We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Facts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Alexandria
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“10 Facts”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

1. About 3 blocks from Metro - free shuttle, but we felt safe walking back at night.
2. 20 - 25 minutes from DC.
3. Wi-Fi is $10, not free.
4. Double beds are full, not queen. VERY hard to fit two average sized people in one bed.
5. Sheets and pillows soft and comfy. Bath towels scratchy. Complimentary robe nice.
6. Front desk clerk Adrian (sp.?) very friendly, welcoming, and helpful.
7. Valet parking $26 a day. They should allow the guys to dress a little more weather appropriate. 94 degrees in a suit and tie? We felt bad for them.
8. Ditch the bordering Starbucks. Our "drug of choice" we drink Starbucks daily and everywhere we go. First time in our lives we through the coffee out, even after a second try. Staff rude and hard to understand.
9. Downtown Alexandria charming and quaint. Worth a visit.
10. Very clean, pretty hotel. Good stay.

Room Tip: Get the king size if sleeping two people. Roll outs are $35.
See more room tips
Green Features: You could opt for a $5 Starbucks voucher if you choose no room service - making up your beds, etc. We did, but would use it somewhere else other than the place next door.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear lilden,
Thanks for staying with us and offering so much detail regarding the hotel and your experience. We were glad to know that you had a good stay and found the hotel clean and attractive. We typically have one of the better rated Starbucks for service and quality, so it was disappointing to learn of your experience there. We will certainly review these comments with the team and address what can be improved. Thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    337
    113
    45
    27
See reviews for
175
169
52
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed there Aug 1-2nd. Service at the front desk was fast and friendly. There's a free shuttle provided by the hotel that takes you anywhere within 2 miles of the hotel - you can easily get to King St. this way (or walk) without paying the higher prices of the hotels in Old Town.
The room (569) was very clean with a good size shower and nice toiletries. Close to Reagan airport, far from Dulles.

Green Features: If you agree to skip room service, you get a $5 voucher for their restaurant. Had breakfast there, it was very good as was the service.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlbug39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear travlbug,
Thanks for staying with us recently and taking the time to share these comments. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay highlighted by our front desk staff and location. We hope to see you back again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the second time my wife and I stayed at this property. Our first visit was to celebrate our wedding anniversary and this most recent stay (from 7/31 thru 8/3) was to attend the International Convention of Jehovah's Witnesses at FedEx Field in Landover, MD. As expected, our room was comfortable, clean and enjoyable. The water pressure in the shower was great, the bed was extremely comfortable and allowed us to have a very restful sleep. The staff, especially at the front desk, was very pleasant and helpful.

There were some challenges, however, that I wanted to make you aware of. (1) The hotel did not appear to be ready to accomodate so many people, many of whom were attending the International Convention of Jehovah's Witnesses, as the valet parking was chaotic and disorderly. The bellmen seemed to be struggling to keep up. Some people waited over half an hour to have their vehicles retrieved. (2) There were insufficient baggage handling carts. In fact, there only appeared to be 2 or 3, which made check-in and check-out a nightmare. One bellman informed me that I would have to wait an hour for a baggage cart. As such, I had to make several trips with my luggage in hand since no carts were available. (3) I was concerned with the $10 'MISC' surcharge billed to my account for each night of my stay (totaling $30). Although very pleasant, the staff at the front desk could not explain this charge to my satisfaction. It was not properly categorized as a 'Room Tax' or 'State Tax' or anything that could be reasonably explained. As such, I reported this to the Rooming Department associated with our convention, as this seemed to be outside of the negotiated rates.

Other than the above referenced challenges, we enjoyed our stay at this property and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yakonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Yakonthemove,
Thank you for staying with us during the Jehovah Witness International Convention. We're delighted that you enjoyed the stay and your interaction with our front desk staff in particular. I must admit that we were a bit overwhelmed as you point out on arrival day and could have been a bit better prepared. It was great to know that you will return and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We received excellent service from front desk when checking in. Young man serviced us and gave us super ideas for our stay and how to get around. I forgot his name, but a really cheery, helpful person! Room was very clean, attractive and beds were heavenly!

The only negative was the location on a weekend. The bagel store, on the corner, was closed both Sat & Sun. That was our issue, however, not a hotel issue. Must be more of a mon-fri/ business location.

We will be looking for Westin properties in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mom2ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear mom2ry,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your thoughts. We were delighted to learn about your positive experience with our front desk staff and that your stay on the whole was excellent. Hope to see you back again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I REALLY have NO COMPLAINTS from my stay at the Westin! From the moment I checked-in, it was CLEAR that I was in the hands of hospitality professionals! I found the accommodations TREMENDOUSLY relaxing. The bed was FANTASTIC! I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thurman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Thurman M,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share this great review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel and our staff. Hope to see you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for business for three nights. The staff are very polite and professional. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. Rooms are great! They were very quiet. Almost as if I was the only one staying here! The only thing I didn't like were the pillows! They were too soft for me. Overall this is a great hotel and I would come back. Maybe next time I can use the pool and workout facilities though! I didn't have enough time this trip.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spdr8cr350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Spdr8cr350,
Thanks for staying with us recently. Your comments concerning your stay are much appreciated and we were delighted to learn of your positive experience. We hope you will be returning soon. Thanks again.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I attended a 12 person meeting in a conference room at this hotel and stayed overnight for 2 nights. The location is convenient to the metro station. The shuttle to access shopping and restaurants further down King Street was convenient as well. The meeting space was very comfortable. The staff were attentive but not over-bearing. The food was great for hotel food. The room was clean, simple, and modern. This allowed for a good night's sleep despite an early meeting and a 2 time zone shift. The desk acted as concierge as well. They did a fine job of providing recommendations and accommodating requests. Our association typically does business with 3 hotels in the north part of Old Town. This was a significant improvement by comparison. It is less convenient but dramatically newer, cleaner, customer service oriented, and interested in new business. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear divelovers,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share these comments. We are so glad to know you enjoyed the hotel and our staff and service. We will look forward to your return.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,325 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Alexandria

Property: The Westin Alexandria
Address: 400 Courthouse Sq, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing