We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Alexandria
Nearby Hotels
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
344
364
124
47
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
364
124
47
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedfederal courthouseking streetold towntrademark officevalet parkingminute walkwhole foodsmetro stationvery nice hotelmasonic templefew blocksper daydc areavery nice staybusiness travelerup to date
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 907 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

DC hotels not! Expensive not the word - for what? the same bed/shower/gym/bar/pool/etc. They cost b/c they are in DC. if you are a tourist however, looking to visit monuments, Smithsonian, etc. & especially if you have young children then stay here at normal prices and its literally 10 min drive to all that (traffic can add 20mins during rush hr). Hotel is beaut! Service and management unquestionably excellent (don't care what anyone else writes. if u say managers are not accommodating then you are a hater or a bitter person in general). Oh yeah and gave me complimentary club floor access for free breakfast and eve cocktails b/c I told him I left a diff hotel for his. Looks like a W hotel in NYC. Surrounding area has everything you need - starbucks, 7-11, grocery, banks, all walking distance. Court area of Alexandria beaut like most of city. Went to Zoo, 3 Smithsonian musems, monuments on a Mon mid-April to Thurs. Stayed 1st night a Sheraton in Springfield, MD. Left b/c they only had outdoor pool not open and lobby scene was yikes. My kids love to swim so for same price why go without. SPG member so found Westin and felt like an idiot when I saw what same money got me. No comparison. Westin ALEX HAS BIG HEATED INDOOR POOL AND JACUZZI. Stay there!! and eat at Formaggio's Italian pizza on Duke st. Sick!!!! Seafood & pizza.

Love this place. Will only stay here now when I visit DC every few years.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Jeru S,
Thanks for staying with us. It sounds like you and your family had a great time in the hotel and exploring the area. I am glad you were able to discover the many advantages to staying here and that our staff took good care of you. We hope to see you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Conveniently located just several blocks from King Street, and just a 10-minute walk from the Metro. Rooms are large, tastefully decorated, very comfortable, & have a mini fridge & safe with a/c supply (convenient to charge laptop while keeping it secure). They had a daily charge for wifi access, however the signal was strong and reliable. The pool was small, but quiet and relaxing. The fitness center has a good selection of modern equipment in working order. Staff were responsive and friendly.
Overall, a very nice hotel that is conveniently located!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Mary L,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your thoughts. It was great to know that you enjoyed our location and other amenities. We will look forward to seeing you again, hopefully very soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Westin is located a few blocks away from King Street, which is the main street through the Old Town area of Alexandria. The King Street Metro station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, so it was convenient for visiting both D.C and the Alexandria area.

The valet parking and check-in were both efficient and the staff were friendly and very helpful. My room was clean and comfortable. The only issue when I arrived was that the television was not working properly, but they said that was due to a recent power outage and this issue was fixed immediately. Housekeeping did an excellent job and were not intrusive. I did not eat at the restaurant, but the bar was a good place to stop for a late night drink.

The local neighborhood seems to be more of a weekday business area, so it was quiet on the weekend and there is not a lot to do within a couple of blocks. However, the hotel offers a free shuttle to anywhere in Alexandria and we took advantage of that to go to the shops, restaurants and bars that are located in Old Town, as it could be a long walk to the waterfront at the end of King Street. The shuttle driver dropped us off and picked us up each night within 10-15 minutes of our call (until 10 PM).

Overall, I would not hesitate to stay at the Westin again when I am in the Alexandria area. The neighborhood seemed quiet and safe and I had no complaints with the hotel or the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CongressTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear CongressTart,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share these comments. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience, finding our location, staff and room to your liking. We hope to see you back again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel. I simply enjoyed every bit of it. Everything was tremendous. Room was extremely comfortable. The robes were simply heavenly!!! I am definitely going to stay in this hotel again. I would highly encourage any and everyone to try this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

SAEL

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Sidney L,
Thank you for staying with us. Your comments are much appreciated and it was great to know that you had a very enjoyable experience. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We go to the D.C. area every few years and will be staying at The Westin Alexandia from now on. We liked everything about this hotel from the friendly staff, beautiful hotel with a great bar, clean rooms and not to mention it's just a 5 minute walk to the Metro, so accessing the area is very easy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2longhornlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear 2longhornlady,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share these comments. I was glad to know that your enjoyed your stay and our staff and location in particular. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Rich Casale'
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews