We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great free museum”

National Inventors Hall of Fame
Ranked #28 of 88 things to do in Alexandria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit us and marvel at the ingenuity of mankind! The portraits in our Portrait Gallery spontaneously come to life, engaging in humorous banter about the history and importance of America's intellectual property protection system. Our short film, "Extraordinary Innovation", looks at the importance of intellectual property in sports and showcases how ideas effect our daily lives. Our rotating main exhibit has covered everything from food to shoes and features a number of interactive and engaging displays. Our Inductees to the Hall of Fame are represented throughout our exhibitions and are honored on a monumental wall, which features a kiosk full of information about the Inductees and their inventions. We also have occasional special exhibits about individuals and groups that have made significant contributions to the world through their intellectual property. And, for those who like to shop, the Museum Store features an interesting mix of USPTO merchandise and inventive products.
DC
Level Contributor
217 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great free museum”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Small and off the beaten path, the US Patent and Trademark museum is close to the metro at King Street. It is a great diversion off the normal tourist path and offers rotating exhibits. Add in a stop in Old Town with plenty of eating establishments and other activities.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank sharalDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
598 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Not a Lot Going On”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is off the beaten path (away from the other museums), but if you find yourself at the foot of Old Town Alexandria, it's worth a stop. The exhibits are interesting and we learned a lot, but there just wasn't much here.

Helpful?
1 Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Somewhat let down by the museum. The displays of various items were interesting but the videos and such were all hype about "how you too can become and inventor" but did not detail the process to obtain a patent. The video at the start of the museum is superb with Thomas Jefferson, TAE, and several others talking as contemporaries. Small museum. Rotating exhibit in the lobby had a great display of Bill
Gates' patents

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting small museum for geeks”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I am a scientist, so I love this stuff! Fun, interesting, interactive museum which highlights various inventions in our daily lives. Currently has large display about Steve Job's APPLE patents.

Occastionally, US Patent & Trademark Office has special events: for kids (toy design camp) and kids-of-all-ages (Trademark Fair) and whole community (USPTO Community Day).

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
195 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A little underwhelming.”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

It is a small museum and has little on display, but what there is is nice and the building is architecturally interesting.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stargatebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Inventors Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to National Inventors Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing