We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This Hampton Inn was less expensive than the one by National Harbor and had free parking. The shuttle service to Old Town was good and we didn't have to wait long either going or coming back to the hotel. I would definitely stay there again when visiting the Washington DC area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    264
    96
    43
    22
See reviews for
263
170
37
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

An easy 1 1/2 block walk from King street Metro stop. Updated lobby with good breakfast. Easy to visit all the Alexandria sights as it is right on King St, and free trolley goes by the door. quick to metro for DC touring access. Rooms are a somewhat dated but spacious and clean. Lobby has been updated. Have stayed here twice on business trips to Alexandria and DC and prefer it to the boutiques hotels nearby with really tiny rooms

Room Tip: Google a map of address, since Alexandria streets are older and have diagonal streets which can conf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamison, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay while visiting Alexandria and Washington DC. Great location and covered parking. The breakfast was very good each morning and the room was very quiet. Staff most helpful. We would certainly stay here again when visiting the area .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We wanted to do some sightseeing in Washington DC and this hotel was onlt 400 metres from the Metro station, where we could get the train to Smithsonion to begin our tour of the DC sights.
We were pleasantly surprised with the efficient welcome we received and the room was just ideal for what we wanted.
As we had a car we wanted to use the hotel's underground car park ($15 per day) but finding it was not as simple as the diagramatic map seemed to show.
The breakfast was adequate and had good variety to suit a plethora of needs and diets.
This is an ideal hotel to choose when visiting Washington DC and we will certainly use it again whenever we are in the area.
One small niggle, which wasn't the hotel's fault, was the State, Tourist and other taxes levied on our bill. Do the authorities want to frighten away tourists?

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel and the noise from aircraft using nearby Ronald Reagan Nation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Hampton Inn-King Street while on a recent visit to Washington D.C. The hotel is a quick walk from the Metro station. Our room was large, clean and comfortable and located on the 4th floor facing King Street. No street noise. We asked for a mini fridge and microwave which was immediately brought to us. The free internet service was convenient. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful - as a light eater I had fresh fruit and greek yoghurt. I also liked the warm cookies in the evening. King Street is a fun place to walk and see the shops. For this reason and the close proximity to the Metro, we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank wiki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siler City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great place to stay in Alexandria. On King Street convenient to everything. Within one block of Metro station and bus service. Highly recommend this Hampton Inn to Washington, DC visitors. Hotel was very clean, staff very friendly and helpful with directions to local attractions. Continental breakfast is one of the best at any Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle Park, NJ, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel was very nice and not difficult to find, The parking garage was really made for smaller cars and was difficult to maneuver in. The tv had been unplugged when we arrived and the remote was difficult to use and difficult to understand the use of it. Also the amount of taxes charged on a one night stay was exhorbitant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,399 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,250 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Property: Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Address: 1616 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing