We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way”

La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro
Ranked #55 of 754 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Fromagerie's Bistro is the perfect place to enjoy a cheese and meat plate with a glass of wine in a relaxed, intimate atmosphere. Owner and Chef Sebastien Tavel bases his elegant, light fare menu around fresh seasonal food available from local farmers, particularly the heirloom and forageable produce that help support the biodiversity of our area.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We were taking a walk on King Street and when we saw the menu, we walked in. Nice ambience, attentive service, knowledgeable waiter. We had a cheese and meat plate with wine. It was wonderful. Also, we can buy cheese and bottles of wine as well. I strongly recommend...

Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were in Alexandria this past August and stumbled on this bistro for a mid-afternoon snack/lunch. All local ingrediants, unbeatable selection of cheeses and wines. Great service by knowledgable staff. A great place to relax and savor food that makes you want to come back to try a little of everything they offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roycethevoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cheese, Wine and Salami”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The most incredible fennel salami and cheeses helped create the most delicious charcuterie/cheese plate for my friend & I. It was wonderful to be able to sample and then put together a selection worthy of a very fine restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryAFNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great local cheeses...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stopping in a la Fromagerie for a light dinner with friends I found a somewhat mixed experience. The cheese and meats offered were uniformly wonderful. They all seem to be local products, which is a delight.

On the restaurant side,The wine list was extensive and the staff offered decent pairing suggestions. The menu is very limited (basically salads & sandwiches plus a few soups) and each item ordered is made at that time, so it can take a bit. Of our orders, the Braised Rabbit sandwich was the hands-down winner. It was moist and very flavorful! The BLT was also very nice. Everything was crisp and tasty! On the less-successful side, the Beef Brisket sandwich was bland to the point of nearly tasteless. The thin dressing was light to the point of non-existence and I couldn't even add salt & pepper as there were none to be found in the dining area. A cold heirloom tomato soup was fresh and pleasant, but nothing to write home about.

The portions are satisfactory and each sandwich comes with a very fresh garden salad with a house oil dressing.

Overall I found the prices on the steep end for what you get.

I would go back for the excellent local cheeses and meats, but not sure I would go out of my way to dine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diplokeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumpin' all over the world
Level Contributor
188 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband, nephew and I recently stopped in La Fromagerie for dinner. We had three different sandwiches and they were all quite good. The ones we ordered were the tuna, brisket and rabbit, and they each were served with a side salad. It was a little pricey for sandwiches, and the menu was a bit lacking in options, but we all really enjoyed our meals and we would go there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelinKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing