We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Metro, Free Trolly, No need to drive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The staff was superb, friendly, helpful, and courteous. No pressure to listen to the sales pitch, although it was offered if you wanted to make an easy $100. The rooms were first rate and well equipped. The kitchen was well equipped to cook breakfasts while waiting for everyone to get ready for long days of sightseeing in DC. Free WiFi was fast as was the business center for printing return airline tickets. Alexandria's farmer's market on Saturday morning was very helpful to supplement the groceries brought for breakfast. The free washer and dryer on each floor helped reduce the need to carry excess laundry for the week. The 2 bedroom suite was perfect for visiting with friends and family who converged for a week's vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1757Wyndham, General Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello Teresa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the resorts accomodations, as well as the location to be conducive to your needs while visiting with family and friends. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

John Lewis
Resort Manager
703-837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

OK I picked this location because it was close to Washington DC and Reagan National Airport and the Metro system. I was not disappointed. It was within a block of the King's Metro Station, which was the second stop from National Airport on the Yellow or Blue line. The hotel is located just off of King Street and very nice. The staff was pleasant. I did skip the timeshare and owner update meetings because I was here only one night. The standard one room (314) had a small dishwasher, full refrigerator, stove, and microwave. The kitchen was completed with a table and the living room with TV. The bedroom was a separate room, which was nice. Lots of eating establishment on King Street and the harbor boats and boat taxis were about 1.2 miles walk to the East on King Street. I will be returning to this property and future trips.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSP9454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahar A, Administrative Assistant at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you picked Wyndham Resort at Old Town Alexandria, for your one day visit, and that you had a good experience and that you decided to visit again! We sure have a strategic location that is a walking distance to King Street metro station, from that station there are direct lines "Blue and Yellow" to nation's capital Washington D.C., and as mentioned Reagan National Airport is the second stop on either line. Great public transportation covers Old Town area and connect you with the National Harbor on the other side of the Potomac River. I would also thank you for taking the time to write that detailed review, it is indeed valuable to our guests also for us, Resort's management teem. Thank you again, we're looking forward your next visit.

Sincerely,

Sahar Al-Shaibani
Administrative Assistant
(703) 837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in 509. It is the large 1 Br lock off. The small unit was occupied, but we rarely heard a peep. I begged them to not bother us about the gifting update and they grudgingly obliged. We loved everything about the hotel(it really isn't a resort). It has a large TV room for watching TV or movies which they will gladly install. I slept through Gravity; probably because it is a lousy movie, but the large chair is very comfortable. We are seniors and went to the Old Town Transit Shop for the special price and help with the Metro card. We spent 2 days in DC and I think it cost us less than $20 for the train pass.
The $1 pie, free popcorn, salsa and chips, coffee, cookies, tea, comfortable sitting area, and much more were great after the long days walking around the National Mall. I parked the car and didn't move it until check out time. First time that has ever happened at a timeshare. In short, I couldn't find anything wrong with this Wyndham.
We shopped at Whole Foods which was close by. It is very expensive and mind boggling if you are used to Publix, Kroger, and Albertson's.

Room Tip: If you can choose, I would ask for a room on floor 4 to 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahar A, Administrative Assistant at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear David R,

Thank you for taking the time to write that kind and detailed review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and our amenities; also took the advantage of our strategic location, free parking and public transportation to Washington D.C. and Old Town, we're looking forward your next visit.

Thank you again,

Sahar Al-Shaibani
Administrative Assistant
(703) 837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Imagine having a temporary stay apartment in the heart of Alexandria, VA, minutes from George Washington's Mt. Vernon, Washington, DC, the beautiful Potomac River, etc, etc. You can drive your car, ride the Metro, or hop on a free trolley to get around. It's the kind of place you return to again and again, so perfectly situated.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveholica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan N, Guest Services Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Hi Traveholica,

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear of your exceptional experience during your recent stay. Our resort location, convenience to attractions in Washington, D.C. and the surrounding area give us great pride at the Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future. Again, thank you for reaching out and we will see you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Evan Neyer
Guest Services Manager
703-837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our friends invited to a spend a long weekend at this resort...which turned out to be terrific!
The location is unbeatable, given that we took the train to and from Lynchburg. We got into DC without difficulty. The place was well kept, and the staff provided lots of flexibility when we got snowed in.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were lucky enough to get a 3 bedroom Presidential unit. The unit was clean and had all of the things one expects with a time share. The kitchen was in good working order. The bathrooms were really nice. The showers (especially in master bathroom) were large. The hotel itself is small compared to a lot of the Wyndham properties we stay at and it was nice. No large crowds to fight, short line, etc. There is a downside with it being small in that there weret have a lot of on-site activities. Which was okay with us since we didn't go there to stay the hotel. The are two other downsides, one it didn't a pool. This would have been nice if we had stayed during the summer and wanted to cool off. Plus it is right next to the train tracks and you can hear the train (but luckily it did not keep us up at night) There were two other bonuses about the location of the hotel...There is a free trolley that goes down King street to all of the shops. Plus it is close to METRO Rail and bus system. It was an easy walk to the station and then being able to ride the rail in to D.C. was great.

Room Tip: If you can choose a room make sure it is at the front of the hotel so you are away from the rail tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty_RTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this resort (beginning of April) and found it to be a wonderful place to stay. From the moment we walked in the front doors, the resort staff were friendly and welcoming. The Guest Services person was very helpful with alternate sightseeing ideas since we were a little early for the cherry blossoms. She provided maps, brochures and discount coupons for things in the local area.

The resort is situated perfectly for accessing either the Metro or going down to the waterfront. The Metrorail is directly behind the resort and there is a (free) trolley that picks up at the metro stop and travels down King Street to the waterfront (about one mile). Along the way, there is a variety of restaurants and shops to visit. Unless you like to walk a lot I would recommend walking down to the water and take the trolley back.

We stayed in room 306 which was on the back side of the resort (train track side). There were some reviews that said the noise from the trains was annoying, but we weren’t bothered by them. By the time we got back to the room at night we couldn’t hear the trains at all. I wouldn’t want to trade the convenience of being across the street from the station for a little noise.
Every afternoon or morning the resort offered things like chips and salsa, pie, or bagels. They also kept water, lemonade and popcorn in the lobby. There were comfortable areas that you could sit, relax and drink coffee and hot tea.

Our room was clean and comfortable. It was a premium one bedroom, which had a smaller one bedroom connected to it. There was someone staying in the room next to us and we didn’t realize it until the night before we left, when I noticed the light from the TV outside our window. We enjoyed the in-room hot tub and large shower. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of plush pillows provided.

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay if visiting DC. The Metrorail is across the street and makes stops all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joebets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,480 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £152 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing