We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dungeon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Dungeon”
Reviewed 3 June 2007

We were in smoking room. Now, I know smokers are not treated well these days, but we felt we had been sent down to the dungeon. The wall paper in the room was peeling and dirty. Not just a little dirty - spots and dirt were very noticeable. There were cigarette burns on the tables - I didn't fault them for that at first - thinking it was the fault of rude smokers who didn't have respect for other people's property. Then I realized there were no ashtrays in the room. I called down to the front desk requesting ashtrays. After an hour, I went down to the front desk to get an ashtray, which they did give me one ashtray with some reluctance. A half hour after that the maid finally showed up with an ashtray, which I took since there were two of us smoking.

We stayed at another Comfort Inn in Richmond with similar results. Hopefully, they treat their non-smoking clients better, but we will never know, because even if we quit smoking we will never stay at another Comfort Inn.

  • Liked — The location was conveinent fo DC and the price was considerable less than those in DC
  • Disliked — The dirty wallpaper
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieNTexas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    71
    54
    29
    40
See reviews for
82
42
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockwood, Tn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2007

This hotel is ok. It was kind of old, and a little bit dirty, but I will stay there again. It is a 5-10 minutes drive directly into downtown Washngton, D.C. The price was good and right directly beside I-395. The television was old and had poor color on it, but a television none the less. The carpet was old and stained, but was carpet. I felt the bathroom was very clean and decent. Given the chance to stay there again, I will do it in a heart beat. To spend the day in D.C. and just use the hotel as a night's stay, it was perfect.

  • Liked — The location to Washington, DC
  • Disliked — The age and condition of the room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MN
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2007

I reserved this hotel because I got a discount through my employer. I was very nervous because of the bad reviews I had read. We arrived at 1:00am and the worker at the desk was very helpful. Our room was clean. We did find one bug on the bathroom counter that first night, but no other pests during our entire 5 night stay. We did not have any noise issues. Each day we came back to a clean room with plenty of fresh linen. I didnt mind the continental breakfast at IHOP (cereal, juice, toast, fruit, and a danish). You can choose to get $4 off any menu item instead. They do have a shuttle to the metro station, but you have to be patient. If the van is full and more people are waiting, the driver will come right back - you dont have to wait an hour! The van is shared with the Days Inn, so many people walked over there since it picked up those people first. Overall, the stay was okay. The hotel is definately dated and you can tell, but for the price you aren't going to get anything much nicer in this area.

  • Liked — Affordable Price, shuttle to metro station, breakfast at IHOP
  • Disliked — Busy location, not a lot of good restaurants close by
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OkieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2007

13 - 14 MAR 07

My sister and i were in town for a concert - and thought to stay at the Comfort Inn, Landmark - we had stayed here before and it had been nice.

Well - how time's have changed - when i made the reservation there were only smoking rooms available - usually that means there is an ashtray or two in the room - this one (306) was like being in an ashtray !- The rug the bed linens everything stank of cig's - one of the beds had rods sticking out of the side of it (i suppose to - possibly make it a bigger bed ???)...

We will not come back - even if we have sleep in our cars!

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2006

Hot and muggy with roaches!!!!!! We are sitting right now freaking out because we are afraid a roach may crawl on us!!!! We have already killed 5 that don't mind coming out with the lights ON!!! Uh-oh...problem! We have a funeral to get to in the morning and it is already 2:30AM.... we have had no sleep!!!!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debragrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

This is about what I expected for <$100 in D.C. Dark and dingy and definitely in need of repair. Stains on the ceiling and wallpaper. Mold in the bathroom, etc. Believe the reviews. Would not have stayed here based on the Tripadvisor reviews except this was a last minute trip and it was all we could find for <$200. If we had planned ahead, we could have / would have done better I'm sure.

  • Liked — It had a sometimes available shuttle service to the metro
  • Disliked — Quality of rooms for price paid
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan ahead and you can do better. Pay more unless you're really on a tight budget.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank plano-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Mountain, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2006

Our family of 4 stayed at the Landmark for 6 days in the middle of June. After reading some reviews I was a little scared of what we would find. I was just hoping to find a place that was clean and I was not disappointed.

We were greated nicely at the front desk when we arrived and checked in quickly. One of two elevators was not working the entire week. Our waits for an elevator were not too bad and we only were really packed in a few times. When we entered our room it smelled clean. Although the room and especially the bath were relatively small everything was very clean. Throughout the week we returned to a spotless bathroom and clean bedroom. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was excellent.

Each morning we stopped at the front desk to pick-up our coupons for breakfast. The continital breakfast at the IHOP was very good. Plenty of food was available for even my 15 year old son. We found we needed to allow 30 to 45 minutes to eat each morning which took more time than a self-serve style breakfast, but it was nice to be seated and waited on.

The shuttle service to the Metro was very prompt. It left the hotel on the hour (7am-12noon and 4pm -8pm) and picked-up at the Metro on the half hours. Every time we tried to ride the shuttle it was very crowed. One day we missed the 5:30 shuttle by less than 5 minutes and had to wait in the hot sun for close to an hour. The shuttle was full often when it reached the Comfort Inn, so we started walking next door to the Days Inn to get on the shared shutte. Several times we had 20+ people in the 15 passenger van. Two days we drove and parked our car at the Metro station which was really more convient.

Overall our family would stay there again. We would like to have had a larger space and would lke for the shuttle to run more often, but we were pleased overall with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#30 of 54 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark

Property: Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
Address: 6254 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22312-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Landmark near Old Town AlexandriaThe smoke-free Comfort Inn® Landmark hotel in Alexandria, Virginia is off Interstate 395 and one mile from the Landmark Mall.We are close to popular attractions, like: •George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate & Gardens •John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts •Fort Belvoir Army base •National Gallery of Art •Washington National CathedralThe Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and the Washington Dulles International Airport are a short drive away.Additional points of interest nearby include: •National Zoo •Smithsonian Institution •Library of CongressVisitors will enjoy outdoor recreational activities like golfing, jogging, boating, fishing and horseback riding, all minutes away.Be sure to visit the 24-hour IHOP Restaurant located on the premises.Our amenities include: •Free coffee •Free local calls •Free shuttle service to the Van Dorn Metro stations •Free parking •Seasonal outdoor poolYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Landmark the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, safes, cable televisions, irons and ironing boards. For guest convenience, valet cleaning services are offered. The Comfort Inn Landmark hotel is your destination for hospitality and value when visiting the Alexandria, Virginia area. We look forward to serving you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Landmark Hotel Alexandria
Landmark Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Landmark Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing