We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Town Breakfast Surprise!”

Bittersweet Catering
Ranked #120 of 752 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: A local favorite since 1983, Bittersweet has established itself as one of the premiere corporate and social caterers in the metropolitan area. We offer full-service catering as well as an in-house Bakery -- a local Old Town Alexandria tradition.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old Town Breakfast Surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Freshly brewed coffee and Holiday brunch with a great atmosphere! Friendly staff prepare and serve a variety of meals. Enjoyed a traditional breakfast there. Street cafe' style seating also available for warmer days. Walking distance from the Metro and Water Taxi. Old Town a must see!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJ SA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    57
    28
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great neighborhood place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I stop in here for a light breakfast from time to time or a healthy lunch from their hot/cold bar. Food to order always looks great. If you have a sweet tooth, you're in luck!! Great for families, friends, or just yourself!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank eleanorcarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trinity fla
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breakfast in Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We ate here last year while visiting and had breakfast here 3 times on this trip. A great menu, something for everyone and so reasonably priced. My husband had the quiche of the day all 3 times it was so good. The hot buffet is delicious. I wish we had this back here in Florida.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 7springstrinityfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Grab a sandwich elsewhere...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stopped in here for lunch while in Old Town one afternoon. My sandwich was boring and the salad I picked up from the food bar was overdressed and soggy. There are plenty of good places for lunch in Old Town, so I won't be coming back here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank melibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Value and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a small breakfast/lunch café on a corner or King's street. People tell me they have been in business for years! They have the right combination of great food and reasonable prices, so I expect they will be there when I go back to Alexandria.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nigel'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bittersweet Catering also viewed

 

Been to Bittersweet Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing