We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near a Metro stop, which is only two stations from DCA. In addition, there are many restaurant options in the area. The trolley runs regularly, and you could even safely walk to the port. The rooms have the bare minimum furnishings, and most is dated. You have to request a refrigerator, and there are no microwaves in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Selected this hotel because of its proximity to the metro...only 2 blocks from metro to hotel and only two stops to National Airport. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Nice having a hot breakfast each morning...for free.
King Street has lots of different restaurants...different cuisines, different prices and different qualities. Trolly runs on King St from the metro to the waterfront. It stops in front of the hotel. Unfortunately it is sometimes full but the walk is not bad. You can usually get on at the metro and the waterfront where it begins and ends.
Hotel staff is nice and helpful...we really enjoyed our stay. The elevator worked quickly and efficiently during our whole stay (I only say this because prior comments found otherwise). Our room was cleaned daily and hotel appeared to be clean...even offered fruit in the breakfast area all day...cookies baked in the afternoon.
Final note, there is a Whole Foods a few blocks away and they have a nice buffets of hot and cold food as an alternative to restaurant.

Room Tip: King room was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The service was very good. No problem with arrival. The rooms are clean. We had a suite which was very comfortable. The breakfast area was clean and kept well stocked. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Leonard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The location of the hotel is so convenient. Staff was fine. Hotel could have been a little cleaner. Beds comfortable. Elevators very slow and unresponsive and parking really had tiny spaces for our big car. Over all the accommodations were adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I must admit- I read some of these reviews and totally freaked out before I went....but really- there was not reason to freak out. I even called the hotel and spoke with JP- he assured me that all would be fine and he was right!
YES the hotel is not new or fancy- but we had NO issue with it...
YES the breakfast was nothing special-but it was warm, fresh, ready each morning- and it was FREE people! (so no complaints!!!)
The rooms were not fancy- but we fit a family of five in...it was "tight" but it worked- and we did not spend much time there are all....we were too busy enjoying DC.
SPEAKING of DC- getting there was a snap- because this hotel was SO close to the metro- we did not need the shuttle to get to the metro- we just walked about a block or 2! EASY!!!!!
The location had the added bonus of being so close to a bunch of places to eat!

SO if you are a family or a couple or a single person looking for a simple place to stay- so NOT bothered by the review on this site....everyone is certainly allowed to have an opinion, but really this place was just fine.....not to pricey (for the area), clean, easy and the people were fine....

JP was extra nice and even helped us get tickets to a baseball game (tickets are SO cheap BTW..and park was easy to get to...highly recommend!)

This hotel will probably make most people happy...unless you like or need it to be fancy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Motherof3brats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A great place to stay. Alexandria is a wonderful place to walk around, so many shops and restaurants. Hampton Inn took care of our problems promptly. The cost of parking is too high though, I feel. There were many additional taxes added to the final bill that we did not know were coming. The food was great and everything went well. We stayed 3 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife & I and another couple stayed 2 nights. All the staff that we encountered could not be more courteous or helpful. The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn, good and predictable. The lobby and rooms were clean and comfortable. Now comes the "But" part. The A/C didn't work properly either night. It got so hot in the room that even throwing off the comforter and sheet, it was almost like the heat was on. Mentioned the issue to the front desk and they dispatched the handyman to correct. It appeared to have been corrected at first. However, during the night the A/C never came on and we had the same problem again. Would we go back again. Yes we would as I understand the manager had an outside company come in to fix the problem. So that's why I only gave a 2 to Sleep Quality instead of a 5.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOwl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,478 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,309 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Address: 1616 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £107 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing