We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LUNCH TODAY FOR OUR MONTHLY GROUP!”
Review of Chez Andree Restaurant - CLOSED

Chez Andree Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,261 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LUNCH TODAY FOR OUR MONTHLY GROUP!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our monthly lunch group meets at a different restaurant each time. This month we went to this delightful restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was sensational. We each had different entrees all of us had the fabulous onion soup. Crème Brulee was the dessert of choice and it was really good. I had the Bernaise Burger cooked to specs perfectly, The restaurant has a pleasant décor and abundant free parking right on the premises. This place has withstood the test of time and still measures up to the top grade! We first came here in 1972, wow!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N New England
Level Contributor
222 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Dismaying! One time or a trend?”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our group of old friends gather at Chez Andree several times per year for good food and good company. We return regularly because of the low key ambiance, good food and service.

But things were different this Sunday evening. Although the restaurant was sparsely peopled with customers, the service at our table of seven was very disappointing. Although we were in no great hurry, we waited much to long to be asked for drink and particularly food orders. When our entrees finally arrived, they were mixed up and required a lot of shuffling. The trout was excellent, as was the chicken cordon bleu. but the beef strips were dry and tough and the salmon was dried and curling.. Service was very inattentive and required repeated requests to merely get water glasses refilled. When we complained, we were told they were "very busy" which was not obviously accurate

We hope this was a one time aberration,perhaps due to it being Sunday evening, but the experience did not augur well for future venue choices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oldwoodboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good but misses the excellent mark”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had fallen in love with La Refuge so we were excited to try the next French offering in Alexandria VA. This is actually located on a side street in Del Ray but close to old town and plenty of parking. The outside of the restaurant is very charming with twinkle lights and a nice entry way. Inside is just as lovely with a French atmosphere and romantic lighting.

Our server was Angie and she was delightful, kind, helpful and very attentive. Excellent on all levels!

Nice wine list and we had two bottles of the Raymond reserve Cab and I hope to find in locally for sale because it was very good, $45.00 per bottle.

For starters we had the shrimp bisque, the French onion soup and the shrimp Andree. The shrimp bisque was just simply not good. It was almost watered down, lacked creaminess and flavor. No hint of sherry or seafood flavors, I would not order. The French onion soup was rich and bold, very good. The shrimp Andree was the best at the table, loaded with basil, garlic and butter with 3-4 large shrimp on top of a crust of bread. Really delicious.

Pictures below: For the entrees I am sorry to say we all got different versions of beef, so I cannot review on the chicken, veal or fish…but our server did tell us not to get the cordon blue citing it was disappointing overall. We took her advice. We ordered the steak au poivre and the steak with béarnaise. The au poivre was supposed to come on a NY strip but we asked if it could be served on filet instead and they accommodated us. Thank you! The steaks were all excellent cuts of beef, tender and cooked a perfect med-rare but the flavors were not nearly as delicious as La Refuge. The au poivre lacked that peppercorn spice and it appeared to be made with beef stock and not cream. It was just not as good as we were hoping for. The potatoes lacked flovor and creaminess but cabbage was very good. The fries that you can get instead of scalloped potatoes were not French fries in the sense that I have ever gotten at a real French restaurant. They tasted like frozen bagged fries you would make at home and not the fresh cut, salty hand cut French fries that I have had in the past.

The deserts were mixed, starting with the meringue…topped with ice cream and raspberries. It was light and fresh and very pretty. The profiteroles were disappointing and not as good as La refuge.

Overall a nice night, great service and good food, but they next time we get in the mood for French food we will head back to La Refuge, which edges this place out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not the usual”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is not our first visit and was good-not perfect. First, the good. The food was very good. The duck portion is large, moist and tender, served with orange sauce. . The Veal Fracais was wonderful, as were the clams. The appetizers were all good, the escargot is superb. The red cabbage arrived over done, was quickly replaced with properly prepared dishes. This is a quiet place, simply decorated and the greeting on arrival is genuine, as well as the thank you on exit. Our daughter goes there frequently and is recognized by the staff.
Our server is new and did a nice job on greeting and initial orders for drinks, appetizers, and entrees, then abandoned us, never checked back on the food, just took plates away and really did not engage with us. Fortunately, the owner and other wait staff took over and met our needs. The host did offer apology for the gap in service and my daughter says this is highly unusual. We certainly will return based on our prior experiences and the food quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 457garyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quiet place, pleasant French food”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This old established French restaurant is as welcoming, warm and quaint as when I used to go there forty-years ago. The only down side is they removed the omelette from the menu! Easy access from the roadway and convenient parking. The owners are present and helping out to make sure no one has to wait to be seated or wait for a beverage refill if the staff is busy. They have beautiful displays of old French pottery which adds great warmth to the ambience. It is quiet dining. We had the special food choices for the day which were fresh, seasonal and had a perfect appearance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeitaLuetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Andree Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing