We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$222
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$226
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$275
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$217
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$127
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$255
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveller rating
466
240
71
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
240
71
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhole foodstwo blocksking streetold townfull kitchenone bedroom suitemetro stationwafflesdc areagrocery shoppingstove topfree breakfastmile radiusthree blocksfree shuttlehotel shuttleshops and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 792 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is the best! We arrived early and were warmly greeted and given our room without any problem. The staff was so friendly, especially Mike Wilson, the general manager. We were treated to a special Thanksgiving dinner with turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, cranberry sauce, green beans. roll and pumpkin pie our first night there. Mike remembered our name, even though we only chatted for a few minutes as he brought us glasses of complimentary wine and pumpkin pie after this spectacular dinner! Our room was spacious, and more importantly, very clean. Housekeeping gave us extra coffee upon request for our stay. It was raining, so the free shuttle van took us to the metro station a block or so away. This is the only place we would stay when we are in Alexandria.

Room Tip: We had a room that was sort of facing a courtyard area and not the street, so it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for the review and kind words about our hotel. I enjoyed meeting you both during our Home Away from Home Thanksgiving Dinner. A tradition that started when we fed troops staying with us while on deployment has lasted now for 10 years!

Your review is very special to me personally. Please let me know when you will stay with us again. I would love the chance to say hello to you again.

Have a great and safe holiday season,

M. Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I would have rated this hotel higher if it were not for the lack of any environmental awareness of hotel and its employees.

At breakfast plastic cups and bowls are omnipresent while porcelain ones are either placed in a corner (away from where one would need it) or "not available at the moment as they are being washed". Looks like the hotel is cutting cost and incentives are in place for servers to simply throw plastic away rather than washing dishes. Makes for a cheap breakfast experience.

One more re breakfast...staff also pretends to not know the difference between OJ from concentrate and real OJ...

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Blanko_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Blanko_NYC

Thank you for your review of our hotel and the feedback regarding our breakfast. I enjoyed corresponding with you via email over the weekend.

Environmental awareness is very important to us and we look for any opportunity to improve our footprint. We are pleased to provide a limited amount of plasticware at breakfast for the guests that are in a rush and need to quickly take breakfast with them. We realize this is not ideal in environmental terms, however we feel we must serve the needs of the guests on the go as well. We commit to use a very small amount of plasticware for the reasons you state. The use of plasticware is actually an increase in costs unfortunately.

Thank you for pointing out an opportunity to train our associates on orange juice. Our new state of the art juice dispensers are clean and efficient and I will make sure our team is able to properly describe the differences between our breakfast offering and the offerings of some restaurants.

I hope you and your family had an enjoyable holiday. Thank you for staying with us. Please email me before your next stay, I would love a chance to meet you personally.

Best,

M. Wilson
General Manager

*Since you and I share a desire to think environmentally, we are excited to inform our guests that we participate in a program called 'Clean the World'. This program allows us to donate unused soap, shampoo, lotions and conditioners to be re-sanitized and re-conditioned for distribution in developing nations. Our hotel absorbs the costs of the program in an effort to remove the plastic waste from our landfills and tend to the sanitizing needs of children in several countries including El Salvador, Haiti, Guatemala, the Dominican Republic and Honduras. Incidentally, these countries are represented by many of our associates. We are excited to learn that our efforts have provided 2,688 bars of soap and 687 bottles of shampoo to children who would otherwise receive nothing to help keep themselves clean. www.cleantheworld.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed for just one night, and the hotel was simply okay.

PROS:
-The rooms were spacious with a living room and kitchen in addition to the bedroom.
-The staff was pretty friendly and gave us directions.
-I was there the week of Thanksgiving so there was a free Thanksgiving dinner (which I did not attend), free breakfast, and the receptionist gave us a free snack bag.
-The location is in walking distance of shops & cafes - but then again, so is everything else in Alexandria.

CONS:
-No DVD Player
-The rooms and hallway smelled like dog
-We got a deal on our room, but otherwise the prices were not reasonable for what you got.
-Internet was slow and it took awhile to actually get connected

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Good Day Jessica A. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences from your stay here at our Hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious suites and friendly team, however, am dissapointed you could not join us for our annual Thanksgiving dinner. Marriott Residence Inn as a brand is pet friendly and we often times have many four-legged guests in our Hotel so I do apologize if you experienced any odor from that. Also, we are working with our technology team at Marriott in order to find a better solution for our guests.

Thank you so much again for taking the time to share your comments and we hope you will join us again in the future.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

What keeps this review from being a 4 instead of a three are a couple of things. First the hot water. Tepid warm is not hot enough. Second, the cost of parking. $18.00 a day for an $83.00 a day room is too much. Third, breakfast. The only thing worse than hotel biscuits is no biscuits at all. And what is with TURKEY Canadian bacon. Let's not even talk about the eggs.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Good Day Durard. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay here at our Hotel. We make our goal for each of our guests to have a pleasant comfortable stay. However, in this instance it sounds as though we fell short of meeting that goal for which I do apologize. I have engaged both our Engineering Team and F&B staff in order to address the concerns you had with both the hot water as well as our complementary morning breakfast.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences and please be assured we will be working to address these issues.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We just returned from an 11 day stay at your wonderful hotel. The friendly staff went above and beyond to help make our stay comfortable. Having the hotel shuttle for short trips to nearby eateries and the metro was invaluable for getting around in a wheelchair. We were very pleased with everything about our stay and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hi Cathy B. Thank you so very much for taking time to provide such great feedback from your recent stay here with us in Old-Town Alexandria. We are so pleased you were able to take advantage of our Hotel shuttle to explore the immediate area including all of the great local restaurants here in Old-Town. Also, I am glad that the Metro system made travel in and around Washington D.C. with the wheelchair access they provide.

Again, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next year.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews