We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is really terrific!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tempo Restaurant

Tempo Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tempo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Gordon
Transit: Nearest Metro Station: King Street Metro is 2.2 miles away within walking distance if you are in good shape otherwise take a cab.
Description: Nestled in the West End, Tempo Restaurant is one of Alexandria's best-kept secrets. This elegant, but unpretentious, neighborhood restaurant is where the locals dine. Tempo's menu displays a blend of northern Italian and French cuisine, featuring fresh seafood.
DC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This place is really terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have been going here for years. It deserves all of the accolades you see in these reviews. I have been getting the wonderful seafood dishes they serve. Then one time I had the outstanding lamb chops. I really cannot say enough good things about the food and service. This is our go to place for special occasions.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CardsFan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    44
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Drove from Annapolis to take relatives visiting from England and staying in Old Town Alexander to dinner. Chose Tempo because of the Trip Advisor reviews, and we were so glad we did. Also happy that we made a reservation because the place was packed on a recent Saturday night.
A warm smile and welcome from the owner set the tone for a lovely evening. Bread and rolls arrived almost immediately after being seated. Chose a modest priced $25 dollar bottle of Merlot that was excellent. Even a non wine drinker came back for seconds. Four appetizers of melon with lots of prosciutto got the meal off to a pleasant and light start. Three of us got a veal dish with a light cream sauce that didn't disappoint; it was tender and delicious veal with a yummy sauce. A medley of colorful vegetables and a few small potatoes added to the presentation on the plate and to the meal. It was hard to pick a dessert from the huge dessert tray but everyone enjoyed his choice: carrot cake or key lime pie. There were lots of more exotic desserts available also. The owner even gave our teenage great niece one of the large ball point pens with the restaurant's name and address on it as a souvenir. She was delighted by the gesture. One small issue; there was a very large group in the restaurant and they were rather loud which made it hard for us to hear each other. This wouldn't deter me from returning to this wonderful find if we are ever back in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trejustcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
439 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Tempo has the right beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very nice restaurant that is largely undiscovered. Excellent menu with good variety of dishes, and some especially good seafood selections. There is excellent gazpacho soup as well for a really refreshing dish on a hot summer day. The seafood selection is good and there are good soups and salads as well. Lunch is a good time to go, not so crowded and there is separate back room with some privacy. Nicely decorated and stylish interior. Well worth the visit and very good value for money. Service is good as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onancock, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Do not dismiss this neighborhood gem of a dining place: outward appearances can be deceiving. Delicious food, attentive staff, great service, appealing intimate atmosphere, very friendly and welcoming. Menu offerings are sure to please.
We were introduced to Tempo by friends and it is now on our favorite list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sister-cousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fine neighborhood Italian place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This little place calls itself Italian and French, but it's really Italian. Right off Duke Street (there is parking), it's not much to look at, but the inside is bright and pleasant. Service was attentive and helpful. We didn't get a broad taste of the menu, because we all had osso buco, which was really good - tender and very flavorful. There is an extensive menu of both northern and southern Italian options. There's a huge and diverse dessert selection - cherry cobbler was lovely. Very good wine list, at reasonable prices, so all in all this place is a good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelguy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tempo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tempo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing