We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid dishes and friendly veteran staff”
Review of The Warehouse

The Warehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Warehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 759 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Cross street: So. Fairfax
Transit: Free Old Town Trolley - From King St Metro to Lee Street. Metro bus and Dash Bus stops along King Street
Description: Located in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, the Warehouse is one of the area's most popular restaurants specializing in prime aged steaks and fresh seafood. The superb food is served in a casual but elegant atmosphere that features caricatures of the local gentry on the walls of the historic building. Enjoy their Steak "Pontchartrain" or their famous all-lump crab cakes. Don't miss their very popular Sunday brunch. Enjoy a drink at their antique mahogany bar.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“solid dishes and friendly veteran staff”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

we go there often for brunch and lunch. Very fresh and friendly. I don't know any of the famous people where are caricaturized on the wall, but you may. Tried the special (lobster cobb salad in a crunchy shell), which was lots of food and flavorful. Also had the penne pasta with fresh chilled scallop, crab and shrimp. Also ordered the alligator stew as a starter. Lots of tomato and tender meat. Grabbed a piece of lightly fried and tasty catfish, served of course with crunchy fries. They will accomodate requests, big groups, and have been there for years.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    190
    57
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We decided to pop into the older part of Alexandria for supper not having ever visited the city. After cruising up and down the streets in the area, we decided to try the Warehouse Bar & Grill as we were all craving a burger after a long day visiting the DC side of the Potomac. It was far from being a warehouse and the food was more like a restaurant than bar & grill fare but it was excellent. The house specialty, according to our very hospitable waiter, were crab cakes. They were terrific. Yes, we did have a burger and it was delicious as well. Service was prompt and attentive. Nice cosy place after all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Splicebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best she-crab soup around”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We've been going to this restaurant for the last 9 years whenever in the area. The setting is quaint, service usually very good. The food is somewhat pricey for young children but quality is very good

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic burger.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The name is deceiving. This place has white linen and a very attentive service staff. This is no ordinary bar and grill. We both ordered the Kobe burger and weren't disappointed. The burger was cooked perfectly with caramelized onions, mushrooms, melted cheese, and other toppings. The fries were great too. Only complaint would be that I expected a much less formal environment and felt a little out of place ordering a burger in such an establishment. But man it was a good one!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot on King St.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Wife and I had lunch an outdoor table at the Warehouse Bar & Grill. Food was very good. Good selection of seafood sandwiches, omletts, and salads. Nice location on King St to people watch and enjoy the atmosphere of Old Town Alexandria.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nazotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Warehouse also viewed

 

Been to The Warehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing