We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (933)
Filter reviews
933 results
Traveller rating
360
370
126
48
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
370
126
48
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedold townking streettrademark officevalet parkingminute walkwhole foodsmetro stationvery nice hotelper dayvery nice stayup to datefree shuttlethe room was niceshuttle servicereagan airportcourthouse
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 933 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2014

This is a good choice for business travel. It is a clean, well run property with a solid staff. I stayed for 2 nights in December and was impressed. You aren't going to go wrong here.

It is about 4-5 blocks from the King Street metro - so you have to factor in the walking. Also it is several blocks from the Whole Foods etc. Also a walk. Also, this location is in the exact opposite direction to the Waterfront. There are trollies etc - but its a hike. (This works for me, but maybe not for everyone).

The parking is a little challenging if you do have a car. I had a one day side trip and used a rental out of DCA but had to park overnight. I was able to find a spot on the street nearby. The onsite hotel parking is valet only. And cost $25 or more per night.

Comparatively, I have stayed at the Embassy Suites and the Marriott in Crystal City. They are both good as well. But comparatively the Embassy Suites selectively allows smoking in select rooms, and the Marriott Residence Inn on Duke Street allows dogs. The Westin seems to have a healthier perspective. Today, I would walk the extra couple of blocks from the Metro - but that is a personal preference.

If you are good with walking, the Westin is a solid choice. And so far, my preferred choice in Alexandria. Healthy. Clean. Great staff.

Room Tip: Entirely a personal preference. But I stayed on the 9th floor and the elevators were fairly fast. Sound no problem.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

Dear Kim K,
Thanks for staying with us recently. I really enjoyed reading your comments particularly those at the end..."healthly, clean, great staff". You offered a nice perpsective on our hotel as well in comparison to others you have stayed at. We are glad to know that we are your preferred hotel in Alexandiria and will look forward top welcoming you back soon. Thanks again.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2014 via mobile

Joined our sons family for their tradition of going to DC for Christmas. Stayed at the Westin on the 23rd. First they made sure that our rooms were adjoining and were so nice at checkin. In the morning we got up and went down to the pool for a swim the grandkids. Kids love a hotel pool. The pool doesn't open till 4 and we had some very long faces. I went to front desk and they said no problem we can open it for you. They did but brought in a lifeguard on her day off, Christmas Eve. In the end we had a great swim and very grateful for a hotel that went above and beyond in service. Thank you to the staff of the Westin.

Stayed: December 2014
Thank Cryptoref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

Dear Cryptoref,
Thanks for staying with us recently. I was delighted to hear that all went well and that we were able to accomodate your need to use the pool on special request. Hope to see back again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014

We stayed here for a weekend trip to Alexandria & to spend time in Old Town. The location is excellent it is convenient to almost everything. The front desk staff was very friendly and even showed us where free parking was so that was a nice extra. We were located on a high floor which I prefer, the room was very clean the bathroom was nice as well. We were located right next to the ice machine but never noticed it. We will stay here next time we come to Alexandria.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

Dear Jason B,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking to time to share your thoughts. It was great to hear how much you enjoyed our staff and location and that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Alexandria. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014

This was a nice hotel. Very nice amenites. Room was clean and of a good size. Workout area was fairly well equipped for a hotel gym. Locker room area was very nice. Mini-fridge was a nice thing to have. Just a few blocks away from Metrorail and shuttle service into Old Town. Also walking distance from many restaurants like Thiesmann's. A quieter part of Alexandria since it is largely a corporate neighborhood. Trademarks is a more upscale bar/restaurant which had good food and a sold craft beer selection. Shuttle service is available and we did use it once. I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

Dear Pete S,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share the details of your experience. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to your return, hopefully soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014 via mobile

Your hotel was lovely but breakfast wasn't included & $26 daily parking made it a bit 'steep' even @ $124..as taxes made a 3 night stay $500.

Your star employee is the kind & friendly shuttle driver from Ethiopia. We used the service constantly and he was so very gracious each & every trip.

Rooms nice but the beds are made up with a sheet, a light short comforter, another sheet then a heavy comforter. Hated this. We kept pulling the mountain of bed linens off the bed. A person could suffocate from the weight of it all.

Pool small.. No dryer in women's locker room?! Had to wait 1/2 hr for one to be delivered. Odd. She had to take it from a guest room ? I 'd rethink the $20 to mount one on the wall if theft is an issue. You pay a lifeguard to watch an empty pool.

Comparably this hotel is about the same as the others,. Unless you want a private chauffeur!

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocoholicjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear Chocoholicjr,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing these comments. I was glad to know you enjoyed your stay and, in particular, our shuttle service. Thanks also for pointing out a couple of small opportunities for us to address. We'll look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon!
Rich Casale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews