We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Troutville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It was clean”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

so you could put up with that is was worn...bathroom in need of repair to grout and toilet needed repair. If your on a budget it is a good choice a lot less than other motels but clean with great location. Was surprised by the very nice TV. I appreciated the woman doing the breakfast friendly and helpful. It was a good choice for us we knew we would only be in the room for 12 hours so seemed crazy to spend more.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkettaTroutville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    100
    36
    16
    11
See reviews for
76
60
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My wife and I found this hotel to be an average hum drum kinda place. We stayed 2 nights and thought the location was adequate for our visit to Mt Vernon and Alexandria. There is a Denny's across the street and many other food places nearby.The room was clean but outdated and the bed was not so good :( Also the room was a bit noisy from all the contractors staying at the hotel. Never the less it seemed to be a good value and we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stay was 17-18 May 2012. I had mixed feelings after reading the reviews because of the location and I had Google mapped the location. But the reviews helped and for the price compared to double the amount or more for the other hotels 5 to 10 minutes up the road closer to Ft Belvoir, I decided to try it out. I’m glad I did because it ended up being closer for me to get to a friend’s home after a retirement ceremony I came up for. Actually the area turned out much better than anticipated. More stores and a lot of new stuff. Wal-mart up the street and Target down the street. And you can tell that the area is cleaning up with all the new businesses. Eating places everywhere. Except for the low income apartment complex across the four lane hwy, which you can see some remodeling taking place and a small low income complex on the other side of the fence next to the hotel and another small one next to that one, the hotel is actually in and ideal spot for all the new development around it. I did not see anyone hanging out at 9pm when I got back to the hotel and as others stated I did not feel unsafe. Actually saw three police officers on those scooters riding around through the complexes, and a security guard walking the property of the hotel and the hotel has cameras all around the property. Overall the hotel should be rated a three star instead of a two. The place was clean, no need for me to break out any cleaning products, the staff very friendly, the breakfast hot and very plentiful for me, but I’m not a big eater. Had the eggs, bacon, mini bagel w/cream cheese and OJ. Some of the furniture is old and worn but clean, no stains in the carpet, looked like my room had new caulking (Rm 303), but I could hear the traffic faintly from the highway and that was probably because the room was toward the front of the hotel. But it didn’t bother me, because I can hear traffic at home. Overall I was happy with my choice.

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of traffic, then ask for a room toward middle or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msworldadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

In October 2011 our family of five packed in to our Honda Fit to travel from eastern-central Florida to DC. By the time we made it to Quality Inn Mount Vernon we felt like we were in heaven. As a low-income family we do everything on a shoe-string budget or we simply don't do it. I know of no other hotel in the area--and few hotels near cities such as Tampa and Orlando--that manage to provide a pleasant, comfortable, impeccably clean and friendly hotel experience at an affordable rate. This is what makes QI at Mount Vernon so special. Having stayed at a few hotels in DC, I can tell you that this is our family's DC hotel of choice for as long as it maintains such quality. Of course some will be concerned with the distance from the heart of it all. Yet as the front desk folks will explain, the hotel is right around the corner from a metro stop where you can park and ride. And if you don't have a car the hotel offers a shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EcofeministDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We were here for eleven days in April while touring the DC area. It was a great place to stay, about three miles from the metro station (so you need a car), but we drove to the South garage at the Huntington station and took the metro to downtown almost every day. The town of Alexandria and George Washington's Mount Vernon estate are about four miles each way from the motel, and they are both well worth a visit. There are lots of restaurants and shopping centers within driving range of the hotel.

The hotel is located next to a low income housing project, so there were a lot of kids walking around, but the room was quiet and we felt very safe. The breakfast was good, with waffles, cereal, juice, coffee, pasteries, yogurt, eggs and bacon (although my father-in-law wished they had sausage some days, instead of bacon). The breakfast room was small, but there was seating outside (when it wasn't raining). Breakfast started at 6:30, so were were able to make almost all of our tour times downtown (only missed one because of traffic going to the metro station).

We were in a large room with two queen beds and two sinks (one in the bathroom and one in the walk-in closet - microwave - refigerator area). It worked out very nicely for four adults. Check-in and check-out went very smoothly and the overall bill came within nine cents of what we were quoted on the internet.

We would definetly stay here again, but it does take a good hour to get downtown on the metro during rush hour, so if you have a morning tour, leave early. The metro system was very easy to use, and it took us where we wanted to go.

Room Tip: The large room with queen beds and the second sink worked out great for us. I could go in the '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Miata-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 with my family (three kids ages 1 to 13). We found this hotel to be clean, well-run, and within convenient distance to all Washington D.C. and Northern Virginia historical sites. The hotel pool was not open when we stayed, so I can't comment on that, but, the room was clean and well-stocked, came with a microwave and fridge, and opened to the outside (no interior corridor). There is a little patio and picnic area near the room where the free breakfast is served. The breakfast consisted of eggs and bacon, cereal, toast, muffins, danishes, do-it-yourself waffles, fruit, coffee, tea, and apple and orange juices.

The hotel was on US Rt 1, and was within easy access of a plethora of chain restaurants, big-box type stores and grocery chains. Curb appeal suffers, unfortunately, from a derelict property in front of the hotel on the median. Nothing the owners can do about their slovenly neighbors, though. They added a fountain to the entrance way-- the first I've seen at a Choice Hotel! I usually stay with this chain for business, and was somewhat anxious as to whether my family and another who were traveling with us would like the Choice chain. The Mount Vernon Quality Inn certainly put that anxiety to bed!

Room Tip: While they're farther from the breakfast / picnic area, there might be less noise / more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MatBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I can see why this hotel strives to achieve the Gold Award rating. Because of its location in Alexandria, one could easily feel uncomfortable because of some of the undesirable properties surrounding it. The hotel is so well maintained that it makes you feel as though you are in a much better part of town. The room was very clean with a large 46" LCD television. The staff in the lobby were extremely accommodating. The lady in the breakfast area was the best at restocking the breakfast bar with food even a Comfort Suite would be proud of. The breakfast room was small but cozy. One of our best stays at a Quality Inn. It was better by far than many of our recent stays at Comfort Inns!

Room Tip: Request front of hotel, less of a walk to breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
2.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
3.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
3.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Alexandria Fort Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Mount Vernon

Property: Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Address: 7212 Richmond Hwy., Alexandria, VA 22306-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Mount Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly hotel located in Alexandria Virginia, and offer the Quality you expect You can find us just (14 minutes) from National Harbor (4 miles South) of Old town Alexandria, (3 miles) North of George Washington Estate, (3 miles) South of Huntington Metro Station (6 miles South,) of Arlington cemetery, (6 miles) South of the Pentagon, and (15 minutes North) of Ft Belvoir Main gate, with Easy access to all the areas major attractions, and sites of Washington DC located just (9 miles north of us); We offer for your comfort 42" flat screen TVs, with 4 HBOs and 75 cable channels. Complimentary Continental breakfast without doors café seating served daily, complimentary DSL and Wi-Fi in all rooms, additional amenities include: Micro Fridge, coffee maker, hair drier shaving/makeup mirror along with many more in room amenities, free parking and a bar b que picnic area for your family get together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Quality Inn
Quality Inn Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing