We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very sweet stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host Travelers Motel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, MT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very sweet stay!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

If you think customer service does not exist you need to stay here. A simple, no frills mom & pops motel that does care about your experience at their motel and you impression of Alexandria! Came at the beginning of the heat wave to the DC area - WOW! Walked to the motel from the Metro - and survived the grueling heat and humidity. The next 2 times we were headed to the Metro they gave us a ride and would not accept a tip. This was a wonderful start to our DC trip - even though we only had one day in Alexandria and just needed a clean place to stay before we moved down the road to Capitol Hill. Thank you Budget Host Travelers - we were hot, but we had a fabulous trip!! Would definitively come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolHelena_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    49
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
32
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here 3 nights in April 2012. We rode our folding bikes (they are allowed on the Metro anytime) to the Huntington yellow line Metro Station and found it was close and easy to get to. The staff were friendly and helpful and had lots of suggestions for bike riding in the area. The room was clean and smell free. The breakfast was not fantastic but we picked up our own croissants in the city and their coffee is good. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackjann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I had a wonderful time here- I have never received such accommodating service in my life! My flight was delayed, so I didn't get into the motel until 3 am. They told me I could check out at 1 pm instead of 11, allowed me to leave my bag behind their desk while I ate lunch the following day! The rooms we're spacious and clean, free fast internet and the bed was SUPER comfortable!! And it's still cheaper than a lot of the places nearby! If I was a motel, I would date this motel!!! LOVE.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here while visiting Washington, D.C. While most everything in the reviews about this place was true, it does have room for improvement. Here are those areas:

1. Both mattresses in our room were completely worn out. The one closest to the bathroom sagged horribly in the middle while the one closest to the door angled down to the left (nightstand) side. This lead to everyone in the room getting a poor night's sleep each night.
2. Every time the occupants of the smoking room next door to our non-smoking room lit up a cigarette, we could smell it in our room. It was so strong, it would wake us from a deep sleep.
3. The walls between rooms are quite thin and we could hear the same smoking couple having sex. It wasn't particularly loud sex, just a low, rhythmic grunting. This also woke us from a deep sleep. Luckily, my children thought they were snoring.
4. There's no pen or pad of paper in the room to fill out the feedback card, so I didn't.
5. The feedback card is not postage paid, so I didn't bother to fill it out later and mail it to them once I did find a pen.
6. When told of the room problems, I was told to fill out the above card. I would have thought the desk help could have written down the issues for me instead.
7. The room door could only be completely closed or opened by me, a fully grown man. It required bashing it shut with my hip and yanking it open with both hands and all my weight. This could be a safety issue in a fire. The door or frame need to be planed down to overcome the interference fit between them.
8. The shower curtain had mildew on it on the back, bottom edge against the tub. My children thought it was gross, though it didn't bug me.

On the plus side, because it is so close to the river, this part of the neighborhood isn't scary (no foot traffic, no retail traffic). However, drive just a little ways down US-1 in the direction away from downtown Alexandria to the other nearby hotels and restaurants, and the neighborhood does get a little scary/rundown. Okay in the daytime, but I wouldn't risk it at night.

Overall, it is an affordable place by DC standards to jump off from for trips into DC. It's close to the Huntington Metro stop ( though I'd consider it too far to walk at 0.9 miles by my odometer), US-1, I-495, and I-295. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean.

Room Tip: Ask for any room with the newest mattresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mighty_Road_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for you comments. We have addressed your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Clean and convenient to many things. Metro walking distance, staff very nice and helpful. Will stay here when we come to DC again.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ohplease40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wylam, northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My friend and I stayed here last week. IWe were very impressed with the hotel.
The bedroom was spotless, it had a modern new bathroom. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Nothing was a bother. In the morning there was a free breakfast coffee, orange juice fruit and bagels. Perfect. The icing on the cake was the cost of the rooms so reasaonable we could not belive it.
An excellent little gem.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

This motel was a great find for us. We were visiting relatives for a week and needed an affordable place to stay. The first night was rocky, as there was a leak in the room. They immediately moved us to another room, even helped us carry our things. There was a fridge, microwave, and wonderfully comfortable bed & good shower. If you're looking for luxury, it's not for you. If you're looking to stay comfortably without breaking the bank, I would highly recommend it. Right off the beltway, not too far from a metro stop. There is a considerable amount of traffic noise, but it didn't keep us awake.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderingthrulife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 54 in Alexandria
220 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
601 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Travelers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Travelers Motel

Property: Budget Host Travelers Motel
Address: 5916 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1856
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Travelers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Budget Host Travelers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Travelers Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing