We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oustanding service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Exton. PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Oustanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the Wyndham for two nights prior to Christmas. It gave a great first impression - classy Christmas decorations in the lobby, comfortable, clean and attractive rooms and very courteous and helpful staff (We didn't realize how helpful until we left). It was a little over a mile from the main area of shops in Old Town Alexandria, but we easily walked to the free shuttle at the King Street station and rode it into town twice. We ate twice in the restaurant and both of us remarked on how good the breakfasts were, compared the the usual hotel restaurant fare.

Only when we checked out did we run into a snag that could easily have turned this review into a two star rating. After five minutes of trying to find our valet-parked car, the staff told us they could not find the key. Luckily, we had a spare with us and were eventually able to drive away. As we waited for the car, the manager spoke to us, apologized profusely, and said that he would have a representative call us to arrange for reimbursement of any costs associated with the key, They would, he said, waive the valet parking charges. An hour later, as we drove up 95 to Pennsylvania, we got a call from the manager. They had found the key and would immediately FedEx it to us. Granted, without the extra key, we would have been mightily inconvenienced, but the way the hotel immediately accepted responsibility for the problem and appeared to do everything the could to solve it was very impressive.

In the future we would not hesitate to stay in this hotel as a base for visiting Alexandria and Washington.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveExton_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    89
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
136
91
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, almost great room but not quite. Staff was very helpful and except for the usual time share parking pass extortion racket no problems with check in or check out. The major prober was a door frame that was so distorted that the door would not lock. It took us one nights stay to figure out the problem. we reported it and maintenance tried and reported the door fixed. It wasn't. total of three maintenance folks showed up and said it was fixed. at least now it would lock. Turns out that it took throwing your should I to the door to get it to open. strange that it had never been fixed and that house keeping and maintenance had never reported the problem. we had two units, 711 and 712. 711 was the worst with 712 with difficulties as well. Reported again at check out. Two more things exhaust fan in 712 has worn out bearings, sounds like a Motel 6, and towel racks are inadequate.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvergoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at the Wyndham Old Town in Alexandria in early November. The hotel is very beautiful and in a prime location; close to the Metro and near to many great shops and restaurants in Old Town Alexandria. However, there was an incident that occurred during my stay that was disappointing and very concerning.

I woke up one morning and was concerned to find that the water that was coming out of the sink and shower was brown. I decided to take a quick shower and forego using water to brush my teeth. I decided to let a manager know. I was greeted by a terribly rude manager who informed me that there had been a water main issue with the city which was causing the water to be brown. He said there was nothing he could do about it and since it was due to an issue with the city, it wasn't his problem. I asked why I wasn't even notified to not drink the water or to use caution. He told me that it happened at 4am and that there were too many rooms and people to notify.

To be honest, I was astonished. He was rude to me and the fact that this was a safety issue that was being ignored by the hotel management is horrible. They could have easily slid a letter under the door to notify guests. Even more frightening is the fact that when I returned, the water was still brown. Being that I've experienced similar issues in the past, I knew to run the water for about an hour until it ran clear. But the hotel never told other guests what to do or raised the concern.

Again - beautiful hotel. Horrible management and from a safety perspective, not smart at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChcgoMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations. We know that while on vacation it is important to be treated well. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
318 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Wyndham Old Town Alexandria is the best place to enjoy the charm of Old Town with access to
the Metro a short block away. Our two bedroom unit is well appointed. Large, sunny, comfortable bedding including the pillows with a large hot tub in the master bedroom. The units have been updated and the granite counter tops in the large kitchen give the unit a modern look. The cabinets are stained cherry and there is plenty of cutlery, glassware etc. The ice maker wasn't working when we first arrived and we were given bags of ice as often as needed. The staff is very helpful. Old Town is charming and worth a close look between trips to DC

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
243 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Looking for a convenient location with easy access to DC via Metro and within walking distance of Old Town Alexandria? Wyndham at Old Town Alexandria is a good choice. The rooms are spacious, you can find either 1 or 2 bedroom units with lock-outs that make it possible to have a 3 bedroom suite if needed, and there are numerous amenities on site including an all-comfy lounge chair 10 seat movie theater with movies running every night and free popcorn!. The staff was excellent with a quick checkin even though we arrived late at night and they were kind enough to give us an extended stay upon departure due to a road race (Army 10 Miler) that we ran in. King St shops and restaurants are an easy walk and there is no lack of variety in either. I highly recommend this venue if you're thinking about staying in the area.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn;t face the train tracks, inner courtyard would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nomad0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Alexandria is not Washington, even though it is only a rather short metro ride awyay, but is a nice place to visit a pleasant little town on the rivers of Potomac.King street is full of little boutiques, cafes and restaurants. I chose Wyndham because it was close to USPTO and the metro station. I got apparently not just a room but instead an appartment of considerable size, including fully equipped kitchen, living room with TV, bedroom and bath with huge tub with bubbles, shower and separate toilet. Unfortunately no breakfast was served in the hotel nor could I get anything to eat or a beer upon my late arrival after 22:00. Nevertheless I would return anytime.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dojolowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, Ca.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here for the third time last week. We love this place. It is within walking distance of great restaurants, the marina, and right across the street from the King Street Metro. We got up in the morning to fresh brewed coffee (always available in the lobby) and headed out on the Metro for a day of sightseeing. In the afternoon there is always popcorn, water, and lemonade in the lobby. Most everyday there was something going on from 4-5pm. Chips and salsa bar, fruit and cheese, ice cream sundae bar ($1.00), and always cookies.
The rooms are very clean, have a full kitchen, and washers and dryers on every floor (free). The even supply the laundry soap for two loads!
The beds are very comfortable and our room had a whirlpool tub.
The staff is super friendly, always helpful, and eager to please.
Even though the Metro is just across the street we really never heard it as the rooms are well insulated. The only drawback is that the windows don't open for fresh air at night.
This place is truly a find!

Room Tip: We love room 703, a corner room with a view on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Insanityx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Property: Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
Address: 1757 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing