We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel, was very nice and neat. The lobby was welcoming and beautifully decorated. The front desk were polite and very welcoming. i love my experience at this hotel. Breakfast was good.
I will definitely come back to visit

Room Tip: The king suite was spacious,neat and very beautiful.. i loved everything around this room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel on your visit to our area, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

The room tip you added to your review notes that you stayed in one of our king suites, we are so glad you enjoyed it, we are very proud of our suites. Many hotels call their rooms suites when they are just larger rooms while our suites have two rooms with a seperate living room and bedroom.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent three nights here, having picked it for accessibility to Mt. Vernon, as well as for affordability. Good call. Although it's an older facility, our room was comfortable, with great beds and bedding, very clean, and super convenient to DC when we wanted to take the metro in to see the sights. The hotel even offers complimentary van service to and from the station, which is about five minutes away.

The breakfast was a notch above the typical, with real scrambled eggs instead of the yellow hockey pucks we found elsewhere on the trip.

Staff was courteous and helpful, with an array of printed instructions for getting from here to there. The only downside was an air conditioner that came on like a jet engine, so loud we had to change the volume to be able to still hear the TV. It might bother a light sleeper but didn't bother me.

I will definitely recommend this place to my budget conscious friends as a safe, convenient, affordable place to stay in an expensive area.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room not facing on Van Dorn; traffic is pretty heavy. We were on the 9th floor...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Judy,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt our hotel is a good value.

Yes, our hotel is a few years old but we have worked hard over the last two years to renovate almost everything inside the building with the exception of a few rooms that we hope to have completed over the winter months.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel was very nice. Staff was pleasant. They helped us with Metro questions into DC. Breakfast was average and attendant was on top of the situation. This hotel also offers a little dinner cafe. We didn't try it, but it was nice to know it was there. We used the shuttle daily to and from the Metro. We never had to wait very long. The shuttle drivers were great. Our room was very clean and nicely furnished. We were on the top floor and had a nice view of the city. Would recommend to anyone wanting a reasonable place to stay just outside DC.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel for your DC Trip. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and ammenities.

You mentioned that you didn't have a chance to try our evening 'Cafe', perhaps on your next visit. Our 'Cafe' has a limited menu with pizza, burgers, beverages, beer and wine but it saves on going out after a day seeing the sights in DC.

When you return look for our new snack shop we opened last week in our lobby next to the front desk. It is open 24 hours and has beverages, snacks, some convenience food items, ice cream, beer, wine and a few sundry items.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again very soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed for several days on business and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, and convenient. The staff was accommodating, and it was nice to have a complimentary breakfast available too. Close to the metro so you can get around town.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review in TripAvisor about your stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I may have expected a lot more from this hotel based on the reviews I read but the room we were in smelled and needed some serious update. It's possible it is what it is because it's a pet friendly room but still. I've been to other pet friendly hotels and they don't smell.

The breakfast was ok. The good thing about the hotel was the free shuttle to the metro station.

Room Tip: don't stay at room 511. seriously, it smelled funky.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NY_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Please accept my apology that your room was not acceptable. We have been working hard to renovate our entire hotel but there are still some rooms left to be renovated, most of which will be done the end of this year.

Room 511 is one of the older rooms that are to be renovated later this year. Old or not there should not be an odor. Our housekeeping staff will be doing a deep clean of that room this week to find and resolve this problem.

We hope you will consider staying with us again and give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. If you decide to stay with us again, please contact me after you make your reservation and I will make sure you get the best room available in the category you reserve.

Thank you for staying with us and again I apologize that your experience at our hotel was less than you expected.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I cannot possibly put into words how wonderful this hotel is! This hotel is excellent for a short stay or an extended stay (we stayed 7 nights). It is close to Van Dorn Metro station for easy access to DC. The front desk staff were always courteous and helpful and attended to every need we had. The breakfast offered a variety of hot and cold choices. We used the free shuttle to the Van Dorn Metro Station everyday and we never had to wait on it. The property is very clean and orderly. We had a King Suite and it was very spacious and clean!! The Business Center was a lifesaver for me as I had to print out things each night. It was open 24 hours!! The laundry facilities were clean and orderly!

If you are looking for a "home away from home" this is it! Clean, prompt service, polite staff, free shuttle, free hot/cold breakfast, refrigerator/micowave/safe in rooms. You can not ask for more!!! Stay here and you will not regret it!

I must mention by name the front desk staff as they each were so courteous and helpful our entire stay: Jose, Andrea, Jawad, and Bernadett. GREAT JOB!! The shuttle bus driver, Portia is very courteous and helpful as well. She was always smiling and greeted us with warm "good mornings" and "goodnights". GREAT JOB!

Room Tip: We had a King Suite. The room was very spacious with a full bath/shower in the bedroom and a half b...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whatwethought3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel.

Your review was very kind and I have shared it with our entire team. We appreciate all reviews as feedback from our guests in important to help keep us on track but it is a great morale booster for our team when our guests enjoy their stay and write about it.

I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast but also want to let you know that we just opened our new snack shop this week which offers, snacks, beverages, ice cream and more 24 hours a day. I think you will like the addition when you stay with us again.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

When looking for a hotel for a weekend visit to the DC area I was looking for free parking and free breakfast. Well I found it here plus a free shuttle to the nearby subway station!!!!!
The prices were very reasonable compared to other hotels in the general area. The hotel in general as well as our room was very clean and appeared recently remodeled. Our room was very quiet even though it was on the main floor and near the workout room. Our friends who were traveling with us but in another room did have some noise issues with their room being near the ice machine/ elevator.The front desk staff were able to relocate them and were very nice about it The breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold selections and was promptly refilled as needed. We used the shuttle to get to and from the metro station, it was very convenient and there within minutes of being called for, and the driver was very courteous.
We would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katywampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for picking our hotel to stay at during your weekend visit to DC. We have lots of free stuff as you noted, free parking, free breakfast, free WiFi, free coffee in our lobby all day.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room, our breakfast and our fitness room. I am sorry your friends experienced some noise issues but fortunatly we were able to relocate them to a better location in the hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
5.3 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
603 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 S van Dorn St, Alexandria, VA 22310-1023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £71 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing