We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would stay there again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is VERY convenient to Metro, VRE, & Amtrak, sitting diagonally across the street. Upon arrival, I was greeted with a smile, offered complimentary water for my HHonors Gold status, and directed to the elevators. My room was more than adequate for my needs. Not much of a view as the building structure is closed in, but I wasn't there for the view. Check-out was just as proficient as check-in. Excellent room rate for a Sunday night.

Room Tip: If view means anything to you, ask for one facing out towards the street instead of the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    468
    138
    48
    25
See reviews for
302
334
89
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nr Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I had a number of meetings in Alexandria as well as DC, and, as a Diamond Hilton member, this seemed a natural choice, given its location, and the fact that it seemed a full service Hilton. It was a sad disappointment, however.

For a spacious property in a desirable downtown location, I was astonished that it lacked an executive lounge. More than that, I had to argue to get just about any of the benefits that as a top tier member I should be able to take for granted. No robe in my room or water. On asking I was curtly told that they didn't do robes, despite the homepage stating the opposite. When I mentioned this again the next morning I was told that, in fact, they DID do robes, but only if requested. When I pointed out that I had requested, I got a shrug of shoulders.

The breakfast was good - a highlight - but the other food service was disappointing. The staff seemed unmotivated, and the general feel was that this barely counts as a full service Hilton any more. If it was sold, to be, say, a Holiday Inn Express, one could easily believe it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Traveled to DC for a meeting. Over a foot of snow was expected on the last day of meeting, but hotel did a great job of checking us out and helping us get meeting attendees out to the airports. Good experience. Not my first time here and evrytime I come, I enjoy my stay with a few exceptions. Love the King Street area. Plenty to do even if it snows and they don't shut down the city. :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Miss_CC_from_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel.

We were very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for the Excellent rating!.

We look forward to serving you again in the future,

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Hilton was a great place to catch the Metro, Buses, Trolley and Amtrack for all of our transportation needs. It was close to restaurants and easy acces to sights of the cities. The accomodations were adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazinkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel.

We were very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay, and that our location was perfect for you. Thank you for the Excellent rating!.

We look forward to serving you again in the future,

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton in Old Town Alexandria. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic, with so many boutiques, restaurants and small shops close by. Transportation was easy to access in any form. Overall a grand experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel.

We were very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for the Excellent rating, and for the kind words about our staff.

We look forward to serving you again in the future,

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deinze, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel is very well situated as for business people who also like some atmosphere. King Street is very nice with plenty of nice restaurants and pubs to spend a happy hour or quick dinner.

The hotel is very clean, efficient, rooms are more than sufficient and very friendly receptionist staff, the Starbucks in the lobby is very nice for your excellent morning coffee.

Restaurant and bar area are a bit gloomy and saddened atmosphere. The evening bartender is more interesting in female guests than others but that's life I suppose. You got your order and that was it.

Wifi only worked in the lobby and completely not in my room but the morning receptionist was very kind and waived the wifi costs for all the trouble I experienced.

Housekeeping and cleaning of the room was one of the worst I ever experienced. Empty glasses were not removed, trashcans not emptied and so on.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

excellent location near restaurnatrs, etc...very helpful staff and clean faciltiy. Food was very ggod, concierge very knowledgeable and access to local Metro and Trolley a real plus. The only thing I would like to have seen was a swimming pool/spa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel.

We were very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for the Excellent rating, and for the kind words about our staff.

We look forward to serving you again in the future,

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Property: Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Address: 1767 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing