We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden treasure in the DC-area”

Huntley Meadows Park
Ranked #9 of 87 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure in the DC-area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

It's a fantastic park and the largest I think in Fairfax County. What I never realized was the local importance of the park in a historical context from the Revolutionary Days to the Civil War. The paths are great and the park is clean and accessible for all. Definitely a Fairfax treasure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerpsFan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    29
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great way to see wetland park. Always see animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I love coming to this park with my children. It provides a nice woodland path that leads to a boardwalk that provides you with a unique view of a vast wetland area. My children like it because you spot frogs, herons, turtles, fish, snakes--an easy way to see animals in the wild. The nature center is also worth a visit. The park has dedicated and well-informed volunteers that are also helpful. It is best to go in the summer or late spring when there is the most visible life in the wetlands.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnitafromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of Rt 1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I use to live in this area and Huntley Meadows was the only place for outdoor lovers around there. It has a great boardwalk over marshlands. Can be favorite for bird lovers and photographers. I've been numerous times and never encountered crowds.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
323 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A wonderful nature preserve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

a birders delight. A child's place to discover. A nice walk in the woods where everyone is friendly and you can feel comfortable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FormerChicagoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The park is a great trip with the family, a quick stroll into nature, or an afternoon of watching the wildlife. There are always lots of wildlife to view and it is fun to see how the beavers have changed the water flow.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank byteforbyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huntley Meadows Park also viewed

 

Been to Huntley Meadows Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing