We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and Quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Comfy and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel was chosen for it's price and location and it turned out to be better than expected. Most hotels are not this quiet, so I was pleasantly surprised!
The room was clean, bed was comfortable and amenities were great.
I was located very near the train station which was convenient, plus I didn't hear the trains from my room. Also within walking to restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    456
    137
    47
    25
See reviews for
290
327
88
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Chose the hotel based on location, price and expected experience from Hilton brand. The hotel "delivered" on all three categories. The hotel is an easy walk to the Metro and Amtrak facilities @ King Street, yet surprisingly quiet inside the room. Also, a nice walk to the Old Alexandria shopping district. My wife and I had a pleasant two-night stay in November 2013. We expect to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville,Md., United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

$200+ for this peanut room !! I get a better room at a Best Western and pay $40 a night .no parking fee, no city taxes ! Not the Hilton quality I expected to find ! No Breakfast ! ...Not even a microwave in the room !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that you were unhappy with the value of your stay.

There are packages available that include some of the items that you write about, which may create a greater value for your needs.

Thanks for the opportunity to address your concerns, We hope to be of service to you again.

Best Regards,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Got in very early room was available. Staff as always eager to please I enjoy folks knowing my name when I check in and being eager to make the stay the best it can be. Best hotel in Old Town. Definitely my preferred address while visiting DC easy access to metro.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel, and for the Excellent Review!

Thank you for the kind words about our staff; they will be pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Awesome stay! Very nice location next to the Metro station and across the street from joe theismann's. We had a great dinner there. Room service in the morning was great. A little expensive for breakfast.

Room Tip: Eat at joe theismann's across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJmustangTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel, and for the Excellent Review!

We were pleased to learn that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Excellent hotel, superb service, strategic location convenient to Washington, DC, Alexandria, VA and US government offices and military installations. Location and easy access to multi-media transportation, as well as reasonable prices should make any comptroller happy. Facility should please anyone on business travel, or on holiday. Service provided was top rung.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel, and for the Excellent Review!

Thank you for the kind words about our staff; they will be pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

As the title says, the only thing to recommend this hotel is it's location in Old Town Alexandria. If you're not familiar with the area, it is a charming section of Alexandria with great unique shopping and some really wonderful restaurants all within walking distance of this hotel. I was booked in because of a meeting being held there. Now the not so good part of the review.

First, don't ever eat at the restaurant in the hotel. Unfortunately, others in for the meeting had already chosen to eat dinner the first night at the hotel so although I had previous experience, i choose networking to fine dining. I ordered a crab cake entree thinking that any restaurant within shouting distance of the Chesapeake Bay would be able to make at least an edible one. Wrong! What came was the consistency of uncooked poultry stuffing with nothing that looked, tasted or even had the mouthfeel of crab in it. It sat in a pool of some spicy sauce and was covered by watercress that had been soaked in a vinaigrette that only added to the unpleasant consistency of the cake. The experience was even further ruined by the smell of rotten fish that wafted from the kitchen as the entrees we ordered were prepared. Luckily no one at our table became ill but the smell was so strong I was ready to return my dinner uneaten.

Second, in order to have WiFi access in the room, i had to pay $25.00 for the two night one day stay. A little pricey had it worked. I got to the room and after many attempts, i had to call ATT for assistance even getting my iPad connected - and I'm not a novice in the internet world. It remained connected long enough for me to check email then it was dropped. After that, I was totally unsuccessful in reconnecting despite the assurances of the ATT rep that it would remain connected even if I turned it off or left the room. The second evening I decided to just go down to the lobby where there was complimentary WiFi and hook up- unsuccessful there also. At least I got the $25 refunded and could use my iPhone with 4G to get connected.

I was exhausted after the meeting and everyone else had left so I decided I'd just sit in the bar and eat "pub grub" for dinner - how bad could it be? After waiting for over 20 minutes for anyone to even acknowledge my existence and asking twice for service, I got an over priced glass of wine and a flatbread pizza that had been taken out of the freezer and run thru something to heat the edges. Really! the cheese was still congealed on the center of the flatbread even though it was vaguely warm.

Reception on the TV was spotty and the room was showing its age. All in all one of the worst two day experiences I've had in all my travels in the last 10 years. If you want stay in Old Town and can't find anywhere else in your price range ($240 senior rate) then stay here but just for the location.

Room Tip: Don't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alysson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear that there were several areas in which we failed to meet your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies. I have shared your comments with our leadership team so that improvements may be made.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your concerns. Your experience was not a typical one, and we hope to have the opportunity to better demonstrate the abilities of our staff and facility.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Property: Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Address: 1767 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing