We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Towne Motel Alexandria
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The bad: The outside of the hotel is a little run down and the room was pretty small for a family with children.

The good: The guy at the desk was very helpful. He gave us good directions, advice, looked up the metro fare for us, and let us leave our van in the lot at 10:00 on the morning before we checked in. The room was very clean and included coffee and a refrigerator, which was very convenient. The beds were also very good. At $110.00, it was a great value for the DC area. We were a 5 minute drive from Arlington National Cemetary and less than 10 from the mall in DC. There was a grocery store 3 blocks away, 7 blocks to the metro and less than a mile from Old Town in Alexandria. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to vacation on a budget and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dtjwnbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

Great service on arrival!

The exterior of the building was very old and a bit shabby in appearance, but inside, the room was great! The bathroom seemed new and the shower was very good. TV reception was good, also Wifi............free parking and the location was easy to find. The area had a lot of eateries to choose from. The trolley bus up and down King Street is free but we walked.
The pier at the end of King Street was pretty and a nice walk around. There was no breakfast included in the price ($120 through hotels.com) which I think is rather high. but it's only a few miles from Washington, so I can't remember what the other hotels were charging as we booked weeks or months ahead. Caution: we got into a one way only road (George Washington Memorial Parkway - with no turn offs) and ended up in Washington! Although it was nearly 10pm, we parked the car and walked a few blocks to Capitol Hill. It was lovely lit up at night. Once inside, we were escorted to The Gallery..... where we heard amendmends to proposed funding legislation being discussed. We were amazed that we gained entry at such a late hour! Great visit!

Room Tip: Book direct!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileenanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Finding an affordable place to stay in Alexandria in May was a challenge, but this little place fit the bill. Not much to look at on the outside, and it's on a semi-busy street, but the rooms, though small, are comfortable and well furnished, and street noise is minimal. The front-desk help was very accommodating. Best feature is the location, just a ten minute walk from Old Town Alexandria (far enough away to avoid the busloads of touring high school students), or from the Metro. Great breakfast place a block away, and a Starbucks just down the street. Exceptional value for this overpriced town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelguy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I stayed here with my parents Memorial Day weekend 2011 for $99 a night (I asked for a senior rate). Rooms were clean and fresh expect for dust. It looks like the hotel was just renovated, so other than the quick dusting it was a nice room, there is a coffee maker with free coffee, microwave and frige. I though it was quiet but my parents thought it was noisey. Outside it looks like it could use a good coat of paint and I imagine that is something the will do this summer. The fornt desk agent was super friendly and knowledgable and helpful, but I couldn't always find him, I think he must work there alone, and works there all the time. Parking is free, and is only about 6 blocks to the Braddack metro stop, about 1/2 an hour into DC. The is some shops near by, star bucks and a few convience stores if you needed to pick something up. We loved Pizza Pan a block away for both super and breakfast. King St. is about 8 blocks away, a nice safe walk through Old Town, where there is a Walgreens and a Whole Foods.

Room Tip: Ask for a discount and a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank salsalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank zabonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanclaudemartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark
2 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#23 of 54 in Alexandria
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
8.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Motel Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel Alexandria

Address: 808 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: £64 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Towne Motel Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Towne Motel is centrally located near some of Washington D.C.'S best sites such as The White House, Arlington National Cemetery, The Pentagon, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Convention Center, Georgetown University and Andrews Air Force Base. The Towne Motel offers guests FREE High-speed Wireless Internet access, In-Room Keurig K-Cup Coffee Makers, Refrigerator, Microwave, Hair dryer, Iron & board, Direct TV with Showtime and ESPN. Free Parking. All Non-Smoking rooms. Unfortunately, pets are not accepted at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Towne Motel Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towne Motel Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing