We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is located at the top of King Street which places you ready to stroll down the street and see all Old Town has to offer plus you are across the street from the Metro stop which gives you access to a quick train ride into DC or Regan airport or us it as an Amtrak stop. The hotel is large but the staff are very friendly, helpful and treats you like you are in a small boutique hotel. The rooms are very quiet and clean.

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing into the courtyard and it was very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    468
    138
    47
    25
See reviews for
299
333
89
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is lovely, the staff are friendly and welcoming and the location is convenient, but I can't get over paying $35 to park overnight and that's in addition to having to pay for the internet service in the room. The breakfast was very nice, omelets made to order, pancakes, etc. If you're in Old Towne Alexandria, it's a good location. You can walk to many shops and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location, near Metro to DC. Quiet area, clean and comfortable rooms. Just beware of pricey hotel parking rates. The location is very convenient if you're there to visit Washington DC. The Metro station is a very close walk. There's a free trolley down King Street to visit Old Towne. Hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. There's a Starbuck's in the lobby, Dunkin Donuts across the street,

Room Tip: just be aware there is a metro line, so rooms right near it may have additional noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stay anywhere but here. Hilton is not what it used to be. The front desk is manned by manequins, nasty ones at that. Very poor service, the food is even worse. The kitchen staff ought to be arrested for impersonating a real "wait staff". The rooms are of very poor quality, they smell like mildew, dark and dank. The "housekeeping" staff must be spread really thin, Casper was more visible. Also, how do you get a drink in the bar?? Who waits on you? who manages this "hotel"? If anyone. They must be saving money on towels and sheets, you are given only enough to cover the barest of minimums and the shortest of stay. If you are not interested in making people feel at home, why do you open the place? Absolutely the worst hotel experience of my life. Poor representation of a once proud name in the hotel business. Hilton use to mean quality, today it must represent poor quality, poor presentation, poor help, poor food, and just a general poor approach to the hotel/motel business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel.

I'm sorry that your stay was not more enjoyable - please accept our apologies for the areas that we did not meet your expectations.

Your experience was not a typical one; we hope to have the opportunity to be of service again and to better demonstrate the abilities of our staff and facility.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is my second time staying at this Hilton property. It is located in beautiful Old-Town Alexandria and only steps away from the Metro - which is a real plus if you want to be able to stay in a fabulous area with a cool atmosphere and plenty of walkable shops and restaurants.

The rooms a well-insulated against the sound of the nearby metro. I was amazed how I could not hear them. There is ample underground parking. The morning breakfast is incredible, cooked to order, and served very well.

I would give this hilton five stars except for the very slow housekeeping staff. They seem disinterested and agitated at their work. When they do show up in the room (which can be as late as 5 pm), they move in an out quickly - oftentimes forgetting basic tasks (water glasses, tissue paper, etc.).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Hall_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights. I combined a work trip with a mini vacation. The location is perfect. Across the street from the Metro to go to DC to site see and right on King St to walk to shops and great dining options. The trolly was an option as well to go a little further to the waterfront. We had a great time. Old Town is truly a delightful place to visit and I highly recommend the Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel.

We were very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for the Excellent rating, and for the kind words about our staff.

We look forward to serving you again in the future,

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My Wife and I traveled to Alexandria for a large group function. There where approximately 100 of us in the group and the hotel knew well in advance that we would all be staying there. On arrival I was informed that just to park my car for 2 Days would cost me $70.00. I already was not happy. After check-in we dropped our bag in the room and went to the Hotel bar to meet the group, that's where things started to go down Hill. There where maybe 20 people at the Bar, The staff behind the Bar had no idea how to tend Bar or use the POS system for that fact. We waited 45 minutes to get a Drink and another 20 minutes for them to figure out how to ring them up. This happened to everyone there. The event staff reported the problem and was promised it would be resolved, It was not. Our First room was located 20 ft from the Train platform where the Trains start and stop every 5 minutes. After a night of no sleep In a full size (not queen or King) we demanded another room on the back side of the Hotel. We went for breakfast that was disappointing at best. After we all went to a Ceremony we came back to the Hotel bar for a Cocktail. This time only 1 person behind the Bar (not even a Bartender) Could not get served again, Had no Cash drawer to make change. We complained to the night manager (who was also incompetent) Her answer to the problem after standing there for 30 min was to close the Bar. We went to a group buffet omelet breakfast where the person at the Omelet station could neither speak English of understand it. Needless to say she could not understand an order, To sum it all up is very easy 1. Ridiculous parking rates.2 very noisy due to location. 3 Sub par food 4 A Management staff who not only are Incompetent, But do not care about their Staff or it's Guests. Oh Yea I forgot the best part, I was Shaken down by a Bum right outside the main entrance. I do Not Recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel.

I'm sorry that your stay was not more enjoyable - please accept our apologies for the areas that we did not meet your expectations.

Your experience was not a typical one; we hope to have the opportunity to be of service again and to better demonstrate the abilities of our staff and facility.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
1,200 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Property: Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Address: 1767 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing