We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who Knew Real Stars in Northern Virginia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Birchmere

The Birchmere
Ranked #1 of 11 Nightlife in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Who Knew Real Stars in Northern Virginia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Real stars come to Northern Virginia to the venue called the Birchmere. When the stars tour all over the country, we are included. It has a tendency to be LOUD. If you are sitting with a screamer, your ears will never be the same. I saw Ashford & Simpson and Taylor Hicks to name a few. The food is pub food and pretty good too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sassyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    100
    29
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome small music venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

What a wonderful experience! Despite some criticisms on another rating site about the seating process, it wasn't bad at all. We got to the box office at 5:20 for a 7:30 show, picked up our tix and line #, and waited in their large lounge area with a pitcher of beer and some chips. They have a nice gift shop, and plenty of tables to just hang out and talk to the people waiting around you. We saw one group of ladies playing cards. The calling of the line #'s and entering the musical hall was orderly. They started calling #'s at 6:00, we had # 86, entered the music hall about 6:15, and got two seats (it's open seating) in the last row, right in front of the sound board, but also directly in front of the stage. Even though we were in the last row, it was only about 25 seats between us and the stage. Once in the music hall, we passed the time waiting for the show by ordering food (and more beer) and talking to the others seated at our table. They have an extensive beer and drink selection, and a large dining menu. It's bar-type food, and food is ok. Chicken quesadillas were average; soft pretzel with crab dip was great. Service was a little slow, but polite. Prices are high both inside and outside the music hall - $27 for pitcher of beer and chips; $58 for another pitcher, pretzel, and quesadillas. Oh well, you're there to hear the music in small venue. And the concert sound was great! Don't know if it was the artist (Travis Tritt) or The Birchmere, but music wasn't too loud, which is rare these days at most venues. So volume was just right, and singer's voice and acoustic guitar sounded perfect. My ears actually didn't ring when leaving the show. Leaving the parking lot took about 5 minutes after the show, so that part was great too. Parking tip: park in back of the building (not by the front door), as there are more single parking spaces, so you don't have to worry about blocking someone in, or being blocked in. All in all, great experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ADK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Terrific venue presenting top notch entertainment primary music. Recently saw The Wooten Brothers and Arlo Guthrie perform. Small venue so there are really no bad seats and the sound system is very good. Tables fill up so you need to get there early to get the best seats, but all seats are close to the stage and have good sight lines. Food is ok if you decide to have dinner here but I wouldn't say it qualifies for "fine dining". It's over priced which is typical for this type of venue but the portions are good size. Drinks are reasonable and I'm always ready for a Guiness on tap. The servers don't bother you if you don't order much. We usually order a drink or two, grab dinner before the show at RT's just up the street, and have a really great time at the Birchmere. Lots of great shows coming up so check the calendar.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sk1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City
Level Contributor
269 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great music at the Birchmere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My family and I (wife + 14 year old son) went to a Southside Johnny at the Birchmere over the holidays and had a fantastic experience. The music was fantastic and the sound everything that you would expect from an intimate concert hall. While seemingly odd at first entry into the hall itself is quite democratic. If you want a good seat you'll need to be there around 5 or so to get in line. There were a hundred or so people ahead of us when we arrived at 5:15 and we were able to easily score a table 10 feet from the stage. One piece of advice though: Once you are in the hall claim your seat (nothing is reserved in advance) ASAP as many people hold seats for others and if you hesitate you might not get to sit where you like. It's not exactly a "free for all" but you do need to act fairly quickly. Taxis are not easy to find and the immediate area isn't the best so plan accordingly. At no time did we feel unsafe though. Walking to the show is pretty much out of the question from the adjoining tourist areas. We didn't eat but the food it looked pretty much like what you'd expect from a typical bar/pub. The beer was cold and reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StudioCityMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Listening Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

It's a four hour trip to The Birchmere from my home, so I don't get there as often as I would like. But I have made the trip several times to see and hear some of my favorite musicians when they perform there. If you are looking for a place where you can listen to the music, this is as good as it gets. The sound is great. And, the crowd is quiet -- everyone else is also enjoying the music instead of talking.

I like the convenience of having a venue that serves food. (and it's pretty good food, too!) Often, when going to a restaurant before a show, there is the worry of a slow service and having to rush to get to the music venue. At The Birchmere, you park once, order your meal, enjoy your food, and keep your seat as you wait for the show to begin.

Take a moment to look at all the photos of past performers posted on the walls near the rear of the space. It is an amazing display of talent and a real variety of music types and styles.

Every time I have been to The Birchmere it has been a good, and often memorable, experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank phonebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Birchmere also viewed

 

Been to The Birchmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing