We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You couldn't ask for anything more. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You couldn't ask for anything more. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in Central Washington DC previously, we found that the city has more to offer than you'd think, and even two weeks isn't enough time to fit everything in!! This (our third visit to DC) needed to be a little different, with the addition of a hire car to allow travelling further afield.
We needed somewhere to stay that had free self parking, still local to the DC area, and possibly bed and breakfast.

The Comfort Inn & Suites, Alexandria. Ticked every box!!
We found it very clean and well presented, with friendly staff, and a host of other features that left some of the larger, more "elite" hotels somewhat lacking!!
Our room (to the rear of the hotel, 6th floor) was clean, well laid out, and surprisingly quiet, even given that the interstate (I-95) runs a short distance behind the property!!
With a small fridge, microwave and coffee making machine, the room suited our needs perfectly!!
The unsung heroes of the Comfort Inn & Suites are the "Behind the Scenes" staff, with a well stocked cafeteria, serving breakfast (free / included with the room) having items to suit all tastes. The kitchen staff never seem to stop, with more popular food being restocked within minutes!!
And if needed, a simple, "no fuss" restaurant operates in the evenings, if you are eating in, after a day in the city!! Again, with food (and drinks) to suit all needs.

The regular shuttle bus was also most convenient (also free / complimentary) offering quick (2 -3 minutes away) transport to the local Van Dorn Street Metro station, which is then only about a 25 minute ride from Central Washington DC and all of its sights.

Again, the drivers are helpful and friendly.
The staff at the front desk are also great, with any information needed, being offered quickly and professionally.
Although we didn't venture in, the hotel also boasts a swimming pool, to take a cool dip in the evening, before heading out again, or turning in for the night.
All in, our two weeks here we're amazing, reaching much higher than any of our expectations.

We wouldn't hesitate staying here again, and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a more cost effective alternative to larger, more expensive hotels.
The Comfort Inn and suites, Alexandria made our third trip to Washington DC a very pleasant experience.

Thank you!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Goddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you. We really appreciate your staying with us and taking the time to post this great review. We share all reviews with our team but this one is a great morale booster to our hard working team members.

Please let us know of anything else we can do to make your next stay as good or hopefully better and please do come back.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    160
    75
    17
    37
See reviews for
192
88
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is probably the best Comfort Inn I have ever stayed in, and I was really pleased with the value of the hotel for the price. It has just about every comfort and amenity one would expect...clean, comfortable rooms, refrigerators, business center, morning breakfast, laundry facilities, good wifi, shuttle service to the subway, location convenient to shopping and highways, pool and exercise area. We rented two rooms...the double queen and one of the king suites. The king suite was especially nice. The staff was very courteous and worked hard to keep us happy.

Room Tip: The 2 room king suites are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave14221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dave,

We thank you for the very kind comments you posted about our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our suites or as we call the "real suites" because unlike most hotels that claim to have suites, our suites have two separate rooms with a TV in each room and two bathrooms and most importantly, room to stretch our.

Thank you again, hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is only a five minute drive from the Washington Monument, Arlington National Cemetery and many other Washington attractions. It has a nice complimentary breakfast, with scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, yogurt, cereal, fruit, bagels, etc. The room was clean and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi, free parking. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to our area.

I don't usually correct guest comments but it is really a 15 to 20 minute drive into DC or a bit longer during rush hour. We really appreciate your great review but want to give others who read it a conservative estimate of travel time.

Thanks again,

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a great experience during a recent stay. In fact, this was our second stay after a nice visit four years ago.Rooms were clean, and breakfast was good. Most importantly, the staff were genuinely helpful and friendly, from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the van driver. I always appreciate friendly staff who are glad to go the extra mile for their guests, and you will find those folks here. I will be back the next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKostelnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Welcome back. We are very happy that you decided to stay with us again and thank you for your kind comments which we will pass on to our team as they all work hard to do our best for our guests.

Thank you again, we hope to see you again on your next visit to the DC area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

There was nothing particularly good or bad about the rooms. There was a shuttle to the Van Dorn Metro station that we took both days - very efficient, we never had to wait. Parking is free. You will need a car if you want to go anywhere since it is not walking distance to anything. Staff was friendly.

We booked our room through Hotwire, but my parents got the same rate when booking direct on the Comfort Inn website.

My only complaint was that the elevators needed a good cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel on your recent trip to the DC area. I am glad to head that there was nothing bad about your stay but disappointed that we were not able to make you feel your stay was not just good but excellent. Please let me know if you return to give us another chance at an excellent experience and as a returning guest I will be happy to upgrade your reservation to one of our suites at the same rate. Just book your room and email me at the hotel.

Thank you again.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

we were "upgraded" to a suite on the 7th floor. it was a little noisy (traffic) and not the most luxurious. the free breakfast was basic but adequate. the hotel was spotless throughout. the suite was quite roomy -- as was the shower (no tub, which was fine with us). we had a microwave and mini-fridge. staff were uniformly helpful. the location was about 0.6 miles from the metro and there was a shuttle. if you're unfamiliar with the area it would be easy to miss the driveway. there are no immediately adjacent restaurants but they serve enough to get by. the staff were quite helpful. even the maintenance guy was cheerful.

while there were some young kids, there was no noise or unruliness.

we'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: choose one facing away from the highway -- a bit noisy otherwise. during the week, the breakfast are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joebobbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at our hotel and for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt you got good value for your travel dollar. If there is anything we can do to make future stays more enjoyable please let us know and we will do out best.

Thank you again, we hope to see you on you next trip to our area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Three of us stayed here July 16th to 20th, 2014. We enjoyed our stay. We had a room with two queen beds, microwave and refrigerator. It was very clean and the beds slept well. They served a good breakfast in the morning, with eating indoors or outside. They also have a snack bar in the afternoon and night, which we didn't try, and 24 hour snacks which can be purchased by the front desk. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the metro train, but because of the traffic I would not try to walk it. They supply a shuttle until 9:30, which we didn't use, but saw others use it. The day we went into D.C. we parked at the station all day for only $3.60. It is on the blue line, which goes by most of the sites in D.C. We definitely would consider staying here again. On the outskirts of Alexandria. Only down side was the outdoor pool was a little small and there was no hot tub, but that is not why I go to D.C. anyway. With tax we paid only $404.08 for four nights. Much cheaper than some just a little closer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
David,

We really appreciate your deciding to stay at our hotel and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt you got good value for your travel dollars.

I am glad to hear that you were able to find space to park in the metro lot, you must be a early riser because they fill up fast which is why so many of our guests take out free shuttle.

Thank you for both staying with us and for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Address: 5716 S van Dorn St, Alexandria, VA 22310-1023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing