We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base camp for exploring DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
363 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great base camp for exploring DC”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 4 nights here while visiting the DC area. It was a great family hotel with an excellent location to the metro for easy city access. We especially appreciated the manager reception along with the shuttle that helped us with rides in the rain. Its a great location to explore Old Town as well. We'll certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jelmutiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    223
    68
    10
    5
See reviews for
286
174
39
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was very pleased with my 4 night stay at this hotel. The staff was really friendly and the hot breakfast was awesome too and it is free!!! I was traveling for my MBA graduation and I was glad to be able to be near restaurants, a grocery store, and shopping. The shuttle bus will take you anywhere within a 1 mile radius if you need to be dropped off or pick up groceries. The room was really nice and clean and I will look forward to staying here again if I am ever in the DC area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaToya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

As a family traveling with four kids, we have found it very challenging to reserve a handicapped hotel room that will accommodate our entire family. Not only did this hotel meet our requirements, but they exceeded our expectations at every turn. The meals, the staff, everything was top notch. We were pleased that the hotel even provided for a handicapped taxi to shuttle my husband back and forth from the Metro, since their shuttle was unable to accommodate his motorized wheelchair, although when the weather is pleasant, the Metro is also within easy walking distance from the hotel. The area has plenty of eating options, and there is a Whole Foods within walking distance. Within a few blocks, you can ride the King Street trolley for free to many eating places and even down for a walk along the Potomac. Parking is a little cramped in the garage, but we did appreciate a covered area to unload our vehicle. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here 2 nights for a graduation in a 1 bedroom with a pullout. Pros: Nice location, though a bit of a walk to the metro. Close to Whole Foods. Parking is indoors and secure. Cons: The 'hot' aspect of breakfast is poor. Even the oatmeal was lousy.....they failed to put enough water in the container and the oatmeal was dry and uneatable. Parking is expensive. Our unit had a few problems. The dishwasher was not secured to the granite top...both screws had pulled out. So when you opened the dishwasher door, the unit tilted forward.....an accident waiting to happen. Front desk folks are friendly but inexperienced They are great with 'have a great day' but not good at getting things done. We advised that we did not need housekeeping for security reasons, but while we were out, they came in and did in anyway. They also would not 'hold' the shuttle for us 5 minutes to come down the elevator to the lobby to go to dinner so we had to wait 20 minutes for it to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglandtravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

horrible and rude staff was promised things that never happened the housekeepers left things in our room that werent ours for example trash also did a horrible job cleaning our room very dissappointed with my stay at this hotel!! when we called for towels they were rude saying oh we will get to when we can so disappointed usually stay at marriotts but this one was a horrible experience!!!

Room Tip: suites are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlygirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike w, Marriott Leader at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review - we value all feedback. It seems your experience was definitely less than what we promised. We would appreciate a chance to speak with you about what room you stayed in so we can properly address this training opportunity. Regardless we will share your overall comments with the team so that we may improve.

We can be reached at 703-548-5474.

Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for our failures.

- The Team at the Residence Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this Residence Inn for leisure over Memorial Day weekend. The main reason we chose this hotel was the location and value.

Pros:
-Breakfast. The best thing about this hotel is probably the free breakfast. There are a myriad of options both hot and cold. There is a large breakfast room. The staff are also very attentive, probably more attentive than those at hotels with a full service breakfast you pay for.
-Location. Probably the second best thing about this hotel is the location. It is an easy two-ish block walk to the Metro stop in one direction, and the same distance from the main strip in Alexandria.
-Free Wifi. Shame it has to be said, but it is a pro.
-Room Size. The room, even if just the studio, is plenty large for two people.

Cons:
-Check-in. We checked in at about 12 midnight. The night auditor was very rude. Offered no greeting, basically a "what do you want" mentality. Gave no information about breakfast, internet or the like. Basically just said: Name? ID & Credit Card? Your room is ___. Sign this (rudely hands over a slip of paper with an anti-partying policy). We had reserved two one-bedroom suites, but found two studios instead. We decided to just deal rather than try to go through him. This would have been averted if he would have offered a summary of the room.
-Furnishings. The bed is adequately comfortable. But the pictures of the rooms on the website or not likely to be found as an accurate portrayal of the room you will actually receive. The room is beginning to age and show wear. For example our rolling chair had a tear in the vinyl, the carpet had obvious traffic wear and the appliances must have been original.
-Parking. It is a little bit ridiculous to charge $22 per night to park. I understand that metropolitan cities have parking shortages...but not Alexandria...and not the edge of Old Town. During the week you may not have much choice, but on the weekend park at 1600 Duke Street. It is right next to the hotel and is free after 4pm Friday through the weekend & Free on government holidays. So our Friday night arrival/memorial day departure, we parked there and it saved $66.

Overall this hotel is a good selection to use as a base for Washington while still being in Old Town. We will probably not return unless it undergoes a rehab or we get a terrific rate.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better I would say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank telamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The staff was very attentive and helpful with metro accessing to many locations in DC a short 20 minute metro ride. . The breakfast provided was excellent. Eggs, meat, potato, fruit, waffles and toppings, juice, coffee, even soda was available. Our room had a mini kitchen which was stocked with all needed dishes and utensil and very roomy. . A Whole Foods is just a short walk away for all your food needs if you decided to cook in one evening. Metro is 2 blocks away and old town a good walk or can take the city free trolley, we chose to walk and shop our way to the water front. .We defiantly will stay her again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annette t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,368 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,227 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing