fitness room had 4 treadmills, 4 ellipticals, 2 bikes, 1 multi-function stack, dumbbells to 50 lbs, and fixed barbells to 110 lbs, plus an assortment of balls and mats. This definitely became my hotel of choice when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We can't thank you enough for finally giving us a chance to earn your loyalty! Fitness center can be tricky but we had to improve upon the facility the best way we could! I hope the journey was well worth it and we certainly look forward to your return visit with us soon. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent a long weekend with family in a couple of rooms on Preferred floor. Got free snacks and drinks. Very nice amenity with 4 kids. Location can not be beat. King Street station is right there and had fun walking through old town and eating close to the hotel. Parked car ($28/day) and used train to get around DC. Area is quiet on the weekend and walking was nice. Hotel was busy. Morning buffet was crazy crowded and food was mediocre at best. Other Embassy's do a better job. This one was shoehorned in to the bar and a restaurant. No real complaints, but always felt crowded. Room was excellent and clean. Not a new hotel, but very well kept. Parking garage was tight and hard to park my SUV. Can't beat location.

Room Tip: 8th floor rules. Quiet and snacks available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drtpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank You for a well-rounded review of our location and amenities during your recent stay. There were some suggestions I can definitely take away from your feedback. Breakfast is one of our most sought after amenities and we will continue to build on ways to improve traffic flow, quality and guest satisfaction. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Family of 5 stayed for 3 nights in late July (2014) for D.C. sight-seeing and attending Guinness International Champions Cup soccer match at FedEx Field.

Pros:
1) Location: 2 minute walk to the metro station across street; 15 minute metro ride to Reagan National Airport and 20 minutes to D.C. city center. Also easy walk to several area restaurants and Whole Foods market. Free Old Town/King Street trolley is a nice service, but the trolley can get VERY crowded.

2) Rooms: great fit for our family (2 adults, 3 children), with fold-out sofa bed. Two flat-screen TV's. Kitchenette area with mini-fridge, microwave and sink. Decent sized bathroom. Everything fully functional and clean.

3) Breakfast and Evening Reception: consider the cost of a breakfast off-property when evaluating the nightly rate for this hotel. The buffet and cooked-to-order breakfast at this hotel would easily cost you $8-10 (per person), or more, at an off-site location.

4) Courteous and Attentive Staff: across every service area of the hotel, staff were courteous and always helpful. Even allowed check-in a couple of hours early.

Cons:
1) For us, beds were not comfortable, and are only double-sized. New mattresses would improve and up-sizing to double queens would be even better (and there IS enough space in the bedroom area to accomodate two queen beds).

2) No free WiFi. You can get free WiFi at hotels half the cost, which doesn't make sense to me. We survived without it.

3) No in-room safe to store my laptop.

Tips:

1) Walk through the back courtyard of the hotel, 5 minutes, to nearby Whole Foods market to stock up on soft drinks, wine, beer, snacks and other essentials to keep in the room. We actually made a couple of late night dinners in the room since many area restaurants were closed by the time we returned from D.C.

2) Catch the free trolley at either the King Street Metro station or at the river front. Attempting to get on/off from any of the other stops along the route can be a challenge, due to heavy crowds taking advantage of "FREE."

3) Good "pub style" food at the Hard Times Cafe on King Street, about a 10 minute walk from hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank You for your wonderfully comprehensive review of our property and your most recent stay with us. I'm sure readers of Trip Advisor will appreciate your simple list of pros and cons. It was the pleasure of our staff to provide you with courteous and attentive service during your stay. And we value your feedback as well. In-suite safes will be coming across the entire brand in 2015. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very conveniently located for Metro access and Old Town restaurants & shops. The breakfast and evening receptions were very good and popular; the room / suite was quiet with comfort all around. I would recommend this hotel and the Embassy suites for family travel and / or business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 844tilakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Comfort and convenience are just a few of the things we are known for here at the Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town. For business or leisure we continue to provide a relaxing atmosphere with our evening reception and your recommendation is greatly appreciated. Please, come back soon! Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,368 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,228 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing