We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Mei

Red Mei
Ranked #396 of 754 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Richland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stopped here for lunch today and we were mildly disappointed. I didn't realize this was a walk-up to the counter and order kind of place. I ordered Mongolian beef and I was really disappointed in that there was very little beef involved. The flavor was okay but not great. My wife had a noodle soup dish with chicken and it was okay but again not great. I was disappointed that I had a styrofoam plate, a plastic fork and really I was not favorably impressed. The ladies cooking the food and taking the order were friendly and the food prices were economical but overall I was disappointed and would not recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 81DaleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    12
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A weekly Staple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This my son's favorite place to eat. Fast, easy, filling and very very tasty. The Pad Thai with shrimp, the chicken coconut curry, the orange chicken, the Fung Chu with beef. We've tried them all. Chicken, shrimp and beef all at the same price, making a great value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank krewerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“really good inexpensive Asian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a gem in the heart of Old Town. It is a casual, small place, with takeout and delivery (including curbside pick-up). No alcholic beverages are served. The food is so good--not greasy or heavy. There are about fifteen entrees; we had the Pad Thai vegetable and Thai Ginger Garlic chicken (had a hard time deciding, as everything looked good), in addition to Pho Soup (it was very cold outside) and shrimp summer rolls (served with a delicious tangy house creation sauce). Very nice staff--one orders at the counter if eating inside. Each entree is $6.39 ($7.39 for delivery)--that can't be beat for such good food! We want to try the lettuce wraps and the Cantonese Chow Fun and Shanghai Feast next time. Most of the entrees come in either beef, chicken, or veggies.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumpin' all over the world
Level Contributor
188 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Low prices, average food, nice staff, decent enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stopped in Red Mei on a Sunday evening when many other restaurants on King St. were closed. It's sort of like Asian fast food -- you order at the counter from a large board of options, then pick up your dish at the counter when they call your name. Dishes averaged around $8. We all thought our meals were fine -- not great, but certainly not bad -- and the guy behind the counter was friendly. I had asked for dressing on the side and when I pointed out that they made my salad with the dressing mixed in, they very quickly remade it without any hint of being annoyed. Normally I would give a place like this an average rating, but the friendliness of the people working there pushed it to a very good rating.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RachelinKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cheap eats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I admit I thought this was a different restaurant when I bought the $20 Living Social coupon. But no matter, for a grand investment of $10 for the coupon and 88 cents for taxes, it was a pretty decent meal. This is, as jxx9595 notes, a hole in the wall, maybe seating for 20. Nothing cost more than $7.

CRR had shrimp curry, which he said was tasty if lacking spiciness. I had the Thai ginger chicken, and it indeed had a nice pop of ginger to offset the heat of the red chilies. We also got summer roles, which were ENORMOUS, two for $3.99.

It doesn't have a lot of atmosphere, but Red Mei is a fine takeout or delivery joint.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dakota1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Mei also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Red Mei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing