We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE & NICE LOCATION WITH GOOD PARKING”

Clyde's At Mark Center
Reserve with OpenTable
Clyde's At Mark Center is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 757 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Seminary Road
Description: Opened in 1998 in the West End of historic Alexandria, Virginia, Clyde's at Mark Center is a vivid celebration of sporting life on the water. Thirty-five years after Clyde's opened in Georgetown, this property showcases our evolution from restaurants to full-scale atmospheres. From an Adirondack fishing camp to a Chesapeake Bay hunt club, each room memorializes the beauty and adventure found on the water. When you can't visit Nantucket in person, Mark Center is gloriously outfitted with antique model sailboats, a replica Potomac boathouse and a cozy beach shack and bait shop that's ready to welcome any sea dog.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,271 reviews
595 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE & NICE LOCATION WITH GOOD PARKING”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have enjoyed this restaurant for years. Our last visit on April 29, 2012 was as memorable as ever. We were with good friends and we had a nice, slow-paced dinner with excellent service.
When it came to wine choices, the waitress brought us samples to choose from. The strip steak and crab cakes were excellent. Try the adirondack room for our favorite of the 4-5 ambience-oriented rooms in the restaurant. If you are a sailor, then maybe you would like the yacht room. Check the Clyde's at Mark Center pictures and information on Clyde's website. If you are going out last minute, you can usually call and make reservation. If the restaurant is quite busy, they may be able to give you preferred waiting. This cuts down the wait time and is another example of this restaurant group's flexibility to the diners' advantage. Bottom line is that this is a well appointed restaurant with several venues that also has excellent food and service. Clyde's has more than a dozen restaurants in the DC area and we have enjoyed almost all of them over the years.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    123
    52
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VATravel36
Level Contributor
181 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice Environment and Good Food”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is a great place for lunch or dinner with an active bar and lot's of after work meetings. The service is top notch and the food is pretty good. Fresh oysters are shucked at the bar, for a little extra entertainment. Just be careful if you go during lunch for a business meeting there is a strange thing with cell coverage here. Neither Sprint (no surprise) nor T-Mobile has much reception inside and if you are waiting for a call, you may not get it.
Otherwise enjoy and also check out the pond in the front stocked with Koy!! A great addition.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VATravel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“GREAT FOOD AND BAR”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just a really nice ambience with good food and friendly staff!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank duker515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
379 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Very senior crowd”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My very first impression of Clydes when I walked in was that I was about 30 years younger than everyone else in the place. The room was greyer than a Whistler painting. That notwithstanding, the food was pretty average and certainly not bad. I had a steak (I was sampling local steakhouses), and it was adequate, but definitely not special. I would guess they aren't using prime beef. It tasted like I might find in a standard chain steakhouse, not bad and it got the job done. Service was very quick and I had no complaints about anything.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callmeishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“best for food, value and ambiance”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is my favorite restaurant for food, value and ambiance in the DC metro area. FOR SURE.
Great for all occasions: if you're looking for a place for a fun night at a bar with neat decor (they sometimes have live music), somewhere for a quiet date, a birthday celebration, a family or group gathering where you can actually talk to each other. They have searched far and wide for the nautical themed rooms' decorations. The food is always fresh and much of it comes from Clyde's farm in Virginia. The service is hard to beat. Most of all the value that you get here is far better than any other DC restaurant because they source their own ingredients, even wine!
Go there.

Helpful?
Thank Xandria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clyde's At Mark Center also viewed

 

Been to Clyde's At Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing