We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent value for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Penfield
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An excellent value for the location”
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Found this to be a truly outstanding property with great facilities, (including the fitness center and pool) and a great staff. The hotel is well situated near the Metro and Old Town and is clean, modern, and well maintained. The daily breakfast offers something for everyone and from Monday to Thursday, the hotel hosts a reception which provides the equivalent of a dinner with drinks. The only negative is the $15 daily charge for parking, which given the area, I suppose is to be expected. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sid2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    226
    68
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
175
40
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

I stayed at the Residence Inn for 4 nights around the Inaguration. Despite being at capacity, we got the room we requested (a one bedroom suite on a high floor away from the elevator). The room was huge, with 2 flat screen TVs and a really nice side kitchen with a full size fridge, 2 burner cooktop and sink and dishwasher.

The hotel is about a 5 walk (3 blocks) to the metro stop (King Street Station). It's not that far, but it was about 19 degrees outside when we went so it was a pretty chilly walk. There is a Hilton and an Embassy Suites closer to the metro station BUT some of the rooms are actually right next to the metro line, so we thought it might be kind of noisy. I prefer the location of the Residence Inn since it was close enough to easily get to the metro stop, but not so close that it might keep you up at night!

The Whole Foods is about a block away which was nice. I went to La Porta's (the restaurant next door) for lunch one day and it was good, a little pricey, but good quality food.

I would definitely stay here again, it only took about 10-15 minutes on the metro to get into downtown DC, so easy!

  • Liked — room size, location
  • Disliked — beds were a little uncomfortable
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelJunkie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

My husband and I went to DC for my birthday in 2007, and we almost stayed in the heart of DC...until we read all the glowing reviews about the Residence Inn. We loved Alexandria, and the awesome hotel staff took us into town to eat and shop via the courtesy shuttle. We even walked to Whole Foods for wine and dessert and snacks! The train into DC was a little bit of a walk, but not too bad. The courtesy shuttle can take you to the station if you'd like. The dining room is great for breakfast, and one night we were so tired we had a perfectly fine free dinner! there, instead of going out to eat. It was a great touch to have monthly menus and activities posted in our room. Nice room, nice staff, nice location. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Amenities, room size, Alexandria location.
  • Disliked — A tad far to walk to the train station after a long day in DC.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KRC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Beautiful hotel, service and staff. Two city blocks to Metro DC subway. Old Town is beautiful section to go eat and stroll around.
This Residence Inn is awesome!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JenDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, FL
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This is a great property if you want to "do" DC and Old Town. Close to Metro and shuttle bus is a very nice feature to get to the bottom of King Street for the Old Town experience. The staff was excellent and very friendly. This is a very clean and comfortable property. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

My husband and I just came back from a two night stay at this hotel. The hotel was very nice and clean. Because the room has a kitchenette (which we really didn't use) it makes the room so much more spacious. The decor in our room was very updated and modern, the bed was soft and comfortable. The sink is outside of the bathroom which we like so that i can work on hair and makeup while my husband showers. The free breakfast bar was pretty normal, hot and cold food. The parking was nice as well, even for a $15 per night fee. In the case that you need any snacks, there is a Whole Foods grocery store about one block down. The metro is about a four block walk. The Old Town historic district is not a nice walk in the cold, i would say about 14 blocks. Nice stay, would stay again,.

  • Liked — clean, free food, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — parking fee
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SashaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We stayed here over a weekend for a friend's wedding. The price is very reasonable, particularly considering the large and comfortable rooms. The included breakfast was nice. The hotel is within walking distance of the Old Town Alexandria scene, and is very close to the metro.

So why only three stars? Because (for me, at least) the two necessities that trump everything else are 1) a comfortable bed; and 2) a nice hot shower. The hotel had the first of these necessities, but not the second. The first morning we were there, the hot water was only about 70 degrees. I called down to the front desk, and the desk clerk apologized and said that the engineering staff was working on it. He said that there should be hot water in "a few hours", then immediately corrected himself to say that it would only be about 20 minutes. Two hours later (when we absolutely had to clean up to go to the wedding) the water hadn't warmed up at all - by the time I finished showering, my fingernails were blue. The next morning, the hot water was better, but not great - when it was cranked as hot as it would go, it was just about body temperature.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,431 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,275 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing