We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite Wyndham resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are Gold Wyndham owners and have stayed in many of the Wyndham resorts. This was one of our favorites, and we will definitely return. I read some of the reviews and am always surprised when people complain they don't have daily maid service. This is not a hotel. Be aware if you book as other than an owner. On the other hand, we had a one bedroom deluxe and it had so many towels, etc., there was no need to reuse if you didn't choose to do so.
Our reasons for 5 stars: we were not hounded by the sales team. Location: steps from the Alexandria trolley (free) and two blocks from the Metro (we bought Smart cards for $10 that gave us enough to go into central DC and back 2 times). Building was attractive and lovely landscaping. Nice lobby. Units were clean, functioning, and had comfortable seating (thank you for two good lounge chairs and sofa). Wifi was good when we stayed.It was quiet. I think we heard one train in the evening and we liked it! Free parking next door and free laundry (though not in the unit as usual). The staff was super..prompt, friendly. Not sure what is available for kids. Can't say enough positives!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1757Wyndham, General Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hello Torte_Sue,

I am glad to hear we have been able to exceed your expectations during your visit to the Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Resort with our service and property location. Thank you for your kind words and the information you've noted regarding property amenities. As a valued Wyndham VIP Owner, our team takes pride in providing a warm and inviting atmosphere so you are able to get the most out of your vacation time. We look forward to seeing you again during your next stay and thank you again for reaching out.

Sincerely,

John Lewis
Resort Manager
703-837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at the Wyndham for a week with my family on our summer vacation to see Washington DC. It is very easy access to the metro and King Street has a trolley that you can ride up and down the street that is full of wonderful shops and restaurants. The hotel it's self is very pretty, has a game room and a movie room complete with popcorn! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that they do not clean your room or give you fresh sheet/towels. If you are like me, the ladt thing that you want to do while on vacation is house work and laundry!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Freedomangelbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahar A, Old Town Alexandria at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Freedomangelbon/ Guest,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Resort to spend your summer vacation with the family this year, our strategic location that is a walking distance to King Street metro station, from that station there are direct lines "Blue and Yellow" to nation's capital Washington D.C. very convenient and fun trip. Also our location on king street the beginning of Old town
is about one mile fun, walking or riding the free trolley through wonderful shops and restaurants!

We truly proud of our well maintained property and friendly/helpful staff...

We are sorry to hear about the less pleasant side of your stay, for the cleaning part; if you are an Owner guest or a Guest that is staying more than a week, you get clean and tidy service on the fourth day of your stay! unlike the hotels where you get the room cleaned everyday. But you could have requested any number of clean sheets or towels by calling the front desk...

However, we are willing to see you again in our Resort sometimes next year and will be more than happy to be of your service, thank you again for taking to write this review, have a wonderful day

Sincerely,

Sahar Al-Shaibani
NE Region and Resort Admin
(703) 837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We totally enjoyed our stay at this hotel, even if it started out a little tough as we wandered around trying to find it. (The front door is in an inner courtyard behind the Hilton.) The reception greeting was friendly and helpful, cookies and coffee always available as is the PC/printer room. Internet was a little slow, but worked okay. The location is amazing, right across the street from a Metro station--and, no, it is not noisy because of that. Starbucks on the block, Whole Foods a very few blocks away, and right on the free KIng Street bus line that takes you through Alexandria. As for the room, the bed was comfy, unit was nicely decorated, and the kitchen was well stocked. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1757Wyndham, General Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Maureen P.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience from your stay with us. I am truly glad you enjoyed your stay and our property location. It sounds like you found the little extra touches at the resort like the cookies and refreshment station to be to your satisfaction, I am glad to hear this.

I will look into possible solutions for the resort signage and work with the operations team to ensure the wifi signal is at maximum capability. I truly appreciate this valuable feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and property offerings.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit. Do not hesitate to reach out to me if I can be of assistance to you. Thank you, again.

Sincerely,

John Lewis
Resort Manager
703-837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Never laughed so much in our life. Place was convenient to everything. There were six of us and we separated into twos and went to see what we wanted to see. Easy no driving, near the trolley and the metro. We met for supper, they had popcorn in the lobby for us to fill a huge pan and take to our room. Ran for breakfast across the street in the AM to Dunkin Donuts.
I will be going back here with a group, can't think of a better location to do it all.

Room Tip: Three bedroom when you go with a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1757Wyndham, General Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Diane062,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay. I am glad to hear of your exceptional getaway with your close friends. It sounds as though you got to do many of activities you planned. We are excited to welcome you back for your next stay. If there is any way we can assist you in planning area activities or excursions, please feel free to reach out to me and I will ensure we exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

John Lewis
Resort Manager
703-837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great suites with kitchen, dining area, and two separate bathrooms. Nice perks like game room, workout room. Not too far of a walk (maybe .7 miles) to area with shops and restaurants. Only problem is you have to pay to park (but this is common for Old Town).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahar A, Wyndham Old Town Alexandira at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear K L/ Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write that review, we are glad to know that you liked your unit, and Resorts amenities... we have a great Theater/Game room in lobby Area and a great, well equipped gym room in second floor!

Our strategic location on King street at the beginning of Old Town, is about one mile fun, walking through Home to some of the “100 Very Best Restaurants 2013” by Washingtonian magazine! as well as the Washington Post dubbed as a stylish shopping destination and The Wall Street Journal agreed!

Unfortunately, you have to pay to park in Old Town, though... it's Free on-street parking and generally limited to two hours, from 8 am. to 2 am., Monday through Saturday, and 11 am. Sunday until 2 am. Monday. But there's FREE " underground parking in our facility for all of our guests. Thank you again, we're looking forward your next visit.

Sincerely,

Sahar Al-Shaibani
NE Region and Resort Admin
(703) 837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Hilton is located on the corner, across the street from the Metro station. On the other side of the Metro station is the train station. Next to the Hilton is the Wyndham Old Town Alexandria (OTA). We had a car and OTA guests park in the Hilton parking lot (no charge). We flew into Dulles and rented the car at the airport. Most times we left the car in the parking lot and took the Metro into DC. We returned the car at the Reagan airport (which is right on the Metro line), took the Metro back to OTA, picked up our bags, walked to the train station and took Amtrak to NYC Penn station. Next time we're not getting a car.
We had a 1 bdrm which was part of a 2 bdrm lockoff. It was a corner unit, spacious and we didn't hear the people in the studio unit. My DD loved the popcorn that was available every day downstairs and I was happy that the "update" agent was not aggressively obnoxious as they sometimes are. The front desk was very helpful; when I needed directions, they printed out a map with directions. I called from the west coast to ask whether we could check in early because our flight was arriving in the early morning. The staff took my phone number, contacted housekeeping, and called me back to let me know that housekeeping would clean our unit as soon as possible so that the unit might be available. When we arrived our room was ready.
We will be back. Thank you OTA for a great trip.

Room Tip: This is not a high rise and so there are no "view rooms". If possible, ask for a corner r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4HNLmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahar A, Wyndham Old Town Alexandira at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear 4HNLmom/ Guest,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Resort, and thank you for taking the time to write that kind detailed review, we really are in a very strategic location, King Street metro station and ALX Amtrak station in walking distance from our Resort.

Glad that you felt comfortable in your unit and that your beloved enjoyed the everyday popcorn on concierge desk!! we are proud of our staff that always score high with being Friendly, helpful and 100% ready for our guests. Thank one more time, we're looking forward your next visit.

Sincerely,

Sahar Al-Shaibani
NE Region and Resort Admin
(703) 837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for one week. The rooms were a typical Wyndham resort, which is to say, pretty nice. The staff was very nice. Unlike the other Wyndham's, there was no high pressure sales pitch which was greatly appreciated. The location is excellent. It's at the east end of the King Street strip, but there is a free trolley to take you anywhere you want on King Street. The Metro station is across the street, which makes it very convenient to go anywhere you want in DC. We hated to go home. There is so much to do in the area, and even with a week, we still didn't do everything we wanted. I really can't stress how much we enjoyed staying here! The only little negatives...no pool, and the parking garage is very tight. And unless you want to walk two blocks to Whole Foods (and pay $$$), you need to drive about 1.5 miles to a nice Giant grocery store on Duke street. Loved it, if you are thinking about going on a DC vacation, you need to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tncouple222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1757Wyndham, General Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Tncouple222,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience about your recent stay at the Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Resort. I am glad to hear of your positive experience with our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with the team here at the resort. Thank you for reaching out and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay so you are able to enjoy more of the area attractions and resort amenities,

Sincerely,

John Lewis
Resort Manager
703-837-3400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,508 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,322 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £124 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing