We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehall, PA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“ZebraCatty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

We can't say enough good things about this hotel. The room was well-apportioned and very clean. The entire staff for the hotel was very cordial and extremely helpful. The location is perfect for getting around DC. You are a short 2 blocks from the Metro station and 8 blocks from the Old Town area. Access to I95 and I495 is very close and easy to reach. The parking is only an additional $10 per day which is reasonable for the DC area. Locating the garage was difficult prior to checking in, but the staff provided a good map and good directions. We would definitely return to this hotel. Definitely one of the top Hampton Inns that we have stayed at within the past 5 years.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The speed of the elevators
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    250
    94
    39
    21
See reviews for
242
159
35
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollins, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

We stayed on a family Spring Break trip.

The location is super for visiting the DC area. The King St. Metro stop, which is co-located with the Amtrak station, is only one block away. It's a very quick trip to downtown DC via the Metro.

The hotel itself is clean and safe, and in a very nice area. The hotel is relatively new, and the rooms are OK.

There are plenty of good restaurants nearby througout Old Town.

The parking is a slight hassle, with a $10 daily charge and the garage is a little cramped. But in my experience, it's not unreasonable for such an urban area.

We will definitely stay again during our next visit to DC.

  • Liked — Proximity to the Metro
  • Disliked — Parking (minor hassle)
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank global-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

It's no wonder I've come to trust and rely on Hampton Inns for a quality stay wherever I go. This Hampton Inn was great. You can't ask for a better hotel at a fair price in Old Town Alexandria which is a block from the Metro station and within walking distance to most of what Alexandria has to offer.

We came to Alexandria for both the waterfront festival and to take our kids to see D.C. so the hotel was centrally located for both endeavors. The hotel staff was friendly, our room was clean, the pool was inviting and the hotel has safe parking (for $10/night extra) in their own basement.

Not a single gripe. Thanks Hampton Inn Old Town Alexandria, we'll be back!

(Little tip: When arriving at the hotel, go around back to Dechantal Street to use the garage because pulling up in front of the hotel on King St is nearly impossible due to traffic).

  • Liked — Convenient location to Metro/Old Town sites.
  • Disliked — Nothing, the hotel was wonderful!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Slapshot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

Very nice staff, and very clean rooms. Bedding was new and comfortable and a little on the firm side, which I prefer. The hotel is very convenient to all points in Alexandria and DC, given the King Street Metro right outside. Many restaurants around 3-4 blocks away, but the best dining bet is the Whole Foods Market just around the corner - especially for a quick and healthy meal. Only complaint is that the workout room is just that, a room (tiny), with a couple of cardio machines. If that's not an issue for you, then this is a great hotel. 4 out of 5 stars.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, service
  • Disliked — Workout facility
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pb650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

They messed up our reservation! We were schedule to stay there in May 2008 from Thursday through Saturday during the weekend of our daughter's wedding. I called the night before and they told me they only had us booked for Fri and Sat, and only 2 rooms instead of the 3 we had booked! When I asked if they had anything available for Thursday night the person said they only had one room, and the price would be over $100.00 more than our original reservation for that Thursday night, since the Friday and Saturday rates were lower. Plus, the person made no apology and acted like it was no big deal. Oh, we also had a confirmation number and the name of the person we made the reservation with, since we had called the hotel directly, but that didn't matter. It's obvious that our reservation for Thursday was bumped so they could get more money for that night...or they may have overbooked in the first place. I had been a fan of Hampton Inns, but never again. We travel a great deal, and we will spread the word about this horrible service. Thankfully we were able to find another hotel at the last minute.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2008

My wife and I spent a long weekend here during the Cherry Blossom festival in Washington and had a great stay. The hotel is in the Old Town area of Alexandria and the design is in keeping with the old buildings in Alexandria, adding to our enjoyment. The interior of the hotel is also in keeping with the period. Our room with a king-size bed was large and very comfortable. Everything was very clean. Our room was very quiet even though it overlooked the main street.

Breakfast was standard Hampton Inn quality and included several waffle makers. Even though the hotel was full, everything was kept replenished and clean by several attendants on duty. They really did a great job.

As previous writers said, the Metro is just two short blocks away, wonderful for anyone touring Washington. This was so convenient we never took our car out of the hotel garage during our stay. There is a Metro store within walking distance of the hotel (about four blocks) where all kinds of transit passes can be purchased.

There are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (four to six blocks) and many more in the waterfront area (about a mile from the hotel.) We used the free trolley shuttle which travels up and down King Street to get to this area.

All of the staff at the hotel were wonderful. They were very knowledgable about restaurants in Alexandria, Metro information and which stops to use in Washington, and gave us maps of both Alexandria and the Metro system.

The only problem we had was a very weak wireless Internet signal from our room, which kept disconnecting us. And there was no wired connection to our room. We had to take our laptop to the lobby to get an adequate signal. One of the staff said they were aware this was sometimes a problem with some rooms.

We truly had a great stay here. Not only would we stay here again, we definitely would recommend it to our friends.

  • Liked — Almost everything was wonderful.
  • Disliked — Poor Internet signal from our room.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank like2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2008

This hotel is in a great area, and it's one of the nicer Hamptons. My room was surprisingly a suite. I usually sleep fine in hotels, but not at this one! I constantly heard noises above me and there was a super loud garbage pickup at 7am right outside my window. I looked out later when I heard more noise, and there was an 18-wheeler out there. Even later, I saw another garbage pickup. I guess it's maybe the bad side of the hotel to be on.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank steidla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Address: 1616 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing