We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good brunch, but ordinary otherwise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Andree Restaurant - CLOSED

Chez Andree Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good brunch, but ordinary otherwise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

I've spent many weeks in France, and love French food. Unfortunately the food here is not all that great. Same sides with every meal: bland steamed veggies and white rice. Nothing tastes very fresh. I'm afraid the people who rated this restaurant highly don't really have an experience of how wonderful French food can and should be. Many other French restaurants in DC and Alexandria have this one beat hands down.

They do have a nice brunch on weekends, a good value especially with a coupon.

I do like the atmosphere: Dark wood and cozy, much like many bistros in France. Attentive service. Too bad they don't have a chef worthy of this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QuietTravelerInVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy 50th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

we had a 50th Party The food fantastic service Great !!! The Duck and the Lamb both fab!!!! must try Great food also a great value !!!! Thanks Steve and everyone at Chez Andree !!!
The Teklliard Family

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Three and one-half stars on food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

As another reviewer commented, the food was good, but didn't particularly "wow" us. The atmosphere is lovely and consistent with a restaurant in France. The staff is gracious, making the dining experience pleasant and similar to eating overseas. And the food is better than average, but not quite something I'd give four stars. (IMHO, many TA reviewers overrate restaurants, as they have here. Four stars would be unexpectedly good and five stars would be one in a hundred restaurants.) Chez Andrez thus gets my three and one-half stars for food and four stars for everything else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank analytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Always a pleasant experience. The service is top notch and the food sublime! Also have specials with reasonable rates, but check the extensive menu! Wine list and delicious deserts too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LPalmer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“French Cuisine at it Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I had a five course meal at Chez Andree, and every bite was a treat for my taste buds! I ordered mussels in a white wine garlic sauce; they were so wonderful! The appetizer, salad, bread, and dessert were also just as amazing. We celebrated my mom's birthday at this restaurant as it is her favorite. They staff doesn't rush you so we were able to talk, visit, and share for several hours at a laid back pace. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the staff is top notch. This is a busy restaurant so it is helpful to call ahead. My mom said they make the best Pisco Sours as well. I had a glass of wine that the waiter recommended; he picked the perfect type for my tastes. They also have specials all the time so you can check out their websites if you want to save some money. This is almost like dining in the middle of France. I highly recommend this place to you and your family!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clopaboba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Andree Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing