We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
virginia beach, United States
1 review
“Great location and great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I ordered an in room meal and it was was very good, and fresh. While the temperature was a little hard to get used too, with two rooms, and one thermostat, it worked out once I under it over night. The equipment fitness center was in good shape with all pieces working. The hotel room was roomy and good for a client meeting while I stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Our Caprese Mediterranean Grill enjoys preparing a variety of great tasting dishes for our guests’ in-suite, at the bar and for our restaurant patrons as well. I look forward to sharing your review of a great meal with the food and beverage staff. I am pleased to hear that you stay was so enjoyable on a business and leisure level. We look forward to your return. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    620
    205
    67
    32
See reviews for
813
266
43
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was at this hotel for just one night ahead of a business meeting in Washington, DC. I travel to the DC area a lot and prefer to stay outside of DC proper and take Metro because of high DC hotel prices - and I love the Old Town Alexandria area. This property has all of the usual amenities you encounter at an Embassy Suites - two-room suites, large atrium, cook-to-order breakfast, and nightly manager's reception. Being the summer time, it was nearly fully booked with lots of families enjoying a vacation in the DC area. As a result, it can get pretty crowded and finding spots to sit in the breakfast/bar area can be challenging. My room was very good - what I come to expect from an Embassy Suites. Being on the 5th floor, however, meant my view was of the lower rooftop of the hotel! This hotel is very conveniently located about a 2 minute walk from the King Street Metro stop. This location is also where the free Old Town / King Street trolley departs from. However, Old Town is not large and I always enjoy strolling down King Street. Overall, a really good experience here.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room if you want a view. The trade off is likely longer waits for elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bama_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Summer, and as you so kindly pointed out our location, tend to be quite a mix for large gatherings of families, business clients and many of our loyal repeat guests. It is a busy time of year. I'm pleased to hear that our property and the surrounding Old Town area is tops on your list of places you enjoy. Please, return again soon. Maybe we can get you an even better view that just the 5th floor! Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles,La
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel truly treats its guest like VIP and when they make reservations for you at the local restaurant be sure to be expected to be treated like VIP's. The front desk made reservations for us at the Charter House and not only did the hotel van bring us and drop us off but was entertaining during the trip. The food was great the room the hotel had chose for us in the restaurant overlooked the river and had the best view. I am quite pleased with the stay and the service offered by Embassy Suites and would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for such a kind compliment on the service you received from our front desk staff. We enjoy treating every guest like a VIP. From restaurant recommendations, shuttle services and over all guest satisfaction, we aim to please! We thank you for allowing us to win your loyalty and hope to see you on future travel to the area. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The best staff we have dealt with at any Embassy Suite. The Manager was outstanding and extremely helpful. The location is great. The rooms are nicely appointed. The complimentary reception and breakfast were nicely done. Everyone was so friendly. Just a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
"...the best staff..." is how we hope that every guest feels about the service we provide. I can't thank you enough for sharing such kind words on your most recent visit with us. Your comment of "Just a great experience." is such a compliment to all we strive to offer. I speak for the entire staff when I say we sincerely hope to earn your loyalty for your next visit to the area. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a wonderful property with a great location. Wanted a hotel near DC and for easy access to Mt Vernon. This really fit the bill. The hotel is clean, classy, comfortable, and easy to get to. The atrium has a great restaurant with very good food. We really liked this hotel. Only negative; Embassy Suites has got to learn that at their prices they need to offer guests free access to internet. Paying for this service in a hotel chain at the level of ES, is ridiculous

Room Tip: ask for a room on the street side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
I am delighted to hear that your recent stay with us was great on so many levels. From room accommodations to our dining at our Caprese Mediterranean grill we strive for an atmosphere of comfortable and classy accommodations. I'm hoping that our staff was able to provide you with access to our free Wi-Fi in public areas and our HHonors network for in-suite usage. I appreciate the feedback and will continue to look at ways of improving the guest experience. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here on the last leg of our holiday having had 5 nights in NYC we drove down to Alexandria for 4 nights. On arrival the check in was great. I am a Hilton Honors member and had upgraded our room for the duration using my points. This gave us access to the snack bar facility mainly and a slightly bigger room.

The room as always was very good. I booked it because I love the fact you get a great size room, bathroom and a separate lounge area with sofa, TV dining table and small kitchen area which is perfect when your spending 8 hours of the day sightseeing and you just want to flop rather than head out for dinner.

The hotel location was fantastic, directly opposite the metro and the town was very pretty with lots of boutique style shops, café and restaurants.

They also have a managers welcome reception nightly where you receive complimentary drinks for a few hours. We popped down one evening. Don't expect high quality wine because you will be disappointed, but if you don't mind a blossom hill style or that around the £5.00 a bottle type, it wasn't bad and after a day in the museums and about 10 miles of walking, we were not about to complain! :-)

Our only actual issue with the hotel was the fact that the vending machines for the snacks either didn't work or were empty. We complained continuously because this was pretty much what we paid for with the room upgrade and while we are only talking soft drinks and snacks, it was becoming an issue. On one occasion we were issued with 3 bottles of water from reception having ben told that was all they could give us, then 2 days later when we complained we were told we could have received cans of coke from reception. We were starting to feel like right idiots because reception would call us to say that the machines had been restocked, we would leave the room, head up to the floor only to find it now not working! This was happening 6-7 times a day to the point we gave up and just went to the shops for snacks and drinks.

I would go back if I was ever visiting DC again but I wouldn't upgrade my room because I feel I wasted 25000 + points in doing so.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sargent0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank You valued Hilton Honors member for sharing your feedback about some key amenities your reward status offered you and stay with us. While there were highs it sounds like there were a few lows as well. I apologize that we seem to simply could not get the 8th floor amenity in exact working condition during your stay. Sometimes we have to adjust how we manage this amenity but that should never interfere with our guests' satisfaction. We have discussed a few new ways to improve upon the Premium Upgrade simply based on your feedback. I would love to discuss your recent stay in more detail and ask for you to please reach out to me when time permits. We strive to earn every guests’ loyalty and while you said you would return I would appreciate the opportunity to demonstrate our revamped premium room upgrade experience. I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit, Mo
Level Contributor
769 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a great location and the employees are very responsive. It appears that the only issue is the management. An example is their breakfast which is a disaster because they are overloaded. Instead of investing in a new cook station, management just puts up signs saying when it's busy. They wouldn't like it if customers just paid less all of a sudden. If you are looking for a good location near a metro and close to old town this is it. But don't plan on breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank postrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback about your recent stay with us. We utilize this feedback to improve the guest experience. Actually, the signs that highlight higher traffic times at breakfast came from this kind of feedback. We like to use any and all resources to give our guests the power to manage their stay on their schedule. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing