We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and food.”
Review of Wharf Restaurant

Wharf Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wharf Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 760 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Transit: Free trolley from Metro stop to the Wharf and transit stop 1 block from restaurant.
Description: History has been written inside the walls of the Wharf, with its 1790's style architecture featuring original wood columns and beams that are charred black from a Civil War fire. Since 1971, satisfied diners have been heading to The Wharf in Old Town for whole Maine lobster, local soft shell crabs and prime steaks and chops. The restaurant has recently been renovated and remodeled and the menu updated to include many contemporary seafood items along with their traditional Chesapeake Bay creations. Our 2nd floor Dining Room is perfect for Banquets and Private Parties. Can seat up to 60 people.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good service and food.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Went here for dinner on a Sat night. We made a reservation, which is a good idea if you plan on going. The food was good....not outstanding, but good. The service was great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    268
    96
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Wharf is located in a great spot.........right on King Street, so it is convenient for shopping, site-seeing, etc.

Our party of four had made reservations for our Saturday lunch and was happy that we did so, as the restaurant was busy...........a good sign for us!

Three of us enjoyed the MD Seafood Chowder..............we would HIGHLY recommend it!

My spouse and I decided to also share the All Lump Crabmeat Sandwich. Trust me.............it is what they advertise..............ALL lump meat! You won't go wrong with this either.

The fourth person in our party went out on his own and ordered the Peacemaker Oyster Loaf Sandwich and was VERY happy with it.

You might easily walk right by The Wharf..........their restaurant frontage blends in with the street environment.........but do yourself a favor and look for this fine restaurant. Great food, reasonable costs, attentive service..........what more do you need?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowestoft
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Value seafood”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We very much enjoyed our meal here, and the seafood was fresh and tasty and the service was also good. There was a range of dishes to suit taste and wallet and i would definately recommend this to my friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigbrifmLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Two for dinner on a Friday evening in the charming area of Old Town. We started with raw oysters. Very fresh! Companion had the She Crab soup and really enjoyed the spiciness that is not usually found. She had the daily special of Blackened Yellow Fin Tuna and pronounced it the best ever. I had the Stuffed Flounder which I would highly recommend. Good service. Would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rt113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“1 steak was good the other was average”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Not sure this is the place to order a steak, but not many options were given at 930pm on a sunday night, service wasn't too friendly either.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing