We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Alexandria Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Alexandria
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Westin Alexandria for a conference. The conference rooms were wonderful. The front desk staff was very friendly, greeted me by name and was very accommodating. The room as is all Westin Hotels was phenomenal especially the Heavenly Bed! The location was great and within close proximity to public transportation, restaurants and shopping. I would have to rate this hotel as an excellent choice for anyone visiting this area. Zona Pacheco

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dedar ZonaP,
Thanks for staying with us recently and taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to learn that our staff took good care of you and that your enjoyed the room, Heavenly Bed and our location in particular. We hope to see you back again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had a meeting around the area at Alexandria. We stayed at the Westin for the 4th time.
As expected, Hospitality, location, people and every bit of the experience was magnificent.
The newly assigned manager was very helpful, attending to all of our request with warm and professional attitude. Made our stay a happy and memorable one.
Thank you very much for the wonderful stay.
We were there from May 23 til May 27.

Room Tip: Stay in upper, higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmudarres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Enjoylife...
Thanks for staying with us yet again and taking the time to give us such a great review. We do very much appreciate that you continue to stay with us and are delighted that all went well. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during Memorial Day weekend while visiting friends. Due to our SPG status, we were upgraded to an Executive Club Room but since it was a holiday weekend, the Club Lounge was not open so the hotel offered us a complimentary breakfast at Trademark, the hotel bar/restaurant. The room was clean and spacious and we enjoyed being next door to a Starbucks, a block or so from a 7-11, and a short walk to Whole Foods. We used the gym and the pool and both were well-maintained and secure. The first evening we arrived late and so we decided to have dinner at Trademark. We really loved the many beer options as well as the soft pretzel bites and the buffalo chicken flatbread. The service was really great. Our waiter was very sweet and responsive. Also, the host/manager who seated us was very nice as well and even looked into our breakfast options for the next day. He also would be the one to seat us for our 2 breakfasts at Trademark during our stay. The bar area was a little rowdy due to a large cycling group staying at the hotel, but the staff seemed to make sure our table was well-taken care of to compensate for this. It wasn't a big problem as we were there to watch the NBA playoffs as well and it was nice to see everyone having a great time. The breakfast turned out to be a buffet the next day (to accommodate the large cycling group). There were plenty of options and we loved the fresh fruit available. The following breakfast was a la carte so we each had an omelette and they were very good and covered by our free breakfast voucher. We can't wait to stay (and eat) here again when we come back!

Room Tip: Grab a beer and watch the game at Trademark, the hotel's bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutToLunch925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear OutToLunch,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share such a great review of our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here mutiple times on business travel. Consistently strong Westin property when it comes to SPG benefits. Front desk in pm is well above average and are very professional. Restaurant is also very good with some unique menu items, particularly like brunch options (crab hash was very good). I found management to be responsive to traveler's concerns voiced in SPG survey. Housekeeping had some off days, but issues were minor. Overall, location, newer Westin property and service make this a good choice for DC area.

Rooms are spacious and clean with views of Federal courthouse and surrounding Alexandria. Suites nicely furnished with some extras. Only complaint is TV in studio suite was a little small when watching from bed area.

A short walk to Old Town Alexandria metro stop and Whole Foods. Recommend this property.

Room Tip: courthouse views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigerfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Director of Operations at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear tigerfoods,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and providing us with a great review of our hotel! We continue to focus on our housekeeping quality and hopefully we can address those little minor issues. I apologize for those challenges but as you mentioned, we will do anything we kind to make sure your stay is the most enjoyable.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Thank you for being a loyal SPG member!

Thomas Poteau, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

First off, the location is great to get around Alexandria. The rooms were clean even though the lobby was far more outstanding than the rooms. The front desk staff is great and very helpful. However, the valet attendants really could use a lesson in hospitality. We did not use the valet service because we had friends down the street in Alexandria and parked at their apartment building. The valet service is 26 dollars a day. When we addressed this with the valet and told them we were not using the valet parking, I got the talk about how great the valet parking was. When I again insisted that we were not using the valet parking because the parking at my friend's apartment was 10 dollars for 2 days as opposed to 52 dollars for 2 days at the Westin, I got a really dirty look. When I begin to move my car, the driver had gone on to move another car and proceeded to block me in and almost hit my car with a larger Yukon as he was attempting to do a 3 point turn. I also noticed the same driver later in the day as we left the hotel open a guest's car door into oncoming traffic. Why would I leave my car with people that don't respect others' property? As I was checking out today, we had the same issue with valet attendants as I pulled into the loading area. They did not offer to help bring bags down but began to hassle me about giving them my keys. This was my only complaint, and I am glad we did not use the valet service. Also, the free shuttle service was a great offer, but in reality, the drivers don't speak English well and have issues understanding addresses. Also, we took the shuttle back to the hotel from Old Town Alexandria. The driver broke a few traffic laws as he was trying to get us back because his shift was ending; this included running a red light. I would just get familiar with the streets and walk back. Overall, it is a nice and clean hotel in a great location. My only issue had to do with the valet attendants and the shuttle service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy20141229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Director of Operations at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Amy20141229, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and your interaction with the front desk was delightful. I am sorry to read about your experience with our valet and shuttle team. We will get this addressed right away with them We certainly want take every precaution as we drive our guest's vehicles. Safety is our priority number one so thank you for bringing to our attention your experience so you may correct it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I recently attended a conference at this hotel. Check-in was handled quickly; the room was large with a nice selection of pillows of different softnesses. Surfaces (lamps, end table) were a bit dusty though. The conference facilities were spacious and accommodating with AV and wireless access working flawlessly. The meals were varied and delicious; nice treats were the expansive salad bar and the cupcakes! One concern: upon check-in, I was asked if I wanted to participate in the hotel's green program. In exchange for a $5 voucher on a green card (for food at the restaurant or Starbucks), I would not have housekeeping services during my stay. I agreed but upon reflection, it appears that this is more than a "green" program; it's a method to reduce staff. A green program saves on washing towels, linens, etc. It could also avoid using cleaning products. I think that the program should be modified to do the above but still include staff to make the bed, empty the garbage, replenish the tea/coffee, etc. Otherwise, it was a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryPat105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Director of Operations at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear MaryPat105. Thank you for staying with us. I am glad we were able to host your conference and you enjoyed the food. I wanted also to thank you for enrolling in our Make a Green Choice program. Starwood and the Westin Alexandria are committed in reducing our carbon footprint across the world. We have an aggressive goal to reduce our energy consumption by 30%, our water consumption by 20%, all this by 2020. Our program is called Starwood 30 20 20, if you are interested in reading about our engagement. Consequently, Our Make a Green Choice program largely contributes to our effort in reaching this goal.

When our guests graciously enroll into the program, we, in return, do not enter their guestroom. However, the service or our amenities (such as coffee, waters, shampoo…) are always available upon request by calling Service Express.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was traveling back to Boston from Fort Lauderdale with my border collie. The Westin was fantastic. They do not charge a pet fee(unheard of). The location of their hotel to Old Town was a short walk about 1.5 miles. Beautiful greeen spaces all around. Staff was super helpful, dinner was great in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrspbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Director of Operations at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear mrspbj, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your road trip. I am happy to hear you and your 4 legged best friend were able to enjoy our hotel and the area. We are proud to offer our pets guests the same heavenly stays as their owners! Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,540 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Sq, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £87 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing