We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quick stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for one night while traveling north.
We booked through Hotwire and got a decent price.
It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good, lots of tables.
It was a pleasant stay and would would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Penni E.:

Thank you for staying at our hotel and thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay at our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would return in the future.

If you come to the DC area in the future for more than one night we would like you to know that our free hotel shuttle provides transportation for our guests to/from the Van Dorn Metro station from 7 am to 9:30 pm every day so that you can see the sights in DC without having to drive in and hunt for parking.

Thank you again for staying with us and please let us know if we can be of assistance with your future travel plans to the DC area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    158
    72
    17
    37
See reviews for
187
88
31
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We found our way to this hotel because we travel with our dog. He was welcomed here for a $25 charge. We spent a great night in a large, well-decorated modern room. The bed was perfect. The bathroom had a large counter to hold all my toiletries. We were on the ninth floor, the top, and enjoyed the beautiful night view out the window. Mohammed at the desk was most helpful. The hotel is conveniently located, about 10 minutes from Old Town Alexandria. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
It's great to hear that you found our hotel to be a wonderful supprise. We appreciated your staying with us and your kind comments in your review of your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.

Thank you again.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I enjoyed my weekend stay at that hotel since it was a lot more reasonable than the actual hotel that hosted the Virginia Jaycees Fall Convention. The room, amenties, and hot breakfast provided were good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLDUNCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
We really appreciate your staying at our hotel and thank you for the kind comments you included in the review you wrote about your stay. We hope to see you on your next trip to the DC areaa be it business or pleasure.

Thank you again,

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here last fall before moving to Alexandria. We stayed one night (my parents and boyfriend) before moving into our apartment the next day. I was the only one out of our group that seemed to find the stay comfortable and decent after a long drive and the night before sleeping on an air mattress. We mainly chose the hotel because it was pet friendly and near where we'd be moving in the next day. Our room ended up having a fridge and microwave, neither of which we had thought came with the room, which was nice, and didn't end up coming with my parent's room. We pretty much ordered take out and relaxed for the night. My dad did try to order food from their "restaurant" that night, and I remember he wasn't impressed by it. Breakfast was decent the next morning.

Even though we didn't use the service, the Van Dorn metro station isn't that far away and probably a 20-30 minute ride from the main attractions in DC. If I was still in the area, I would recommend anyone visiting us to consider this hotel since it's close to the metro and more reasonably priced since it's not right in DC or downtown Alexandria.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us last year and for takning the time to post a review, we are happy that you enjoyed your short stay and that it was memorable enough to write about.

Our 'Cafe' does have a limited menu serving pizza, hamburgers, wings and a few salads. It is more a snack bar than a restaurant as we don't do table service. However, we recently opened our 'Snack Shop' located next to our front desk in the lobby. Our Snack Shop is open 2 hours a day with beverages, chips, cookies, frozen entrees, ice cream, beer and wine which adds more options for our guests who don't want to go out.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for the Marine Corps Marathon in DC and it was excellent. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Provided a free bagged breakfast to the marathoners that was perfect,and the shuttle to/from the metro was quick and easy. Waited less than 5 minutes for the shuttle. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Susan,

Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We always enjoy being able to provide comfortable lodging for participants of the Marine Corps Marathon. Thank you again, we hope to see you on your next visit to the DC area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visited our son in Alexandria. The hotel was very close to his apartment.

The staff was very pleasant, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was great.

The computer & printer on the first floor was very handy to print the route home.

We cut our trip short because of the "shutdown" in DC, but that was in no way caused by the hotel.

We recommend this hotel. Although we didn't use it, there was a shuttle to the nearby Van Dorn St Metro Station.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor. There are 2 elevators. We imagine the elevators would be busy in peak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It's great to hear that our hotel is conveniently close to your sons appartment, we hope to see you again when you make your next family visit.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel, was very nice and neat. The lobby was welcoming and beautifully decorated. The front desk were polite and very welcoming. i love my experience at this hotel. Breakfast was good.
I will definitely come back to visit

Room Tip: The king suite was spacious,neat and very beautiful.. i loved everything around this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel on your visit to our area, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

The room tip you added to your review notes that you stayed in one of our king suites, we are so glad you enjoyed it, we are very proud of our suites. Many hotels call their rooms suites when they are just larger rooms while our suites have two rooms with a seperate living room and bedroom.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
5.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Address: 5716 S van Dorn St, Alexandria, VA 22310-1023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing