We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Wharf Restaurant

Wharf Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wharf Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 760 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Transit: Free trolley from Metro stop to the Wharf and transit stop 1 block from restaurant.
Description: History has been written inside the walls of the Wharf, with its 1790's style architecture featuring original wood columns and beams that are charred black from a Civil War fire. Since 1971, satisfied diners have been heading to The Wharf in Old Town for whole Maine lobster, local soft shell crabs and prime steaks and chops. The restaurant has recently been renovated and remodeled and the menu updated to include many contemporary seafood items along with their traditional Chesapeake Bay creations. Our 2nd floor Dining Room is perfect for Banquets and Private Parties. Can seat up to 60 people.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped in while walking King Street. Although a little pricey, it was worth the cost. Michael, our waiter was outstanding as a host. Drinks were killer, as in good. Being from the gulf coast, we know good seafood, and this was a meal well done. I would visit again, as this is a fine establishment for dining.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Spooko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    268
    96
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeley, WV
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was DC Restaurant week, so we made our choices from a special menu. Good selections, everything came out hot and tasty. We were walk-ins, so the only seating available was at the bar. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linder24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor Food...........Horrible, incompetent manager…..Pedro”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The food at the Wharf is no better than a good cafeteria at a large company. It is outrageously priced for the quality and quantity served. But even worse than the food is the treatment received by the manager, Pedro. We had a problem with one of our meals in which it had to be sent back. Pedro first argued with me that this is how the dish has been made since the 1970s.! Then he said he would take it off the bill and I could give something another try…….I would only be charged for one meal. Well, the bill comes and nothing was taken off. I asked for him again and he tried to argue with me again. Folk, this is who “manages” this restaurant……..no wonder the food is the way it is.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“incorrect menu prices”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Warning you that the listed prices on the wharf restaurant website are almost 50% less than current prices. However, the menu link through Trip Advisor apprears to be current.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,121 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Nothing but praise”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Was heading to the Fish Market but stopped in here. A little more pricey but food was excellent. Had soft shell crabs. The manager served us personally since they were busy with Friday crowd. Would come back anytime

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing