We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere. Excellent service and good food.”
Review of Chadwicks

Chadwicks
Ranked #20 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Reston
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere. Excellent service and good food.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Outstanding waitress. Food was quite good. Especially loved the Mud Pie dessert which we shared. Charming on the inside but bring a sweater. We ate late at night and it was cold even though it was warm outside. Food was good, I had the soft shell crabs which were good but could have been a hair lighter on the coating. I would definitely come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    206
    62
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, LOVELY TOWN”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was in old Town Alexandria in the beautiful state of Virginia, and happened upon Chadwicks. Set just off the Potomac River, it offers great American style food, in a nice atmosphere, reminiscent of an English pub. I had the fried green tomatoes and ribs, while my wife had a Caesar salad and ribs. Our server was attentive to our needs and a quick chat. With coupons available in the town booklet or you river boat ticket, it really is a deal, and a restaurant I shall revisit soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FGD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth a revisit a few nights later...”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our party of 6 staying in Alexandria had a wonderful meal here when we first arrived in town. Just before we left a week later one of our party suggested we go back for ribs at Chadwicks. To a person we all agreed. The ribs were great, the fish dishes cooked perfectly, and the 1/2 price night for steak was spectacular. (Personal note: Not all was perfect...the Mac & Cheese needs help...it was basically a bowl of noodles with what appeared to be a slab of America cheese on top! I was stunned. It should be removed from the menu or the chef should find a REAL Mac & Cheese recipe online!!) Overall, a great place to eat in Alexandria...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill95403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Easy Place for a Family”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Chadwicks really tries to cater to families with good food and much lower than normal Old Town prices: daily lunch specials and lots of Happy Hour fun. The wait/bar staff will remember your name and will bend over backwards to ensure you have a good experience. Very casual.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sile365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Politics and food?”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I went to scout this restaurant for our dinner but noticed a sign on the door banning firearms for any one except law enforcement. It is the owners right to do so but it is also my right to boycott the restaurant. Politics should be left out of a dining experience. We passed on dining at Chadwick's.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chadwicks also viewed

 

Been to Chadwicks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing